SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    How Can I Fix My Dashboard? (Formatting gone)

    Not sure if this is a XAMPP issue, theme issue or WordPress 3.3 issue, but I just uploaded my site to my live server from XAMPP, but the Dashboard is unusable. The CSS seems to be gone from it.

    I did a search and found similar problems, but no real fix. I cleared my cache/cookies and that didn't help. Also, there are no plugins installed yet, so none to uninstall/deactivate.

    Also, the URLs are correct in the database options file.

    The site is [www] apptooth [dot]com (if that helps?)

    Below is a screenshot:
    http://oi43.tinypic.com/35clzsn.jpg

  2. #2
    Under Construction silver trophybronze trophy AussieJohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    776
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    it might be worth checking in Firebug (or Chrome Developer tools) under the Network tab to see if any files are missing (i.e. showing as Status: 404)

    It looks like some (but not all) styles are applied, but maybe some JavaScript isn't running properly?
    var details = {
    . . web: "afterlight.com.au",
    . . photos: "jvdl.id.au",
    . . psa: "usethelatestversion.com"
    }

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for the reply. Not familiar with that, could you elaborate a bit for me? What types of possible missing files would I be looking for?

  4. #4
    Under Construction silver trophybronze trophy AussieJohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    776
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No probs

    If you're using Firefox you could install the Firebug extension. This will allow you to some debugging on your web pages.

    See the following link for an example of what the Net Panel looks like in Firebug: http://getfirebug.com/wiki/index.php/File:Net_Panel.png

    In here you might look for any files under the "All" filter that are coming up as a 404.

    If you have a lot of files loading in, you might filter by CSS or JS for example.

    If all files are being loaded in ok (Status 200, 302, 301, etc) then it might be a different cause.
    var details = {
    . . web: "afterlight.com.au",
    . . photos: "jvdl.id.au",
    . . psa: "usethelatestversion.com"
    }

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hit CTRL-SHIFT-J in Firefox, hit 'Clear', reload the page and paste the output of the error tool here if you don't understand what it says. Be sure to set the error console to 'Errors', instead of 'All'.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Problem solved! I ended up replacing the two folders: "wp-admin" and "wp-includes" from a fresh WordPress zip. That worked for me.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •