SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    193
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Debugging feature: dont use this line of code?

    I'm looking for an IDE that will allow me to specify a line(s) of code NOT to use. I'd hope that it wouldn't actually alter the file, just the IDE's view of it. I currently comment out lines but this can become a painfully slow process in many cases.

    I use DW mainly, along with some other IDE's for specific features, but I am open to other IDE suggestions.

  2. #2
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,177
    Mentioned
    454 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Could you give an example of what you mean? I can't picture what you are referring to.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    455
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    How do you mean; "line(s) of code NOT to use"?
    Do you mean not to be displayed in the IDE or not to be parsed when the script is called?

    Michael.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    193
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am sorry for not being clearer. I meant that the line of code is not parsed when the script is called. So I could select say, lines 5-10, and run the program as if those lines did not exist.

  5. #5
    . shoooo... silver trophy logic_earth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    9,013
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    put it in a comment...
    Logic without the fatal effects.
    All code snippets are licensed under WTFPL.


  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    193
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I said I did that in the OP... I found it's not that effective when you are doing debugging/testing in overlapping chunks and comments (and comment types) overlap. I figured that there was a better solution. I read that some other language's IDE's had this feature, but I haven't tried enough php/js/html/css IDEs to find it elsewhere.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •