SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 76
  1. #1
    Galactic Overlord gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    HAWK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,547
    Mentioned
    957 Post(s)
    Tagged
    14 Thread(s)

    Post Upgrade Bugs

    Please log any bugs that you are noticing since the upgrade in this thread. Please make sure you read the thread first to ensure that your bug hasn't already been logged here.

    The following are bugs that were noted in the Forum Upgrade thread.

    Quote Originally Posted by AussieJohn View Post
    Oh noes!! the code highlight menu is gone! Now I have to remember BBCode syntax.
    We are in the process of writing a plugin to rectify this. In the mean time, you can manually use the BBCode tag [HIGHLIGHT="somelanguage"]

    Quote Originally Posted by BLZ View Post
    Off Topic:

    ****, that autosave is freaking awesome, although I can't say I got much love for the lack of
    OT formatting!
    Yup, the OT formatting is logged as a low priority change.

    Quote Originally Posted by TheRedDevil View Post
    Another thing I am missing, is the default forum landing page we had previously. I really loved the fact that you had "popular" topics that you guys selected and then shown there, and the left menu with all the forums.
    The "Featured Posts" plugin needs to be rewritten and is high on the priority list.

    Quote Originally Posted by Mojo5 View Post
    when before the tree menu on the left was a quick couple of clicks at most to get where I want.
    The left menu tree was a plugin that needs to be rewritten and is top of the priority list.

    Quote Originally Posted by Stormrider View Post
    Oh, and the favicon hasn't changed still...
    Really? I can see it. Can you confirm that after a hard refresh you still don't have it?

    Quote Originally Posted by siteguru View Post
    ...word-wrap in the quick reply box!
    Yeah, that is a weird one and is logged to be fixed.

    Quote Originally Posted by Salathe View Post
    Just a couple of minor issues:
    Can we have underlines back on links please?
    And "mark this forum read" working?
    And some clear differentiation between threads with new replies, and those without?
    The jury is still out on the underlines, "Mark Forum Read" seems to be working and yes to the last one, it is logged.

    Quote Originally Posted by Stevie D View Post
    ...it's too wide. It doesn't fit on a 1024px screen
    Agreed. I'm not sure that 100% is the answer, but we do need to do something about this.

    Quote Originally Posted by slayerment View Post
    Holy cow you people complain a lot. Do none of you people run sites or what? There are always problems with upgrades and always things that are different. Who cares. Move on.
    I am in love with you.

  2. #2
    Non-Member bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Keene, NH
    Posts
    3,760
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    In the past hour I've seen two 500 errors, six 502's and a 503.

    Unless you're doing something funky on the servers right now, as I suspected the problem is NOT the version of forum software, but somewhere between your servers and the pipe into the data center!

    ESPECIALLY the 502's. Bad Gateway is pretty self explanatory and has jack to do with what version of a forums you are running.

  3. #3
    Non-Member bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Keene, NH
    Posts
    3,760
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by HAWK View Post
    Agreed. I'm not sure that 100% is the answer, but we do need to do something about this.
    Max-width in EM maybe?

    I'm probably adding that to the user.css I made, along with putting underlines back in.

    This might sound like a stupid question, but does vBull still offer multiple skins? Could have one skin for people who want underlines and one for those who don't.

  4. #4
    SQL Consultant gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    r937's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    39,270
    Mentioned
    60 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    the thin line separating the signature is way, way too faint to see
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL
    "giving out my real stuffs"

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard siteguru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,629
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sig line looks OK to me. What OS/browser are you using Rudy?
    Ian Anderson
    www.siteguru.co.uk

  6. #6
    SQL Consultant gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    r937's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    39,270
    Mentioned
    60 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    windows 2000, opera 11.51
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL
    "giving out my real stuffs"

  7. #7
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    458
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hawk,

    I would like to have the subscribed email work as before. With the new forum, my Outlook 2007 does not receive clickable links. I have noticed in the past, that Outlook seems to want a space or new-line at the end of a link.
    Each day is a learning experience.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard Stomme poes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    10,278
    Mentioned
    50 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    ^ 1px solid #ddd isn't very dark, for sure.

    Prolly should be added to Crusty's user.css. Which Crusty should prolly link to again here. It can fix a lot of problems people are having today until the SP devs get time to fix them.

  9. #9
    From space with love silver trophy
    SpacePhoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Poole, UK
    Posts
    5,032
    Mentioned
    103 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by CSU-Bill View Post
    Hawk,

    I would like to have the subscribed email work as before. With the new forum, my Outlook 2007 does not receive clickable links. I have noticed in the past, that Outlook seems to want a space or new-line at the end of a link.
    Are the links in the subscribed thread emails clickable for yourself when you view the emails via a webmail interface? When I view my subscribed threads (via yahoo's site) the links are clickable. Possibly something about them is triggering some security setting in Outlook 2007
    Community Team Advisor
    Forum Guidelines: Posting FAQ Signatures FAQ Self Promotion FAQ
    Help the Mods: What's Fluff? Report Fluff/Spam to a Moderator

  10. #10
    SitePoint Wizard Stomme poes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    10,278
    Mentioned
    50 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    SP: the other thread, AussieJohn answered the reason links get wrapped now. Which breaks them and makes them unclickable.

  11. #11
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    458
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The links do work in a web interface.

    The links (so far) have been single line and unbroken.

    We haven't changed any of the settings for our campus MS Outlook, so I still think there is something in the new forum that has changed from the old email notification.
    Each day is a learning experience.

  12. #12
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    365
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Hawk
    Quote Originally Posted by Salathe
    And some clear differentiation between threads with new replies, and those without?
    The jury is still out on the underlines, "Mark Forum Read" seems to be working and yes to the last one, it is logged.
    Hawk, it's great that you guys are working hard. I didn't realize this was just a basic template install and that you guys are working on it still. Just wondering about a few things:

    1) Salathe's quote above about the clear differentiation of read threads and unread threads. Visually, I really liked the old version with the text BIG and bold for the unread. Made it so I didn't have to squint or look at an image. Any plans to bring that back? If so, I hope it's not too subtle.

    2) Right now on several posts, especially those with one line, there is considerable white space below the sentence/paragraph, which makes for difficult readability. I can upload an image if you want to show what I mean. I actually uploaded one in Deathshadow's user.css thread.

    3) Wondering if you can style the Submit Reply and Preview Post buttons to make them either bigger or more noticeable in some other way. I keep scrolling past them looking for them.

  13. #13
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    365
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    BTW, not sure if #1 or #3 qualify as bugs, but enhancements. I just thought they would be appropriate here.

  14. #14
    Galactic Overlord gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    HAWK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,547
    Mentioned
    957 Post(s)
    Tagged
    14 Thread(s)
    All bugs in the thread so far have been logged. Any enhancements will be considered once we've ironed out the bugs.

  15. #15
    I solve practical problems. bronze trophy
    Michael Morris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Knoxville TN
    Posts
    2,033
    Mentioned
    65 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Previously read threads weren't in bold. Now all threads are in bold whether they've been read or not. I don't know if this is a conscious design choice or a bug, but I'd prefer if only unread posts where in bold.

  16. #16
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,203
    Mentioned
    456 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Michael Morris View Post
    Previously read threads weren't in bold. Now all threads are in bold whether they've been read or not. I don't know if this is a conscious design choice or a bug, but I'd prefer if only unread posts where in bold.
    Yes, it makes things a little harder, but there is a way of telling what's what. Each post title has an envelope icon to the left. A red one means there's at least one post there you haven't read, while a gray one means there are no new posts in there.

    This is not as good (usability-wise) as the bold and non-bold titles, but at least there is some indication of what you are asking about.

  17. #17
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    6,227
    Mentioned
    265 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ralph.m View Post
    Yes, it makes things a little harder, but there is a way of telling what's what. Each post title has an envelope icon to the left. A red one means there's at least one post there you haven't read, while a gray one means there are no new posts in there.
    Oh, if only! Am I alone in finding threads marked unread when in fact I read the most recent post several hours ago? I used to have a double-check for this - the wee message telling me when I last visited, so at least then I could judge which posts had come in since my last visit. Unfortunately, that seems to have got lost in transit.

  18. #18
    Non-Member bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Keene, NH
    Posts
    3,760
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Here's a giant bug I'm surprised nobody's mentioned...

    If you have more than one CODE block in a post now, they're completely screwed up.... Everything before the last quote is deleted, and the content of that last CODE section is shown once not formatted, then once formatted...

    Hah, had to make the example in a separate post, because it was deleting the content in this one...

  19. #19
    Non-Member bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Keene, NH
    Posts
    3,760
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Take this for example:

    Code:
    Test1
    Code:
    Test2
    Code:
    Test3
    Code:
    Test4
    There should be four code blocks, with the text "take this for example" before it. (if you "reply with quote" you can see it's in there!) -- it's not even outputting the markup... Something is horribly screwy with whatever regex (I'm assuming it's a regex) is being used to build code blocks!

    At first I thought it was my user.css screwing up; but no... the markup isn't even there!

  20. #20
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    6,227
    Mentioned
    265 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    Don't know if this helps, but that came through in my e-mail notification as
    <div class="" style="font-family:monospace;"><pre style="font: normal normal 1em/1.2em monospace; margin:0; padding:0; background:none; vertical-align:top;">Test4</pre></div><div class="bbcode_container">
    <div class="bbcode_description">Code : </div>
    <div class="bbcode_code" style="height:3em;"><div class="" style="font-family:monospace;"><pre style="font: normal normal 1em/1.2em monospace; margin:0; padding:0; background:none; vertical-align:top;">Test4</pre></div></div>
    </div>
    There should be four code blocks, with the text "take this for example" before it...
    which also seems to be missing part of the message.

    I've made a post with two code blocks, both of which show OK, but that was the start of a thread. Perhaps it's in the reply where things go awry?

  21. #21
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Arkansas, USA
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    In the PHP forum, if I mark it as read, it marks the subforum 'PHP Application Design' as read but not that current forum.

    Also, for some reason, I just started a new thread in the PHP Application Design forum and it does not show up. When I go back to the PHP forum, it shows up as the last post in the subforum, but when I click to go to the 'PHP Application Design' forum, it's not there. The only way I can get my thread to show up for me is if I click Page 2 and then click on Page 1 to go back it will show up!

    And FYI, I am using Firefox 6.0.2 on Windows XP. I do not have my cache turned on at all.

  22. #22
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    6,227
    Mentioned
    265 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by deathshadow60 View Post
    In the past hour I've seen two 500 errors, six 502's and a 503.
    I've had about 6 or 8 503s since the update, and I didn't experience a single error before the update.

  23. #23
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    32
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm sorry but I hate this design and it gvies me a headache. Why in the **** is everyone going back to 1998? Target is the worst. Please at least have the option to allow us to use the old SitePoint design that was much more modern, graphically pleasing, and user friendly.

  24. #24
    Mouse catcher silver trophy Stevie D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,888
    Mentioned
    122 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by WebDesignGeek972 View Post
    I'm sorry but I hate this design and it gvies me a headache. Why in the **** is everyone going back to 1998? Target is the worst. Please at least have the option to allow us to use the old SitePoint design that was much more modern, graphically pleasing, and user friendly.
    Saying "I hate this" isn't helpful. It may be true, but it isn't helpful. And nor is it very polite, when you look at the huge amount of work that Hawk and the rest of the team behind-the-scenes have done to try to get this upgrade working as smoothly as possible.

    Sure, you may not like the visuals. But you'll need to be more specific about what you don't like. Any web design pro knows that the absolute very worst clients you can possibly have are the ones who say "I don't like it" without giving any clue as to what they don't like. Because unless you can say precisely what it is you don't like, there's no way for anyone to address the problem and make something that you do like.

    (I'm not saying that there will be a redesign that fits exactly what you want, but all constructive comments are taken on board when looking at what to do with the forums, so constructive comments are the only way there's any chance of getting what you want).

  25. #25
    Non-Member bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Keene, NH
    Posts
    3,760
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by TechnoBear View Post
    I've had about 6 or 8 503s since the update, and I didn't experience a single error before the update.
    Funny thing is I've not had one since I reported it :/

    If you have it again, (or anyone else has it) could you send a screenshot to Hawk? They're trying to figure out what's causing the 503 as there's several different sources it could be from. (Including a buggy little "speed up your site" gem called "varnish")


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •