SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43 44.4824', W079 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Removing background in Flash

    I need someone to remove a white background in a flash project file. I can't do it as my Flash Demo expired and there is no wayaround extending it for 30 more days

  2. #2
    SitePoint Guru [Paul Ferrie]'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland, UK
    Posts
    853
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Post the fla
    .:To me AS is like LEGO, Only for the big Kids :.
    - Site - Blog - Glasgow Flasher
    bringmadeleinehome.com

  3. #3
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43 44.4824', W079 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Can I PM you the FLA ?

  4. #4
    SitePoint Guru [Paul Ferrie]'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland, UK
    Posts
    853
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yeah sure.
    .:To me AS is like LEGO, Only for the big Kids :.
    - Site - Blog - Glasgow Flasher
    bringmadeleinehome.com

  5. #5
    SitePoint Guru [Paul Ferrie]'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland, UK
    Posts
    853
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for the fla.

    You can't remove the background from within the flash IDE. What you need to do is set "wmode" to transparent in the embed code of the html page that will hold the swf.
    .:To me AS is like LEGO, Only for the big Kids :.
    - Site - Blog - Glasgow Flasher
    bringmadeleinehome.com

  6. #6
    dooby dooby doo silver trophybronze trophy
    spikeZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    13,807
    Mentioned
    158 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by SiberianHuskey View Post
    I need someone to remove a white background in a flash project file. I can't do it as my Flash Demo expired and there is no wayaround extending it for 30 more days
    Best way to extend it past the 30 day trial is to buy it. If you are using it for projects and commercial ventures then it is an investment.
    Its's not cheap but if you are doing it commercially then its worth recouping some of the costs by adding a small amount to the next X clients invoices.
    Mike Swiffin - Community Team Advisor
    Only a woman can read between the lines of a one word answer.....

  7. #7
    SitePoint Guru [Paul Ferrie]'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland, UK
    Posts
    853
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    All he needs to do is append the embed code in the html page. No need to worry about Flash IDE
    .:To me AS is like LEGO, Only for the big Kids :.
    - Site - Blog - Glasgow Flasher
    bringmadeleinehome.com

  8. #8
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43 44.4824', W079 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's still not working. I'm using SWF Object to drive the Flash File and here is the HTML;
    <object classid="clsid27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" width="320" height="230">
    <param name="movie" value="<path>" />
    <param name="wmode" value="transparent">
    <!--[if !IE]>-->
    <object type="application/x-shockwave-flash" data="<path>" width="320" height="260">
    <!--<![endif]-->
    <p>Alternative content</p>
    <!--[if !IE]>-->
    </object>
    <!--<![endif]-->
    </object>

  9. #9
    SitePoint Guru [Paul Ferrie]'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland, UK
    Posts
    853
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Can you post link to the page?
    .:To me AS is like LEGO, Only for the big Kids :.
    - Site - Blog - Glasgow Flasher
    bringmadeleinehome.com

  10. #10
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43 44.4824', W079 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    (link)

  11. #11
    SitePoint Guru [Paul Ferrie]'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland, UK
    Posts
    853
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It does work in IE. I would suggest using a different method for embedding. Have a look at swfObject
    .:To me AS is like LEGO, Only for the big Kids :.
    - Site - Blog - Glasgow Flasher
    bringmadeleinehome.com

  12. #12
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43 44.4824', W079 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm using SWFObject.

  13. #13
    SitePoint Guru [Paul Ferrie]'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland, UK
    Posts
    853
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You may have included the swfobject.js file but I don't see anywhere on your page where it is being implemented.
    http://www.bobbyvandersluis.com/swfo...tor/index.html

    I am only seeing the div. I am not seeing where you register the swfObject.
    .:To me AS is like LEGO, Only for the big Kids :.
    - Site - Blog - Glasgow Flasher
    bringmadeleinehome.com

  14. #14
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43 44.4824', W079 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I got it solved. I had to place the wmode within the IE Condition as well for it to work in chrome,ff etc.

  15. #15
    SitePoint Guru [Paul Ferrie]'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland, UK
    Posts
    853
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by SiberianHuskey View Post
    I got it solved. I had to place the wmode within the IE Condition as well for it to work in chrome,ff etc.
    Ah nice one!
    .:To me AS is like LEGO, Only for the big Kids :.
    - Site - Blog - Glasgow Flasher
    bringmadeleinehome.com

  16. #16
    SitePoint Guru [Paul Ferrie]'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland, UK
    Posts
    853
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by smartwebcare View Post
    ya right best and easy-way to transparent flash background with ""wmode".
    I am happy you felt the need to post your own thoughts after all has been said and done.
    .:To me AS is like LEGO, Only for the big Kids :.
    - Site - Blog - Glasgow Flasher
    bringmadeleinehome.com


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •