SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    936
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Problem with Dropdown in ie7

    I'm troubleshooting someone else's code. I got most of the ie7 bugs out but the last issue has me stumped.
    When you rollover the drop down it displays, but disappears when you hover it. There appears to not be an issue with the proper overlap.

    Thank you for any insights on how to fix this.

    http://webventions.com/testing/test.html

    E

  2. #2
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Canada,Montréal
    Posts
    38
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi you have some validation errors on your website . I strongly suggest correcting those before atteptimg to correct you bug because it might be whats causing your bug.

    http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=ht...Inline&group=0

  3. #3
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    936
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you look at the validation errors they are not ones that would cause this problem. They are obsolete tag errors (font) and attribute problems.
    -Michael

  4. #4
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    5,335
    Mentioned
    214 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    Are you sure it's an IE7 problem? I can't get the drop-downs to work at all in Firefox or Chromium.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    936
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sorry, I am tinkering with it right now. http://jasonkinard.com/wordpress/

    Something I discovered is that adding a background-color makes it work. Unfortunately, a background-color can't be added.
    I know I've run into this issue before but can't remember what causes it. Its something to do with the dimensions not being interpreted correctly by IE7.

    E

  6. #6
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    936
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I fixed it by pulling it closer in IE. Its not a great fix. The top of the menu should be 31px, but if it goes lower than 27px it behaves is if doesn't overlap. Although really there is plenty of overlap.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •