SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard johntabita's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    In a big, big house, with lotsa lotsa room
    Posts
    1,062
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Bkgd Image Not Appearing

    I am having a problem with this page . At the bottom of the white content area, there should be a background image, but it does not show up. (Should look like this screenshot.)

    I'm using the following CSS:

    td.drumbg {
    background: #fff url(images/drum_bkgd_btm.jpg) no-repeat right bottom;
    }


    I've applied this class to the content area <td> like so:

    <td width="580" bgcolor="#FFFFFF" align="left" valign="top" class="drumbg">

    When I preview it locally, it's fine. When I upload the files to the server, it does not appear in the cell background.

    If anyone can shed light as to what the problem is, I'd greatly appreciate it! Thanks.

  2. #2
    Sultan of Ping jofa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    SvÝ■jˇ­
    Posts
    4,080
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Try url("images/drum_bkgd_btm.jpg")

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No, that's not it. You don't use quotes when specifying the background image.

    If you're talking about the image of the gear then I see it just fine.

    IE 5.5, Win98, PC
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard johntabita's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    In a big, big house, with lotsa lotsa room
    Posts
    1,062
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks, guys. I can now see the image as well. I think our network was caching the old page.

  5. #5
    Sultan of Ping jofa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    SvÝ■jˇ­
    Posts
    4,080
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by creole
    No, that's not it. You don't use quotes when specifying the background image.
    You don't.
    I do.
    http://www.w3.org/TR/REC-CSS2/colors.html#q2

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That's very odd. I've had browsers which would not show the image when using quotes there.

    Will have to test that out.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard Bill Posters's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,523
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by creole
    That's very odd. I've had browsers which would not show the image when using quotes there.

    Will have to test that out.
    I know single-quotes become problematic when a DTD is used, but I've not heard of disruptive issues with double-quotes.

    If there are any issues with double-quotes I would guess that it *may* have something to do with which particular DTD is used with a page (quirks, etc...).
    New Plastic Arts: Visual Communication | DesignateOnline

    Mate went to NY and all he got me was this lousy signature


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •