SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Chopped Liver bronze trophy imaginekitty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Pennsyltucky
    Posts
    1,494
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    I was going fine and then suddenly I can't start my dev server

    I'm new so I just can't figure out what's going on here. I was going through a tutorial to learn the ins and outs of Rails and then it just stopped working.

    Here are the errors.
    [rake --tasks] rake aborted!
    Could not find a JavaScript runtime. See https://github.com/sstephenson/execjs for a list of available runtimes.
    W:/RailsInstaller/Ruby1.9.2/lib/ruby/gems/1.9.1/gems/execjs-1.2.11/lib/execjs/runtimes.rb:47:in `autodetect'
    W:/RailsInstaller/Ruby1.9.2/lib/ruby/gems/1.9.1/gems/execjs-1.2.11/lib/execjs.rb:5:in `<module:ExecJS>'
    W:/RailsInstaller/Ruby1.9.2/lib/ruby/gems/1.9.1/gems/execjs-1.2.11/lib/execjs.rb:4:in `<top (required)>'
    W:/RailsInstaller/Ruby1.9.2/lib/ruby/gems/1.9.1/gems/coffee-script-2.2.0/lib/coffee_script.rb:1:in `require'
    W:/RailsInstaller/Ruby1.9.2/lib/ruby/gems/1.9.1/gems/coffee-script-2.2.0/lib/coffee_script.rb:1:in `<top (required)>'
    W:/RailsInstaller/Ruby1.9.2/lib/ruby/gems/1.9.1/gems/coffee-script-2.2.0/lib/coffee-script.rb:1:in `require'
    W:/RailsInstaller/Ruby1.9.2/lib/ruby/gems/1.9.1/gems/coffee-script-2.2.0/lib/coffee-script.rb:1:in `<top (required)>'
    W:/RailsInstaller/Ruby1.9.2/lib/ruby/gems/1.9.1/gems/coffee-rails-3.1.1/lib/coffee-rails.rb:1:in `require'
    W:/RailsInstaller/Ruby1.9.2/lib/ruby/gems/1.9.1/gems/coffee-rails-3.1.1/lib/coffee-rails.rb:1:in `<top (required)>'
    W:/RailsInstaller/Ruby1.9.2/lib/ruby/gems/1.9.1/gems/bundler-1.0.21/lib/bundler/runtime.rb:68:in `require'
    W:/RailsInstaller/Ruby1.9.2/lib/ruby/gems/1.9.1/gems/bundler-1.0.21/lib/bundler/runtime.rb:68:in `block (2 levels) in require'
    W:/RailsInstaller/Ruby1.9.2/lib/ruby/gems/1.9.1/gems/bundler-1.0.21/lib/bundler/runtime.rb:66:in `each'
    W:/RailsInstaller/Ruby1.9.2/lib/ruby/gems/1.9.1/gems/bundler-1.0.21/lib/bundler/runtime.rb:66:in `block in require'
    W:/RailsInstaller/Ruby1.9.2/lib/ruby/gems/1.9.1/gems/bundler-1.0.21/lib/bundler/runtime.rb:55:in `each'
    W:/RailsInstaller/Ruby1.9.2/lib/ruby/gems/1.9.1/gems/bundler-1.0.21/lib/bundler/runtime.rb:55:in `require'
    W:/RailsInstaller/Ruby1.9.2/lib/ruby/gems/1.9.1/gems/bundler-1.0.21/lib/bundler.rb:122:in `require'
    W:/RubymineProjects/blog/config/application.rb:7:in `<top (required)>'
    W:/RailsInstaller/Ruby1.9.2/lib/ruby/site_ruby/1.9.1/rubygems/custom_require.rb:36:in `require'
    W:/RailsInstaller/Ruby1.9.2/lib/ruby/site_ruby/1.9.1/rubygems/custom_require.rb:36:in `require'
    W:/RubymineProjects/blog/Rakefile:5:in `<top (required)>'
    W:/RailsInstaller/Ruby1.9.2/lib/ruby/gems/1.9.1/gems/rake-0.9.2.2/lib/rake/rake_module.rb:25:in `load'
    W:/RailsInstaller/Ruby1.9.2/lib/ruby/gems/1.9.1/gems/rake-0.9.2.2/lib/rake/rake_module.rb:25:in `load_rakefile'
    W:/RailsInstaller/Ruby1.9.2/lib/ruby/gems/1.9.1/gems/rake-0.9.2.2/lib/rake/application.rb:501:in `raw_load_rakefile'
    W:/RailsInstaller/Ruby1.9.2/lib/ruby/gems/1.9.1/gems/rake-0.9.2.2/lib/rake/application.rb:82:in `block in load_rakefile'
    W:/RailsInstaller/Ruby1.9.2/lib/ruby/gems/1.9.1/gems/rake-0.9.2.2/lib/rake/application.rb:133:in `standard_exception_handling'
    W:/RailsInstaller/Ruby1.9.2/lib/ruby/gems/1.9.1/gems/rake-0.9.2.2/lib/rake/application.rb:81:in `load_rakefile'
    W:/RailsInstaller/Ruby1.9.2/lib/ruby/gems/1.9.1/gems/rake-0.9.2.2/lib/rake/application.rb:65:in `block in run'
    W:/RailsInstaller/Ruby1.9.2/lib/ruby/gems/1.9.1/gems/rake-0.9.2.2/lib/rake/application.rb:133:in `standard_exception_handling'
    W:/RailsInstaller/Ruby1.9.2/lib/ruby/gems/1.9.1/gems/rake-0.9.2.2/lib/rake/application.rb:63:in `run'
    W:/RailsInstaller/Ruby1.9.2/lib/ruby/gems/1.9.1/gems/rake-0.9.2.2/bin/rake:33:in `<top (required)>'
    W:/RailsInstaller/Ruby1.9.2/bin/rake:19:in `load'
    W:/RailsInstaller/Ruby1.9.2/bin/rake:19:in `<main>'
    I tried "gem install execjs". No change. I tried reinstalling Ruby, then Rails. No change. What could I have possibly done? Is it really as fragile as it seems or did I just make a terrible mistake?

  2. #2
    Chopped Liver bronze trophy imaginekitty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Pennsyltucky
    Posts
    1,494
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Man, Rails is freakin' frustrating!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. #3
    Chopped Liver bronze trophy imaginekitty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Pennsyltucky
    Posts
    1,494
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I gave up last night and went to sleep. After this morning's boot it seems to work. :?

    I thought Windows had the market on random issues.

  4. #4
    Avid Logophile silver trophy
    ParkinT's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    2,332
    Mentioned
    192 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    I know how frustration can mount when you are trying to get something done and the software seems to fight with you. I am trying to teach myself to take a Zen approach; relax and carefully examine the problem. The page full of information is a bit overwhelming.
    But if you take a moment and read the error message, it appears there is a Javascript file missing. The one referenced at line 47 of W:/RailsInstaller/Ruby1.9.2/lib/ruby/gems/1.9.1/gems/execjs-1.2.11/lib/execjs/runtimes.rb

    Ruby is not to blame
    Rails is not to blame
    Apparently, the execjs is the sourcr of the problem.
    Don't be yourself. Be someone a little nicer. -Mignon McLaughlin, journalist and author (1913-1983)


    Git is for EVERYONE
    Literally, the best app for readers.
    Make Your P@ssw0rd Secure
    Leveraging SubDomains

  5. #5
    Chopped Liver bronze trophy imaginekitty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Pennsyltucky
    Posts
    1,494
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm not so much into the Zen approach, I'd rather give it a virtual pistol-whipping and see if it complies.

    That's what I was thinking as well but the Javascript file was there, it just refused to find it. :shrug:

    It's working as it should after a reboot though. I just wish that I could explain why it happened so I can prevent it in the future.


    Thank you for the reply.


    I should add that this isn't my only frustration with Rails so far. I'm just used to the ease of ASP.NET MVC and Visual Studio and having things pretty much handed to you. Basically, I'm out of shape.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Akron, OH, USA
    Posts
    102
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You need a JS runtime for your system. I'm not sure why it would work after a reboot, but, the fix is to install one of the runtimes listed at: https://github.com/sstephenson/execjs

    g
    em install therubyracer

  7. #7
    Chopped Liver bronze trophy imaginekitty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Pennsyltucky
    Posts
    1,494
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by scannon View Post
    You need a JS runtime for your system.
    That's just it. It is there. It's always been there. It just decided to not work for some reason.

    Quote Originally Posted by scannon View Post
    I'm not sure why it would work after a reboot, but, the fix is to install one of the runtimes listed at: https://github.com/sstephenson/execjs
    I did try that about 300 times but ...

    Quote Originally Posted by scannon View Post
    gem install therubyracer
    gem install therubyracer fails. Every time. Even after the reboot. I don't care because it's working. Thanks for the assistance.

    I wish there were some consistency. The random and intermittent stuff is frustrating.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Akron, OH, USA
    Posts
    102
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rails on Windows has some issues. If you have a way to work on some type of *nix system it makes life a whole lot easier.

  9. #9
    Chopped Liver bronze trophy imaginekitty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Pennsyltucky
    Posts
    1,494
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by scannon View Post
    Rails on Windows has some issues. If you have a way to work on some type of *nix system it makes life a whole lot easier.
    I think you've nailed the issue at hand. Unfortunately my Mac is broken and I've not got enough room on my hard drives in the windows machine to install *NIX.

    Thanks for the help. Much appreciated.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •