SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot ant1832's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    176
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Can I use Javascript to send a live url in an e-mail.

    I have a form that will allow the user to choose an e-mail and a case number. I want that an e-mail to have a clickable url with that number tacked on to the end. This doesn't need to be portable...just needs to work in outlook.

    Is it possible.

  2. #2
    ☆★☆★ silver trophy vgarcia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    in transition
    Posts
    21,236
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    I don't see why it wouldn't work, but for security reasons some people will probably have scripts turned off, or will read mail in plain text format rather than HTML. I don't recommend putting script in an e-mail anyway, just a trust issue between you and the person you're sending an e-mail to, but I don't see why it wouldn't work if the client's settings are correct.

    --Vinnie

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot ant1832's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    176
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    this is something that i'm doing for work in a controlled environment where i know everyone has html e-mail and javascript on.

    Can u give me a couple hints on how to do it.

  4. #4
    Web-coding NINJA! silver trophy beetle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    2,900
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Javascript (to my knowledge) cannot set HTTP headers for emails...and to send an HTML email, you need to set the 'Content-type' header to 'text/html; charset=iso-8859-1' or similar. A server-side language such as PHP or ASP can do this.
    beetle a.k.a. Peter Bailey
    blogs: php | prophp | security | design | zen | software
    refs: dhtml | gecko | prototype | phpdocs | unicode | charsets
    tools: ide | ftp | regex | ffdev




  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot ant1832's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    176
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks for the reply. I know how to do it in php, but my work isn't willing to install it just for me. I don't know how to do it in asp, but it would work here at work if i did. Maybe i'll ask in that forum.

  6. #6
    Web-coding NINJA! silver trophy beetle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    2,900
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Do you have access to a server that DOES have PHP? If yes, Why not just make your form's action use a PHP page on your server, and then redirect back ??
    beetle a.k.a. Peter Bailey
    blogs: php | prophp | security | design | zen | software
    refs: dhtml | gecko | prototype | phpdocs | unicode | charsets
    tools: ide | ftp | regex | ffdev




  7. #7
    SitePoint Zealot ant1832's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    176
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thats what I did last time and it was ok, but this time its confidential info and the privacy dept would have a fit if they knew this info was getting bounced off of a server that wasn't under their supervision. Its messy I know, I'm just gonna have to break down and learn asp to get anything done around here.

    Thanks 4 the help anyway beetle.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •