SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 26 to 32 of 32
  1. #26
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    so do you think there is no way to do this with opening the popup window a specific size for each of the images in my scroller?

    thanks

  2. #27
    SitePoint Addict sdleihssirhc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    387
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Oh, there totally is. There just isn't really any way to do it directly in the HTML. You'll need to use straight-up JavaScript for it, which is the code you had yesterday, before I piped in and said anything. All you need to add to it is...

    • listening for a link to be clicked
    • open the appropriate window
    • prevent the default action


    (In order for this to work, you'll need to change each link's href back to the real URL.)
    I'm the web overlord for Graphic Business Systems

  3. #28
    Unobtrusively zen silver trophybronze trophy
    paul_wilkins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    14,716
    Mentioned
    103 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by sdleihssirhc View Post
    All you need to add to it is...

    • listening for a link to be clicked
    • open the appropriate window
    • prevent the default action


    (In order for this to work, you'll need to change each link's href back to the real URL.)
    Post #6 from this thread provides a good example of how to do that.
    Programming Group Advisor
    Reference: JavaScript, Quirksmode Validate: HTML Validation, JSLint
    Car is to Carpet as Java is to JavaScript

  4. #29
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    well I added what was in post 6 but now the scroller won't even load?

    www.meadowlarkco.com/services.php

  5. #30
    Unobtrusively zen silver trophybronze trophy
    paul_wilkins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    14,716
    Mentioned
    103 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by rrmcguire View Post
    well I added what was in post 6 but now the scroller won't even load?
    I took a quick look and it seems that you have mixed in HTML code amidst your JavaScript code.
    Programming Group Advisor
    Reference: JavaScript, Quirksmode Validate: HTML Validation, JSLint
    Car is to Carpet as Java is to JavaScript

  6. #31
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ok, I moved around my div and the initial image loads and then once you click on it opens the image in a new page, but the scroller doesn't work and isn't showing?

  7. #32
    Unobtrusively zen silver trophybronze trophy
    paul_wilkins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    14,716
    Mentioned
    103 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by rrmcguire View Post
    ok, I moved around my div and the initial image loads and then once you click on it opens the image in a new page, but the scroller doesn't work and isn't showing?
    One of the links seems to be spelled incorrectly, could that be a factor?

    http://www.meadowlarkco.com/servciesimage.htm
    Programming Group Advisor
    Reference: JavaScript, Quirksmode Validate: HTML Validation, JSLint
    Car is to Carpet as Java is to JavaScript


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •