SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 51 to 75 of 137

Thread: Forum Upgrade

  1. #51
    From Italy with love silver trophybronze trophy
    guido2004's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    9,509
    Mentioned
    163 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Stormrider View Post
    Oh, and the favicon hasn't changed still...
    It has for me. Or at least I'm still seeing the Sitepoint favicon. So one of us might have a cache problem.

    I like the new forum layout, even though it takes a bit of getting used to. I can't "see" things in a blink like I could with the old version, but I'm sure that's just a matter of time.

  2. #52
    Under Construction silver trophybronze trophy AussieJohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    776
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by HAWK View Post
    I'll be asking for your feedback shortly
    Rut roh.



    Quote Originally Posted by guido2004 View Post
    It has for me. Or at least I'm still seeing the Sitepoint favicon. So one of us might have a cache problem.
    I think to get the favicon changed one needs to clear both the cache *and* restart the browser.
    var details = {
    . . web: "afterlight.com.au",
    . . photos: "jvdl.id.au",
    . . psa: "usethelatestversion.com"
    }

  3. #53
    SitePoint Wizard siteguru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,631
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I still see the same favicon as from before the forum change. (Offset <> arrows in orange and blue, which look like a left-tilted S).No idea whether this is expected.

    And to echo a previous post - wow, no word-wrap in the quick reply box!

    Autosave is cool though.
    Ian Anderson
    www.siteguru.co.uk

  4. #54
    Under Construction silver trophybronze trophy AussieJohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    776
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Mojo5 View Post
    Also, there seems to be some weird word-wrap thing going on with this text box
    Quote Originally Posted by siteguru View Post
    And to echo a previous post - wow, no word-wrap in the quick reply box!
    What browser are you guys using. Word-wrap seems to work fine in Chrome 14 for me.

    var details = {
    . . web: "afterlight.com.au",
    . . photos: "jvdl.id.au",
    . . psa: "usethelatestversion.com"
    }

  5. #55
    SQL Consultant gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    r937's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    39,341
    Mentioned
    63 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    logging in via opera, i get the "thanks for logging in" page, but then it dumps me back out as though i hadn't logged in at all -- i went around that circle three times before i realized i am a dope and it wasn't working
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL
    "giving out my real stuffs"

  6. #56
    SQL Consultant gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    r937's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    39,341
    Mentioned
    63 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    why are the avatars so huge?

    also, there is no faint line delineating the signatures, it will now be really difficult to spot the fake sigs...
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL
    "giving out my real stuffs"

  7. #57
    Non-Member bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Keene, NH
    Posts
    3,760
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Train wreck for accessibility, as expected loads even slower than the previous one and looks to chew 40% or so more bandwidth in a great times many more files -- whoever is responsible for the markup of the skin deserves a slap with a wet trout... that 'autosave' thing sending my machine into the 9th ring of hell in terms of sucking down CPU and connection time -- so much like digital point's being unusable after the upgrade...

    I'm probably done here. I've not seen a forum crapped on this bad since the last time I saw a UbbThreads installation.

    Somebody gimme a holler when you have a skin for it that doesn't get down on it's knees in front of the proverbial equine.


    -- edit --

    Wait, it's ALMOST usable if you disable javascript... still gonna need to write a whole new custom user.css to make the bloody page actually legible without having to dive for the zoom... though:

    * { font-size:100% !iimportant; line-height:150%! important; }

    is a good start. Still though, 172k of HTML on the forum index for 19k of plaintext is EXACTLY that ineptitude I was referring to when it comes to vBull 4's skins -- in particular the abuse of lists and content cloaking to show tabular data.

  8. #58
    Non-Member bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Keene, NH
    Posts
    3,760
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Wow, fixing the fonts REALLY breaks the IDIOTIC FIXED WIDTH nonsense. Can't believe you guys greenlighted THIS!

    Yeah, much like every other forum I used to frequent that upgraded to vBull 4, I'm done here. Have fun with your forum downgrade, slower pages and increased bandwidth use.

  9. #59
    SitePoint Wizard Stomme poes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    10,283
    Mentioned
    51 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Wait, it's ALMOST usable if you disable javascript...
    It's the only way I'd ever bother using a forum. Glad I don't have whatever this autosave thing is. My browser is slow enough as it is.

    still gonna need to write a whole new custom user.css to make the bloody page actually legible without having to dive for the zoom...
    http://stommepoes.nl/newvbull.png

    though:

    * { font-size:100% !iimportant; line-height:150%! important; }
    I'm going to give that a try. That might make things nicer on my end.

    *edit nope, the stylesheets here still just have too much specificity... I'd have to copy all these bbcode classes I think.

    The CSS sets most text to normal 13px Tahoma,Calibri,Verdana,Geneva,sans-serif;
    calibri is like one of the tiniest fonts EVAR tho luckily I don't have Windows 7 so I don't have that one. 13px Calibri is like 9px Arial. eeeek.

    ಠ_ಠ

  10. #60
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    38
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just one users opinion... site point has had some of the best forums around.

    The new forum is fairly slow for me, especially in typing. There is a noticeable delay, maybe caused by the autosave feature? (Can you turn it off?)

    I really, really miss the bar on the side that provided easy access to forums. Right now, I have to scroll quite a ways to get to the forums I visit.

  11. #61
    SitePoint Wizard Stomme poes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    10,283
    Mentioned
    51 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    also, there is no faint line delineating the signatures, it will now be really difficult to spot the fake sigs...
    I see one.

  12. #62
    SitePoint Wizard siteguru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,631
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by AussieJohn View Post


    What browser are you guys using. Word-wrap seems to work fine in Chrome 14 for me.

    Chrome 13 for Win XP is what I'm presently checking with. (And Chrome reports no updates). And to clarify - word-wrap in the published post is fine. I'm talking about word-wrap in the quick reply (textarea) box.

    @Rudy - I do see the signature delineating line. Login also works fine for me.
    Ian Anderson
    www.siteguru.co.uk

  13. #63
    @php.net Salathe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    1,397
    Mentioned
    65 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just a couple of minor issues:

    Can we have underlines back on links please?
    And "mark this forum read" working?
    And some clear differentiation between threads with new replies, and those without?
    Salathe
    Software Developer and PHP Manual Author.

  14. #64
    From space with love silver trophy
    SpacePhoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Poole, UK
    Posts
    5,077
    Mentioned
    103 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by r937 View Post
    why are the avatars so huge?
    Are you using your browser's zoom function? They are not huge with the browser zoom set to it's default setting.
    Community Team Advisor
    Forum Guidelines: Posting FAQ Signatures FAQ Self Promotion FAQ
    Help the Mods: What's Fluff? Report Fluff/Spam to a Moderator

  15. #65
    From space with love silver trophy
    SpacePhoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Poole, UK
    Posts
    5,077
    Mentioned
    103 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Salathe View Post
    Just a couple of minor issues:

    Can we have underlines back on links please?
    And "mark this forum read" working?
    And some clear differentiation between threads with new replies, and those without?
    Links in posts have an icon next to them.

    The way that unread posts are signified has changed, it now uses envelope icons to denote if you have read a thread or not. If you scroll down to the bottom you'll find the legend.

    The "Mark Forum Read" feature works for me, what browser are you using?
    Community Team Advisor
    Forum Guidelines: Posting FAQ Signatures FAQ Self Promotion FAQ
    Help the Mods: What's Fluff? Report Fluff/Spam to a Moderator

  16. #66
    @php.net Salathe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    1,397
    Mentioned
    65 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by SpacePhoenix View Post
    Links in posts have an icon next to them.
    Really? I don't see an icon. Also, why abandon the standard underlines? Related to my next comment, it's easier to scan blocks of text for established conventions than looking for a little icon.

    Quote Originally Posted by SpacePhoenix View Post
    The way that unread posts are signified has changed, it now uses envelope icons to denote if you have read a thread or not. If you scroll down to the bottom you'll find the legend.
    Would it hurt to also have the bold/normal text combo reapplied? My mind blocks out the icons in the left column when I'm looking at the thread titles.

    Quote Originally Posted by SpacePhoenix View Post
    The "Mark Forum Read" feature works for me, what browser are you using?
    Nothing happens when I click it. Using Chrome on both Windows and Ubuntu. The "Mark forums read" link works (but annoyingly redirects to the forum list page).
    Salathe
    Software Developer and PHP Manual Author.

  17. #67
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,676
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Unread posts - I'm not getting any 'red' icons for posts I've not read, they are all the grey 'Contains no unread posts'.

    Having bold links for unread stuff seems more logical IMO.

  18. #68
    SitePoint Wizard Stomme poes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    10,283
    Mentioned
    51 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    I don't see any icons either, but relying on images to give users usability information is a bad idea, has always been a bad idea. Go ahead and augment with an icon, if you don't think users mind more HTTP requests, but never ever rely on it.

    Similarly, links are relying on colour to denote a link.

    This is like, Nielsen 101 here. And icons I've only turned back on (meaning all the little images) in this browser because the silly alt text is long and there's no room for it, so it just stacks on top of other text.

    For the status button, why not "now online"? And "offline" and "invisible" and whatnot? The username comes right before. The verbosity is just horrid.

    On the old forums I've spent about half my time with images disabled partially because it seemed to increase loading speed and the servers were having problems, but the alt text there was an issue too. Some of the icons I had no idea what they meant (various colours of envelopes really don't intuitively tell me anything) but they had pretty good alt text so I like those (there have been new replies to this thread and the such). For some reason the orange-red envelope icon on reddit has always been very clear in its meaning (and images off it's "messages" though that text doesn't seem to highlight in any way when there are new ones?), but that may be because there are only two states, while these forums have many different states.

    I'm not too desperate on all this though. I am expecting most of these usability/accessibility issues to get fixed over time, since so far the developers haven't done anything except add SitePoint style to the default vBull4 stuff.
    So I expect text to stop overlapping, links to be underlined, hover/focus styles to be more obvious than they are now, and icons to be nothing more than the decoration they should be. If it takes some time, that's fine. I can wait.

  19. #69
    Mouse catcher silver trophy Stevie D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,892
    Mentioned
    123 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    First though - it looks good. Sure, it will take a little while to learn where everything is and have it become automatic like it was before, but that's just a case of getting used to the new design.

    Second thought - it's too wide. It doesn't fit on a 1024px screen (IE8). Sorry for being negative, but that isn't acceptable, we're supposed to be the good guys in web design, and if we're trying to advocate good practice on a site that doesn't fit onto such a common screen size, we're setting ourselves up for a whole lot of trouble. Not to mention that we're making it hard for people to use the site, and I'm finding it a pain already.

    Third thought - agree with Salathe that links show up as blue with no underline and no icon (again, in IE8), and that is unhelpful.

  20. #70
    SitePoint Wizard Stomme poes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    10,283
    Mentioned
    51 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    I just checked in Chrome just to see if it was a browser thing, the icons on links. Nothing.

    SpacePhoenix, what browser and settings are you using??

    Second question, is there a mobile version of the forums?

  21. #71
    SitePoint Guru bronze trophy TheRaptor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    710
    Mentioned
    40 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Stevie D View Post
    Second thought - it's too wide. It doesn't fit on a 1024px screen (IE8). Sorry for being negative, but that isn't acceptable, we're supposed to be the good guys in web design, and if we're trying to advocate good practice on a site that doesn't fit onto such a common screen size, we're setting ourselves up for a whole lot of trouble. Not to mention that we're making it hard for people to use the site, and I'm finding it a pain already.
    Yes! I agree with this.

    Can we go back to width: 100%; for the forums, please?

    EDIT: Also, can the bold style be removed from the thread link after it is read? Relying on images for this is, well as those above have said, not very usable.

  22. #72
    SitePoint Wizard Stomme poes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    10,283
    Mentioned
    51 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Question: does vBull4 have some kind of default class or something that's put on threads who've had an update since you last visited? Or was that a plugin that has to be built-in? The thing that made unread new threads bold and "read" stuff normal font-weight?

  23. #73
    SitePoint Guru bronze trophy TheRaptor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    710
    Mentioned
    40 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by TheRaptor View Post
    Can we go back to width: 100%; for the forums, please?
    Couldn't wait, so did it myself: full screen forums.

  24. #74
    From space with love silver trophy
    SpacePhoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Poole, UK
    Posts
    5,077
    Mentioned
    103 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Stomme poes View Post
    I just checked in Chrome just to see if it was a browser thing, the icons on links. Nothing.

    SpacePhoenix, what browser and settings are you using??
    My bad. The icon was being added by a GreaseMonkey script. I've had the script installed for so long that I'd forgot that the icon was not the standard for vBulletin
    Community Team Advisor
    Forum Guidelines: Posting FAQ Signatures FAQ Self Promotion FAQ
    Help the Mods: What's Fluff? Report Fluff/Spam to a Moderator

  25. #75
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy C. Ankerstjerne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    The Kingdom of Denmark
    Posts
    2,702
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    To all who is struggleing with width and font size
    Add this to your user-define style sheet. What the code does should be fairly self-explanatory. I didn't want to change much of the design itself, so I only changed font size and line height on the post contents. The commented section is if you prefer a maximum width for your text. Sorry for using another fixed font size, but this is hopefully just a quick fix until SitePoint improves the design. This will make it easier for staff to spot fake signatures, too

    Code css:
    #vbulletin_html {
     width: 100% ! important;
    }
     
    /*
    #vbulletin_html ol.posts {
     max-width: 800px ! important;
     margin: 0 auto ! important;
    }
    */
     
    #vbulletin_html .postrow .title, #vbulletin_html .postrow .content {
     font-size: 16px ! important;
     line-height: 150% ! important;
    }


    SitePoint
    First of all, I really like the feel of the new design. It's really slick and attractive, and I do think the visual feel is better than on the old design. Some of the features are also nice, such as the autosave (to me, at least, but then again, my computer runs Crysis on 'very high', so performance shouldn't be an issue). I have a few gripes, though:
    • First of all, the really bad one: html {width:1079px}. I mean, seriously? Use fixed width if you must, but did you really have to set the width to a seemingly arbitrary number, with the only apparent reason being to mock 1024x768 users?
    • Text size. I don't know if it's just the design, but it does seem smaller than before. As my CSS above shows, it wouldn't be that hard to fix this, at least for post contents.
    • The side bar and list of topics I'd written in with replies. I know this is a plug-in which isn't available yet, but I really, really miss it!


    I hope at least the two first issues is something you'll work out quickly. Thank you!
    Christian Ankerstjerne
    <p<strong<abbr/HTML/ 4 teh win</>
    <>In Soviet Russia, website codes you!


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •