SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 26 to 36 of 36

Thread: Why JavaScript?

  1. #26
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    617
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The only interactivity is the drop down menu (that I found) and I stated that that is one of the few things I can see JS being beneficial for.

    Anyway, I am still going to try and find time to at least learn the basics of how it works. Then, try and find a script that does nice drop down menus, figure out how it works, and then modify it in the future. I think I may also try and figure out some form validation stuff.

    Anyway, thanks for the nice thread peoples

  2. #27
    Web-coding NINJA! silver trophy beetle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    2,900
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by sccr410
    The only interactivity is the drop down menu (that I found) and I stated that that is one of the few things I can see JS being beneficial for.
    Perhaps then, you don't know javascript when you see it

    http://www.ccsb.com/art.htm
    http://www.ccsb.com/res_library.htm
    http://www.ccsb.com/practice_groups.htm (see the 'Help' button?)

    I updated my last post a bit...you may wanna go back a re-read the 2nd half.
    beetle a.k.a. Peter Bailey
    blogs: php | prophp | security | design | zen | software
    refs: dhtml | gecko | prototype | phpdocs | unicode | charsets
    tools: ide | ftp | regex | ffdev




  3. #28
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    617
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yea, I missed that art page...very nice.

  4. #29
    ♪♪ ♪ ♪ ♪ ♪♪ ♪ ♪♪ Markdidj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Bournemouth, South UK
    Posts
    1,551
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    check my website for interactivity

    I cant use a wysiwyg program, feel to limited.
    If you use a program like that it makes the file sizes way to big.

    With javascript you can use the same function, array or loop in multiple ways
    Check the drum pagesat my website, a good use of javascript. Also, check the source code, and notice the frames use the same code.

    Would like a bit of feedback on what my site is like (apart from written content....the boring bit's left till last!!!)

    If you check the intro at UnitingRhythms you can see another good use of javascript. The only thing I can't doo is turn an Image.(does anyone else know?)
    LiveScript: Putting the "Live" Back into JavaScript
    if live output_as_javascript else output_as_html end if

  5. #30
    Web-coding NINJA! silver trophy beetle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    2,900
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The IE-only matrix filter lets you rotate images.
    beetle a.k.a. Peter Bailey
    blogs: php | prophp | security | design | zen | software
    refs: dhtml | gecko | prototype | phpdocs | unicode | charsets
    tools: ide | ftp | regex | ffdev




  6. #31
    Currently Occupied; Till Sunda Andrew-J2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,475
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Rockrz


    Can anyone show me a link to a live example of this?
    I'd like to see exactly what it is....
    Have a look here.

  7. #32
    ♪♪ ♪ ♪ ♪ ♪♪ ♪ ♪♪ Markdidj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Bournemouth, South UK
    Posts
    1,551
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    a little script(copy&paste all)

    <SCRIPT>
    var deg2radians = Math.PI * 4 / 360;
    function fnSetRotation(oObj, deg)
    { rad = deg * deg2radians;
    costheta = Math.cos(rad);
    sintheta = Math.sin(rad);

    oObj.filters.item(0).M11 = costheta;
    oObj.filters.item(0).M12 = -sintheta;
    oObj.filters.item(0).M21 = sintheta;
    oObj.filters.item(0).M22 = costheta;

    }

    function fnResize(oObj, flMultiplier)
    { oObj.filters.item(0).M11 *= flMultiplier;
    oObj.filters.item(0).M12 *= flMultiplier;
    oObj.filters.item(0).M21 *= flMultiplier;
    oObj.filters.item(0).M22 *= flMultiplier;
    document.all.oDiv.style.top=200-(iCount*sintheta/360)
    document.all.oDiv.style.left=300-(iCount*costheta/360)
    }


    var iCount = 0;
    function fnSpin(oObj)
    {

    var flMultiple = iCount/720;
    iCount += 2;

    if (iCount>=360*4) {
    oObj.onfilterchange = null;
    }

    fnSetRotation(oObj, iCount);
    fnResize(oObj, flMultiple);
    }
    </SCRIPT>

    <!-- When loaded, the onfilterchange event is fired as the filter makes
    its initial settings. This starts the animation.-->
    <DIV ID="oDiv" STYLE="position:absolute; top:50; left:50;
    filterrogidXImageTransform.Microsoft.Matrix(sizingMethod='auto expand')"
    onfilterchange="fnSpin(this)" >
    <DIV STYLE=" background-color: lightblue; padding:0;">Uniting<br>Rhythms</DIV>
    </DIV>
    LiveScript: Putting the "Live" Back into JavaScript
    if live output_as_javascript else output_as_html end if

  8. #33
    ♪♪ ♪ ♪ ♪ ♪♪ ♪ ♪♪ Markdidj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Bournemouth, South UK
    Posts
    1,551
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Talking Doh!!

    = : p (no spaces)
    = : d (no spaces)

    might come out in the copy anyway.
    the lines.....


    document.all.oDiv.style.top=200-(iCount*sintheta/360)
    document.all.oDiv.style.left=300-(iCount*costheta/360)

    are the best I can do so far to get it to spin on the spot. The program can be found at the Microsoft help page, but its jagged. still trying to work out how each point works, but will let this forum know if I do.....
    have fun.....ps use pics in the Div,
    and try...
    { oObj.filters.item(0).M11 *= flMultiplier*costheta }
    in the fnResize function, have a play...its fun!!!
    LiveScript: Putting the "Live" Back into JavaScript
    if live output_as_javascript else output_as_html end if

  9. #34
    ♪♪ ♪ ♪ ♪ ♪♪ ♪ ♪♪ Markdidj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Bournemouth, South UK
    Posts
    1,551
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    doesn't spin on spot, sorry, older program been saved over newer one!!!
    LiveScript: Putting the "Live" Back into JavaScript
    if live output_as_javascript else output_as_html end if

  10. #35
    ♪♪ ♪ ♪ ♪ ♪♪ ♪ ♪♪ Markdidj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Bournemouth, South UK
    Posts
    1,551
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    To much Computing....Not enough Sleep

    LiveScript: Putting the "Live" Back into JavaScript
    if live output_as_javascript else output_as_html end if

  11. #36
    ☆★☆★ silver trophy vgarcia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    in transition
    Posts
    21,236
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Another reason to learn Javascript:

    I may get really flamed for this, but if you decide you ever want to edit the way Dreamweaver writes code for you, you can go into [dreamweaver path]\configuration\ and go to town! Basically, anything is possible because Dreamweaver is a little bit of C++ code; the rest (templates, code for buttons, divs, etc.) is HTML and Javascript in the configuration files. Just a nice little tidbit I learned from some of Macromedia's web developers that I thought would be beneficial to DW users.

    --Vinnie


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •