SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 51 to 75 of 89
  1. #51
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43 44.4824', W079 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes.

  2. #52
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    455
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes what?

    Can you list what directories you see when you login to your server/FTP?

  3. #53
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43 44.4824', W079 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    All the typical that are located in a public_html directory

  4. #54
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    455
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Lightbulb

    Ok, all your files are in the public_html directory?

    Ok,

    Could you creat a simple PHP file with the following contents:

    PHP Code:
    <?php
    echo 'Hello World!<br />';
    echo 
    time();
    ?>
    Then access the file via your web browser and post the output of the page and a link to the page if possible.

    Cheers

  5. #55
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43 44.4824', W079 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm running the latest version of PHP. This doesn't make no sense at all. I know I"m not CSS guru but I don't believe it's the CSS, something else.

  6. #56
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    455
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My suggestion is in no way related to CSS, but I can safely say that CSS is a big part of your problem and i'm no CSS guru either.
    Judging my the 'coding' you've attempted on your links, there appears to be a list of problems.
    The CSS is hacked, the markup does not validate and your appear to have a PHP parsing issue.

    Simple scripts like the one I posted in my previous post will allow you to determine whether or not your server can parse PHP, but going by your links, if would appear that it cannot.

    Your HTML does not validate which means that the styling will be inconsistent, which it is, across various browsers.
    Having valid HTML when you start your CSS helps a great deal as when problems occur with styling, you can be quite sure its down to the CSS.
    Constantly tweaking CSS with non valid HTML could result in you banging your head of a wall day after day like I used to when I started with HTML and CSS when I was 11.

    Cheers.

  7. #57
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43 44.4824', W079 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I know there are HTML and CSS errors but the page looks fine in all browsers. Here is the result from running the script you posted in message #54

    Hello World!
    1317832135

  8. #58
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    455
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Your website is meant to look like the attachment?

    yoursite.jpg

    All I did was load it in IE7 and that is what I got.

    Cheers.

  9. #59
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43 44.4824', W079 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I know I want to fix that. How come when I rename the file to PHP everything works, rename to HTM and everything breaks in IE, it could be something with the server. I will investigate that further.

  10. #60
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43 44.4824', W079 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The image attachment should not look like that, view the page in FireFox, Chrome and then compare. I'm going though the validator presently but the lines don't match up, not that I need the lines but arrrgh this is working against me.

  11. #61
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Augusta, Georgia, United States
    Posts
    4,048
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    You know to see confirm your beliefs you can copy the HTML into a static file and see if it looks the same. If looks the same than it is a client-side issue rather than a server-side issue.
    The only code I hate more than my own is everyone else's.

  12. #62
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43 44.4824', W079 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    How do you create a HTML static file ? Wikipedia definition I don't understand.

  13. #63
    I solve practical problems. bronze trophy
    Michael Morris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Knoxville TN
    Posts
    2,011
    Mentioned
    56 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    A static file is one that doesn't change. As opposed to a dynamic file, one that does change.

    HTML files are static. PHP files are dynamic because, before the browser receives them, the server must parse the PHP code. The outcome of that parsing can (usually will) result in different output to the browser each time.

  14. #64
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    455
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by SiberianHuskey View Post
    The image attachment should not look like that, view the page in FireFox, Chrome and then compare. I'm going though the validator presently but the lines don't match up, not that I need the lines but arrrgh this is working against me.
    Well, that's what it looks like in IE7

  15. #65
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43 44.4824', W079 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I commented out the PHP script and the issue continues so that makes it a client issue ?

  16. #66
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    23,599
    Mentioned
    411 Post(s)
    Tagged
    7 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by SiberianHuskey View Post
    client issue ?
    A client issue? What do you mean by that. It's an HTML/CSS issue. Or did you mean browser issue?

  17. #67
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43 44.4824', W079 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The issue is not a server issue but a HTML/CSS issue, how can I fix it in IE.

  18. #68
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    455
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You say you commented out the PHP? It's still visible in the source code of view-source:http://www.thecreativesheep.ca/const...efinalpage.htm

    What did you mean? Have I miss understood?

  19. #69
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43 44.4824', W079 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That's cause I un-commented it again. Either way the page will still broken in IE. This only happens in IE, only IE. My guess is client script issue not the HTML, I know there are roughly 8 errors but some are just warnings it's not that I'm going to ignore those problems but the bigger picture I don't see those errors as the issue. It's either Javascript or Server.

  20. #70
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    455
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You keep mentioning 'client script' issue. What do you mean by this?

    You also stated it's not a server issue now you are stating it as one of the possible causes. What's the reasoning behind this change of opinion?

  21. #71
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    23,599
    Mentioned
    411 Post(s)
    Tagged
    7 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by SiberianHuskey View Post
    It's either Javascript or Server.
    No, it's either all or mostly CSS problems. You have to be very careful with older versions of IE, as standard things just don't work. Take your header, for example. You only have a min-height set on it. But don't rely on old versions of IE obeying that. IE7 should, but it isn't for some reason. And your 100% height method is flawed. Check out the FAQ post on a bulletproof way to achieve that.

  22. #72
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43 44.4824', W079 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's all CSS, not client or server issues ! Explain then to me why, when the page is saved as PHP nothing is broken ? Changing the extension from PHP to HTML causes grief with IE.

  23. #73
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    23,599
    Mentioned
    411 Post(s)
    Tagged
    7 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by SiberianHuskey View Post
    Explain then to me why, when the page is saved as PHP nothing is broken ?
    I don't believe that. Could you post a .php example of the page?

  24. #74
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    455
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ralph.m View Post
    I don't believe that. Could you post a .php example of the page?
    Ditto!

  25. #75
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43 44.4824', W079 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    PHP version (link)
    I need a break this is making me insane. If you see a broken page in IE7 then I really won't know what to think, my IE is possessed.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •