SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 14 of 14

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    10
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    webpage view is let aligned on internet explorer yet ok on firefox

    Please could you help me, my website has just been loaded and is viewing ok on firefox yet left aligned on internet explorer, how can I fix this

  2. #2
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,331
    Mentioned
    463 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Hi KimTabori. Please post a link to the site so we can have a look. There are lots of possible reasons for this, but perhpas most likely is that you don't have a doctype.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    10
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Hi

    My web address is www.mumsdiary.co.za there are 3 errors I have picked up that show fine on firefox yet incorrect on internet explorer:

    1. view left aligned
    2. drop down menu's show under the banner
    3. Job Listings "view full list" drops down to the bottom of the page

    Your help would me most appreciated

    Kind regards Kim

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    10
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Hi Ralph

    Below is a copy of my file for the template, I added the doctype as per your suggestion a few days ago but still no luck....perhaps you can see what needs to be added/changed, many thanks Kim

    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">
    <html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" lang="en" xml:lang="en">

    <head>
    <jdoc:include type="head" />
    <title><?php echo $mainframe->getCfg('sitename');?></title>
    <meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
    <link rel="stylesheet" href="templates/<?php echo $this->template ?>/css/template.css" type="text/css" />
    <link rel="stylesheet" href="templates/<?php echo $this->template ?>/css/<?php echo $this->params->get('colorVariation'); ?>.css" type="text/css" />
    <link rel="stylesheet" href="templates/<?php echo $this->template ?>/css/<?php echo $this->params->get('backgroundVariation'); ?>_bg.css" type="text/css" />
    </head>

    <body id="page_bg" class="color_<?php echo $this->params->get('colorVariation'); ?> bg_<?php echo $this->params->get('backgroundVariation'); ?> width_<?php echo $this->params->get('widthStyle'); ?>">

    <div class="left" id="wrapper">
    <!--menu begins-->
    <div class="clear" id="menucontainer">
    <div id="mmenu"><jdoc:include type="modules" name="mmenu" /></div>
    </div>
    <!--menu ends-->

    <!--header begins-->
    <div id="headercontainer">
    <div id="headerimage">
    <div id="header">
    <div id="logobar">
    <a href="index.php" class="fleft" id="logo">SUNFLOWER</a>
    <div class="fright" id="search"><jdoc:include type="modules" name="user4" /></div>
    </div>
    <div class="clear" id="bannercontent">
    <jdoc:include type="modules" name="user5" style="xhtml" />
    </div>
    <jdoc:include type="modules" name="sfbox" />
    </div>
    </div>
    </div>
    <!--header ends-->
    <div align="center" class="clear" id="ad"><jdoc:include type="modules" name="banner" /></div>
    <!--breadcrumbs begins-->
    <div class="clear" id="bcrumb">
    <jdoc:include type="module" name="breadcrumbs" />
    </div>
    <!--breadcrumbs ends-->

    <!--content begins-->
    <div class="clear" id="content">
    <div class="fleft" id="leftcol">
    <jdoc:include type="modules" name="left" style="rounded" />
    </div>
    <?php if($this->countModules('left') and $this->countModules('right') and JRequest::getCmd('layout') != 'form') : ?>
    <div class="fleft" id="maincol">
    <?php elseif($this->countModules('left') and !$this->countModules('right') and JRequest::getCmd('layout') != 'form') : ?>
    <div class="fleft" id="maincolumn_left">
    <?php elseif(!$this->countModules('left') and $this->countModules('right') and JRequest::getCmd('layout') != 'form') : ?>
    <div class="fleft" id="maincolumn_right">
    <?php else: ?>
    <div class="fleft" id="maincolumn_full">
    <?php endif; ?>
    <div class="nopad">
    <?php
    if ($this->countModules('user1') and $this->countModules('user2') and $this->countModules('user3')) {
    $width1 = "33%";
    } else if (($this->countModules('user1') and $this->countModules('user2')) or ($this->countModules('user1') and $this->countModules('user3')) or ($this->countModules('user2') and $this->countModules('user3'))) {
    $width1 = "50%";
    } else {
    $width1 = "100%";
    }
    ?>
    <div style="float:left; width: <?php echo $width1; ?>"><jdoc:include type="modules" name="user1" style="xhtml" /></div>
    <div style="float:left; width: <?php echo $width1; ?>"><jdoc:include type="modules" name="user2" style="xhtml" /></div>
    <div style="float:left; width: <?php echo $width1; ?>"><jdoc:include type="modules" name="user3" style="xhtml" /></div>
    <div class="clear"></div>
    <jdoc:include type="message" />
    <jdoc:include type="component" />
    <?php
    if ($this->countModules('user6') and $this->countModules('user7') and $this->countModules('user8')) {
    $width2 = "33%";
    } else if (($this->countModules('user6') and $this->countModules('user7')) or ($this->countModules('user6') and $this->countModules('user8')) or ($this->countModules('user7') and $this->countModules('user8'))) {
    $width2 = "50%";
    } else {
    $width2 = "100%";
    }
    ?>
    <div style="float:left; width: <?php echo $width2; ?>"><jdoc:include type="modules" name="user6" style="xhtml" /></div>
    <div style="float:left; width: <?php echo $width2; ?>"><jdoc:include type="modules" name="user7" style="xhtml" /></div>
    <div style="float:left; width: <?php echo $width2; ?>"><jdoc:include type="modules" name="user8" style="xhtml" /></div>
    <div class="clear"></div>
    <jdoc:include type="modules" name="user9" style="xhtml" />
    </div>
    </div>
    </div>

    <div class="clear" id="footercontainer">
    <div id="footer">
    <?php
    $templancrand = rand(0,1);
    $templanc = array("Joomla Templates","Free Joomla Templates");
    $templanc = $templanc[$templancrand];
    $linkrand = rand(0,10);
    $anc = array(
    array("URL" => "", "ANCHOR" => "Web Hosting"),
    array("URL" => "", "ANCHOR" => "Reseller Hosting"),
    array("URL" => "", "ANCHOR" => "VPS Hosting"),
    array("URL" => "", "ANCHOR" => "Joomla Hosting"),
    array("URL" => "web_hosting.html", "ANCHOR" => "Web Hosting"),
    array("URL" => "reseller_hosting.html", "ANCHOR" => "Reseller Hosting"),
    array("URL" => "vps_hosting.html", "ANCHOR" => "VPS Hosting"),
    array("URL" => "vps_hosting.html", "ANCHOR" => "VPS Servers"),
    array("URL" => "dedicated_servers.html", "ANCHOR" => "Dedicated Servers"),
    array("URL" => "dedicated_servers.html", "ANCHOR" => "Managed Dedicated Servers"),
    array("URL" => "joomla_hosting.html", "ANCHOR" => "Joomla Hosting")
    );
    $url = $anc[$linkrand]["URL"];
    $anchor = $anc[$linkrand]["ANCHOR"];
    ?>
    <div class="fleft"><jdoc:include type="modules" name="bottommenu" /></div>
    <p class="fright"><a href="http://www.buyhttp.com/joomla_templates.html" target="_blank"><?php echo $templanc; ?></a> by BuyHTTP <a href="http://www.buyhttp.com/<?php echo $url; ?>" target="_blank"><?php echo $anchor; ?></a></p>
    <p align="right" class="clear"><jdoc:include type="modules" name="footer" style="xhtml" /></p>
    </div>
    </div>
    </div>
    </div>
    </body>
    </html>

  5. #5
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,331
    Mentioned
    463 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    The online version you linked to above still doesn't have a doctype, so that's the first thing to address, as it's critical. Are you able to make changes to the online version?

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    10
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Hi Ralph

    I uploaded my website about 10 mins ago, could you have another look please.

    Yes I can make changes to the html files, I am working on Joomla and Afrihost

    Regards Kim


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •