SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Tring to get people to come to my Teen Depression forum

Hey all,

I have a Teen Depression Forum set up at www.teen-moods.net
    its powered by phpBB2, I have been considering changing to VBulletin but with less than 30 members it not worth it yet. I've mass-submitted my site to every search engine thinkabable, I revamped my meta tags with a meta program but I just done that last week, and I've been linking with other teen depression sites. I do not want to start spamming because it usualy brings the wrong audience in and they start registering under funky names like //root or ___
    ... *sigh* the site has been up since June 10th. The members I've gotton so far have come from me posting a link to my forum in a metal health board. but many members have stopped posting, to this day only 3 members have posted in the last month. Please help me, I don't know what else I could do. I'm a student so I don't have credit cards to be paying for large scale search engine promation.

Thanks for your time.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Depressed teens heh? you certainly have a big enough pool of possible members :P

The problem is always going to be even if someone finds your site there going to notice that not allot of active is going on and just leave without registering. You first should set up a team of "helpers" like sitepoint his it's team leaders, mentors and advisor's along with the admin staff. Get these members to work with you on this, Starting new posts offering links to pages that may help with certain problems, advice for common problems etc. Anything to get the forum active and looking like it is or otherwise no matter how many people coming to your site allot of them won't register. You want to maximize the chance of people signing up once they reach the site and there not going to do this on an empty board.