SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard mcsolas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Hermosa Costa Rica
    Posts
    1,707
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Converting to mysql from access

    I have come across a few legacy mdb's recently that I would like to convert into mysql tables. I have been finding some freeware apps but nothing has worked yet. I am considering a paid tool as well, but still not sure as to which to choose from.

    I just found one from Perfect Data Solutions that seems functional enough to make the sql file, but the demo version limits it to 1 table, 100 records. Crazy enough, there was no clear way to buy the reg. version ( shareware fail? ). Even when I went to the site to buy it when I clicked on the link to buy, it took me to a diff. product. I may still email them and ask about it ( the sites doesnt even say how much it costs.. ) but it also motivated to continue looking for options.

    Please if you know of a reliable one, let me know. : )

  2. #2
    SQL Consultant gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    r937's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    39,340
    Mentioned
    63 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    reliable? how about a good old comma- or tab-separated values file?

    export your table from access as a csv, and you can load it right into mysql yourself with the LOAD DATA INFILE command
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL
    "giving out my real stuffs"

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard mcsolas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Hermosa Costa Rica
    Posts
    1,707
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't have access installed on any of my computers. I have been looking around to find someone who does, as that would make it easier. So for now, I was trying to find a tool that used database drivers to do the job.

    Edit: I have seen some people say you can do this with mysql workbench import, but I don't seem to have mysql installed as a service, so I guess revising that situation is a good starting point for me right now. Also so far after a few google searches, I couldnt find anything more than a reference in passing that it could be done, no real details on the process itself.

  4. #4
    SQL Consultant gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    r937's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    39,340
    Mentioned
    63 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mcsolas View Post
    I don't have access installed on any of my computers.
    yeah, me neither

    i had a nice working copy of Access 95 that i carried with me from one windows machine to another, but when my Win XP computer died recently, i bought a new windows 7 machine, and i can no longer run Access

    and i'll be darned if i lay out the kind of coin microsoft wants to get a new version

    so i feel your pain

    there are tools out there which can read mdb files, though -- so don't give up... some of them might even be free
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL
    "giving out my real stuffs"

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard mcsolas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Hermosa Costa Rica
    Posts
    1,707
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah I am in a similar situation. Recently upgrading to Windows 7 is bringing me back into the forums for a spell. Having a lot of trouble getting the development environment properly in order.

    I was using xampp to try and develop on so far, with a few bumps in the road. I had trouble running mysql as a service, even though there is a checkbox that indicates it will do so, and it was enabled, but still didn't seem to be on when the workbench app tried to connect to it. I just finished removing xampp and now am about to dig into reinstalling mysql, then build from there. I will be sure to post when if find a solution.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy cydewaze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Merry Land, USA
    Posts
    1,096
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If it's not a huge file (and not sensitive info) I can convert it to CSV and send it back to you. I have a few flavors of Access scattered among my machines here.
    <cfset myblog = "http://cydewaze.org/">

  7. #7
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Almere, The Netherlands
    Posts
    160
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mcsolas View Post
    I don't have access installed on any of my computers.
    You can use Excel as well to import the Access tables and create a csv file. Or simply download a Visual Studio Express product for free which can open Acces files as well
    http://www.microsoft.com/visualstudi...itions/express

    Or you can download a trial version Access, which you can use

    http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/access

    Or you can use OleDb to connect to the database in code....

  8. #8
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    358
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can also connect to the mysql database directly from access as long as the mysql odbc drivers are on the access computer. Then you can do the copying from within access itself.
    Doug G
    =====
    "If you ain't the lead dog, the view is always the same - Anon

  9. #9
    SitePoint Wizard mcsolas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Hermosa Costa Rica
    Posts
    1,707
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I finally found one that works!

    In that past I had figured out how to do this with mysql data migration. I got the new mysql workbench running, but I was having trouble figuring out how to migrate the data. I went back to searching for freeware and I came across this tool:
    http://www.bullzip.com/products/a2m/info.php

    Looks like it did a good job even transferring properly the primary keys, and column default values. In the past, the mysql tool had worked well, but I had to watch as it wouldn't properly recreate the primary keys, I would have to do a few minor touchups to get things back in order.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •