SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43 44.4824', W079 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Background and Navigation flawed in IE7

    The following background property is not displaying correctly in IE7;
    #videos li a:hover {
    background:url("")1px 31px no-repeat;
    }
    The navigation is not displaying correctly in IE7 compared with IE 8/9.

  2. #2
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,380
    Mentioned
    180 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    he following background property is not displaying correctly in IE7;
    #videos li a:hover {
    background:url("")1px 31px no-repeat;
    }
    You need a space after the bracket containing the url.

    Code:
    :url("") 1px 31px
    The navigation is not displaying correctly in IE7 compared with IE 8/9.
    Try adding this rule shown in bold:
    Code:
    #nav ul {
    	float:left;
    	clear:left;
    	display:none;
    	margin-top:-5px;
    }
    *+html #nav ul{	margin-right:-100%;}

  3. #3
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43 44.4824', W079 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The navigation is not working in IE7. I hope I didn't setup my conditional comment incorrectly ? Everything looks good.

  4. #4
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,380
    Mentioned
    180 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Try reverting to the absolute method for Ie7 only.

    In the IE7 only css file change to this:

    Code:
    #nav ul{
    	position:absolute;
    	top:1.2em;
    	left:0;
    	float:none;
           margin:0!important;
    }

  5. #5
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43 44.4824', W079 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No progress

  6. #6
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,380
    Mentioned
    180 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    You need to have a space before the 7 in the conditional comments. (if IE 7)

    Like this:
    Code:
    <!--[if IE 7]>
      <link href="/construction/css/ie7.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css"> 
    <![endif]-->

  7. #7
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43 44.4824', W079 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No Progress

  8. #8
    Sploghm bronze trophy Victorinox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    749
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    On the contrary, your menu now behaves the same in IE7 and later.

    Have you tried emptying your cache and refreshing?

  9. #9
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43 44.4824', W079 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I cleared the cache. I had to switch from IE x64 to IE x32 to notice, I have to investigate IE x64. It works on my end.
    I would appreciate if someone could break down the rules and Paul supplied to make it work, and why those specific rules had to be applied for IE7. ?

    How do you know what to do for IE7, paul ?

  10. #10
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,380
    Mentioned
    180 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by SiberianHuskey View Post

    How do you know what to do for IE7, paul ?
    Years of practice

    The submenu was floated which was because originally you wanted the bottom border to move down when the submenu appeared so the submenu had to stay in the flow. Light years ago I gave you a working example which also worked in IE7 but along the way you changed the menu completely. In your new menu state there is no benefit for the submenu to be in the flow so I placed it absolutely which is easier for IE7 too understand and is the normal way that you make drop down menus.

  11. #11
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43 44.4824', W079 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Years of practice There is probably so many little bugs with IE I suppose you have to have most of them memorized.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •