SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    VoiceOver and Abbreviations (REP)

    Hello,
    I am trying to design a website that has the word REP in it, but for some reason VoiceOver with Safari on Mac OSX keeps reading it as "Representative."

    It reads properly in NVDA, JAWS and VoiceOver for iOS, however.

    I looked at the Safari HTML reference page and it suggested:
    <acronym title ="REP"> REP </acronym>
    or <abbr title ="REP"> REP </abbr>

    However no matter what I put in the title tag - it kept reading REP as Representative - even if I put in something like "Peach."

    REP - Representative was not even in the pronunciation dictionary in the VoiceOver preference dialog which is supposed to list all of the abbreviation translations.

    Does anybody have any idea on how I could get this just to read as "Rep" and not "Representative" in the VoiceOver/Safari on Mac configuration?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,097
    Mentioned
    448 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Hi nickc71. Welcome to SitePoint.

    That's very presumptuous on the part of VoiceOver. Seems quite silly.

    How is REP meant to be pronounced? As "rep" or "r-e-p"? If the latter, you could do something like this:

    Code:
    <span>R</span>EP
    Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | Web Design Tips | Free Contact Form

    Forum Usage: Tips on posting code samples, images and more

    Forrest Gump: "IE is like a box of chocolates: you never know what you're gonna get."

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Ralph! It would be preferable to have it pronounced "rep" but letter by letter will do and is much better too. I'll try your suggestion. Thanks again.

  4. #4
    om nom nom nom Stomme poes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    10,269
    Mentioned
    50 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Was VO doing this even with REP just sitting in plain text, no other tags?

    If so, I'd go ahead and call this a bug.

  5. #5
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,097
    Mentioned
    448 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Stomme poes View Post
    Was VO doing this even with REP just sitting in plain text, no other tags?
    Yes.
    Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | Web Design Tips | Free Contact Form

    Forum Usage: Tips on posting code samples, images and more

    Forrest Gump: "IE is like a box of chocolates: you never know what you're gonna get."

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ralph.m View Post
    Hi nickc71. Welcome to SitePoint.

    That's very presumptuous on the part of VoiceOver. Seems quite silly.

    How is REP meant to be pronounced? As "rep" or "r-e-p"? If the latter, you could do something like this:

    Code:
    <span>R</span>EP
    This worked perfect. Thanks Ralph!

  7. #7
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,097
    Mentioned
    448 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Great, glad it helped. But it seems to read it out as R-E-P (that is, as an initialism), but I couldn't find a way to get VO to read out 'rep', which seemed to be more what you wanted. Out of interest, what does REP stand for on your site?
    Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | Web Design Tips | Free Contact Form

    Forum Usage: Tips on posting code samples, images and more

    Forrest Gump: "IE is like a box of chocolates: you never know what you're gonna get."

  8. #8
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    R-E-P is perfect though... REP is just a political party label - all of the other three letter party labels read fine such as DEM, LIB, etc. as just three letter words - just REP came through as Representative for some reason on VoiceOver no matter what I did...

  9. #9
    om nom nom nom Stomme poes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    10,269
    Mentioned
    50 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Hm, so ideally you'd have VO correctly use the abbr tag to announce "Republican" and "Democrat" instead of "arr eee pee" and "dee eee em". Especially since the word "rep" is used in English quite regularly in place of the full "representative".

    "My reps in Congress..."

    So it likely should be that abbr tags or some other tag need to work consistently in VO, because you need at least once on the page the option to have "Rep" be read out as "Republican". For safety then, I'd have at least one introductory sentence using the full word "Republican" stating that from now on in the page "Rep" will be used instead.... however the user hears it from then on isn't so bad because they've been told clearly what you mean by "Rep".

    Terms & conditions documents do this all the time. "Long official legal name of company" henceforth known as the company...


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •