SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Guru
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

"The Band" -> "Band, The" when ordering

OK, so I have a concert venue site. Local bands can submit their name and website, yadda yadda. When names are stored in the database, I want them stored as "The Band" (because we use that same name when display concert events). However, when I list all the bands alphabetically, there are quite a few "The Whatevers". Instead, I want bands like "The Apples" to be listed under A and not T. Is this even possible? Maybe instead of sorting it out with a query, it could be done with PHP instead? It would probably require some kind of regexp (which I don't understand AT ALL).

The Restaurant at The End of The Universe
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm just a newb but it seems to me that it would be easier to just store "Band" and then put a "The" before you display it.

Fully Qualified Fool :) luke-innovative's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Jump
    I'm just a newb but it seems to me that it would be easier to just store "Band" and then put a "The" before you display it.
    Thats if all the bands have "the" as a prefix. What if there are bands like "Metallica" or "Nirvana", he wouldnt want them as The Metallica or The Nirvana
    Luke
    Luke-Martin.com (work in progress) :: Independent Web Designer's Portal
    Freelance Forums :: Sign Up Here
    "What happens if you get scared half to death twice?"

SitePoint Guru
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    When we show events, we don't want to display concert listings like:

Apples, The
    Whatevers, The
    Someones, The