SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 89
  1. #26
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43° 44.4824', W079° 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Visit the link for which I gave but change it from HTM to PHP, everything works except for a few styles which I had the *html hack applied and that is now removed.

  2. #27
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,299
    Mentioned
    460 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    The link gives a 404 now.

  3. #28
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy C. Ankerstjerne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    The Kingdom of Denmark
    Posts
    2,702
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That indicates that it is indeed a problem with the .htaccess configuration, and not the PHP code. Try re-posting the contents of you .htaccess file, with the modifications mentioned above.

    Ralph: Change .htm to .php and it will work.
    Christian Ankerstjerne
    <p<strong<abbr/HTML/ 4 teh win</>
    <>In Soviet Russia, website codes you!

  4. #29
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43° 44.4824', W079° 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This is specifically the parsing. My server does run Apache.
    Options +FollowSymlinks

    # RewriteEngine on

    # RewriteRule ^(.*)\.htm$ $1.php [nc]

    AddType application/x-httpd-php .php .htm .html

  5. #30
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43° 44.4824', W079° 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Any recommendations on parsing PHP to HTML everything I search for comes up the same what I already have in my HTACCESS file.

  6. #31
    Utopia, Inc. silver trophy
    ScallioXTX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    9,095
    Mentioned
    153 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Some hosts have changed the default mime type for PHP because they have multiple versions of PHP installed.
    You could try AddType application/x-httpd-php4 .php .htm .html or AddType application/x-httpd-php5 .php .htm .html.
    Rémon - Hosting Advisor

    SitePoint forums will switch to Discourse soon! Make sure you're ready for it!

    Minimal Bookmarks Tree
    My Google Chrome extension: browsing bookmarks made easy

  7. #32
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,299
    Mentioned
    460 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    It seems PHP is being parsed on your page now. The problem may be something else.

  8. #33
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43° 44.4824', W079° 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Damn this is pain, what could it be.

  9. #34
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,299
    Mentioned
    460 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    I've lost track of what the problem is.

  10. #35
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43° 44.4824', W079° 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The page breaks when it is saved as a HTML and parsed by htaccess in IE only.

  11. #36
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,299
    Mentioned
    460 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    I think any page breaking is a CSS issue.

  12. #37
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43° 44.4824', W079° 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    How does it make sense when the page is saved as PHP everything is good. When the page is renamed to .HTM or HTML it breaks ?

  13. #38
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,299
    Mentioned
    460 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    It's very broken with .php too. But even so, if you are using PHP, it's best to use .php anyhoo.

  14. #39
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43° 44.4824', W079° 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What do you mean it's very broken with PHP too ?

  15. #40
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,299
    Mentioned
    460 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    If I visit your broken link above and replace the extension with .php, I see what I assume is the current page you are talking about. That page is a bit messed up in IE7. I'm not sure if that's your current working model, though, so my comments may be out of date, as it were.

  16. #41
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43° 44.4824', W079° 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm going forward with this model so it's correct. Why is that occurring ?

  17. #42
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,299
    Mentioned
    460 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Sorry, I don't understand. Could you be more specific? Perhaps link to the page that you are currently working with.

  18. #43
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43° 44.4824', W079° 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The link is in message 7.

  19. #44
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,299
    Mentioned
    460 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by SiberianHuskey View Post
    The link is in message 7.
    Yes, this one:

    http://www.thecreativesheep.ca/const...efinalpage.htm

    Try it yourself.

    Quote Originally Posted by ralph.m View Post
    If I visit your broken link above and replace the extension with .php, I see what I assume is the current page you are talking about.

  20. #45
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43° 44.4824', W079° 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    View this in IE 7/8.

  21. #46
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,299
    Mentioned
    460 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    You must be getting a different result from me. I get the attached image in all browsers:

    404.png

    EDIT: actually, not so. I works in some. Sorry, I must be having a caching issue.

  22. #47
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43° 44.4824', W079° 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Is it breaking only in IE ?

  23. #48
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    455
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,

    You 'site' 'renders' similar in chrome and firefox but its a mangled mess in IE which would point to CSS issues, also you have php being rendered as text.

    Does your webserver support PHP or ASP?
    It appears that either;
    - your htaccess file is incorrect
    - your including PHP in files which cannot parse PHP
    - your host/server doesn't support PHP
    - you're placing the files on the server in a location which does not support PHP parsing.

    Who is your webhost?

    Also, your page doesn't validate; i'd recommend sorting the validation issues out before progressing with any CSS amends.

    Cheers

  24. #49
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43° 44.4824', W079° 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Does your webserver support PHP or ASP?
    Yes
    It appears that either;
    - your htaccess file is incorrect
    I'll rule this out for now
    - your including PHP in files which cannot parse PHP
    Possible
    - your host/server doesn't support PHP
    PHP is supported
    - you're placing the files on the server in a location which does not support PHP parsing.
    Another second possibility

    Who is your webhost?

    Also, your page doesn't validate; i'd recommend sorting the validation issues out before progressing with any CSS amends.
    I will sort out the CSS after this parsing is complete. There are two possibilities which I never thought off.

    Edit:
    How can I add directories to be parsed ?

  25. #50
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    455
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    When you connect to your webserver, what directories do you see?

    Do you see ones with names like, private, cgi-bin, public_html, wwwroot?


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •