SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot west end lane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    London, U.K.
    Posts
    109
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Slider getting stuck only in Chrome

    Hi,

    Here is Mysite.

    Having an issue which so far I think is only affecting Chrome (have not tested IE yet, but FF and Safari seem fine). If anyone could confirm IE issues that would be appreciated.

    Basically the second slide gets stuck on first load. If you refresh or manually move the slider along it's then fine after. I've checked it loads of times - cleared cache - and it happens.

    I have the same slider running on the portfolio pages without any problems.

    I also have some other JS running on the portfolio page so wondering if that is causing an issue?

    The site is running on the latest version of Wordpress 3.2.1.

    The slider is the latest version of NIVO slider v 2.6.

    Here is the code for the page:

    homepage.php - Pastebin.com

    and the header:

    header.php - Pastebin.com


    Really would appreciate any help as this has the Wordpress guys stumped!


    Thankyou

    Rob

  2. #2
    Under Construction silver trophybronze trophy AussieJohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    776
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    First thing I'm noticing is a JS error from a different script (blogger.js):
    Code:
    document.getElementById("twitter_update_list") is null
    at line 9 - blogger.js:  document.getElementById('twitter_update_list').innerHTML = statusHTML;
    Not sure if this is what's causing your problem, I can't seem to replicate it here on Chrome (Win + Mac) or Firefox
    var details = {
    . . web: "afterlight.com.au",
    . . photos: "jvdl.id.au",
    . . psa: "usethelatestversion.com"
    }

  3. #3
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,118
    Mentioned
    448 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    I can confirm that behavior in Chrome (Mac), but I don't understand the error messages being thrown (pretty much what John showed).
    Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | Web Design Tips | Free Contact Form

    Forum Usage: Tips on posting code samples, images and more

    Forrest Gump: "IE is like a box of chocolates: you never know what you're gonna get."

  4. #4
    SitePoint Zealot west end lane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    London, U.K.
    Posts
    109
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks both for pointing out the error and that it is happening your side also.

    I thought maybe the error is thrown up from that script as I haven't tweeted yet. Just posted a tweet and the slider seems to be working fine right now

    Not sure if that has solved it (or why it should solve it for that matter). I'm also on Mac Ralph.


    Out of interest what do you use to check the Javascript?


    Cheers

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot west end lane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    London, U.K.
    Posts
    109
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ah, as I type and check it's still doing it...

  6. #6
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,118
    Mentioned
    448 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by west end lane View Post
    Out of interest what do you use to check the Javascript?
    There are developer tools for most browsers. You can either download the Firebug add-on for Firefox and also the Firefox developer tools (the best option, I find) or use the inbuilt developer tools in Chrome, Safari etc.
    Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | Web Design Tips | Free Contact Form

    Forum Usage: Tips on posting code samples, images and more

    Forrest Gump: "IE is like a box of chocolates: you never know what you're gonna get."

  7. #7
    SitePoint Zealot west end lane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    London, U.K.
    Posts
    109
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Ralph.


    Well, been having another stab at this and found the following out..

    When I type the full url into Chrome address bar, the page loads and the slider pauses on the second slide.

    But when I type just go 9 cretive into google search on Chrome and access the page through the search rank, the page loads and the slider works fine.

    As above I clear the cache before each test.

    I'm just not sure what this points to right now. Maybe the above info can highlight the problem to someone hopefully.

    Not sure if the problem is JS related or not now!

    Thanks

  8. #8
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,118
    Mentioned
    448 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Have you tried removing the twitter js? It's worth removing it to see if it's getting in the way, and if so, you could try something different.
    Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | Web Design Tips | Free Contact Form

    Forum Usage: Tips on posting code samples, images and more

    Forrest Gump: "IE is like a box of chocolates: you never know what you're gonna get."

  9. #9
    SitePoint Zealot west end lane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    London, U.K.
    Posts
    109
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sorry yes I tried removing the blogger.js script but no joy.

    Just tried another test where I typed in the url of another page within the site with the slider (portfolio/case1). Same thing happened with the second slide sticking. So it seems on first load the slider will act in the same way on any page.

    Tried removing the colour fade script in the header to see if that was conflicting but no change either.

  10. #10
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,118
    Mentioned
    448 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Chrome has some really great dev tools that could probably show you where the JS is getting stuck. Unfortunately, I'm not totally sure how to use them yet. But here's a great video I stumbled on just the other day:

    A Re-introduction to the Chrome Developer Tools Paul Irish
    Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | Web Design Tips | Free Contact Form

    Forum Usage: Tips on posting code samples, images and more

    Forrest Gump: "IE is like a box of chocolates: you never know what you're gonna get."


Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •