SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    820
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    element not showing in IE7

    hi,

    why are thumbnails here
    http://mayacove.com/stretcher/js_test.html

    not showing in IE7?

    am using z-index property..

    thank you...

  2. #2
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    820
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    since can't edit anymore......

    PS: "Content1" etc.. is not appearing in FF in Windows (in FF on the mac it shows fine...)

    thank you.........

  3. #3
    Sploghm bronze trophy Victorinox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    749
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thumbnails in IE7

    For #nav ul li:

    Remove display:inline-block;
    Add float:left;

    Add a new rule targeting IE7:

    Code:
    * + html #nav ul li a {
    display:block;
    }
    Re Firefox in Windows, I can see no difference. The text "Content 1" appears, changing to "Content 2" when the second thumbnail is clicked and so on.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    820
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    that worked! thank you very much..

    however: continue to have probs in FF/Win (FF 3.6.23, Win7)
    http://mayacove.com/stretcher/js_test.html

    have added more elements now (near the bottom, footer links) that you can see in IE7 & 8, but can't see them in FF... also still can't see "Content1" etc at top of divs in FF.. (Chrome & Safari np, also np in FF/mac.. maybe in FF/XP is ok too???? )

    this will be such a can of worms, need to incorporate a whole tabbed-content type switcheroo ON TOP of the bgstretcher plugin..

    PS: for the footer in FF/Win7, I see only bg color, not the links....

    thank you very much..

  5. #5
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    820
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    SORRY SORRY SORRY... see everything in FF now.....;-)
    (now need to figure out why still don't see it in my "real" situation and only see it in this demo.... oh brother... )

    thank you...

    PS: I see it only online, exact same code, locally, I don't see it .... :-(

  6. #6
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    820
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    here's screenshot of how it looks in FF in my local..
    http://www.mayacove.com/stretcher/ss_ff.jpg

    (is exact same code, I downloaded everything I had online to the local...)

    thank you..

  7. #7
    Sploghm bronze trophy Victorinox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    749
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Tested locally here on FF in Windows and Mac and seeing no difference.

    I notice you have an XML prolog before the Doctype. This, like anything above the Doctype, will trigger Quirks mode in IE6, so is usually left out.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    820
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yes, that XML line on top came with the plugin, was wondering about that.. just tried posting another reply 5 mins ago , I pressed "post reply" and my reply disappeared.. so let me try again....

    there's definitely something wrong.. this
    http://mayacove.com/stretcher/andrea.html

    looks fine in FF online (top nav, line beneath it, alt-text for imgs)

    in FF local I see NOTHING, except the line beneath the nav.. this is passing weird.. (and here I don't have that XML thing on top...)
    (again, FF 3.6.23/Win7)

    thank you...


    PS: taking out that XML line on top did nothing in other one.. this is doctype I have now:

    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
    <html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xml:lang="en" lang="en">

  9. #9
    Sploghm bronze trophy Victorinox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    749
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    In FF 3.6.23 Mac and FF 5 Windows (the lowest version I have to hand), both online and locally, http://mayacove.com/stretcher/andrea.html shows me the menu, line beneath, alt text and copyright.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •