SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    60
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    See through logo and forms question

    I have two challenges I need help with.

    I have a client who wants his logo to be see through so that the clouds I have in the background show through the logo. This is probably something I have to do in Photoshop. The only thing I know to do is to bring in the background and make it part of the white surrounding the logo. This is made even more complicated because there is a drop shadow behind the logo lettering. See see the page I am talking about, go to

    http://www.northbaytechnologies.com/...onproducts.htm (Home page is fine because I have the logo on white.)

    The second question is regarding forms.

    The person I am designing for wants to have a catalog form. He doesn't want his customer to have to complete the item number themselves. He wants a different item numer to show up in each row. I know I can put the item number in the form field as a name and it will show up on the confirmation sheet, but how do I get it to show up on the form and have it show up on the confirmation page? All I have is a blank form box? If I delete the form box and just key in the item number, then that won't show up on the form at all. The only thing I can think of is to put it in a drop down menu and make the drop down menu box one line. That will look pretty ugly.


    Thanks

  2. #2
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    122
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    For your first question:

    And for your second, I dont really understand it but maybe you should put a hidden attribute in the form field. Then it can show up on the confirm page, but it wont on the form page.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by AndyXL; Sep 24, 2002 at 12:11.
    Andy: Always Morphin Dwarfs

  3. #3
    Sultan of Ping jofa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    SvÝ■jˇ­
    Posts
    4,080
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    1.
    I think .gif is a better format for the logo (not .jpg)
    Then just set the background color as the transparent color


    2.
    You can add a new row of form elements dynamically
    When the page is loaded, there's only one item, when the user clicks on the button, a new item is created
    Simple example:
    Code:
    <html>
      <head>
        <script language="javascript">
          var i = 1
          function addItem(frm)
          {
            i++;
            var tag = "<input type='text' id='txt"+i+ " name='txt"+i+ " value='"+i+"'>";
            var input = document.createElement(tag);
            frm.appendChild(input);
          }
        </script>
      </head>
      <body>
        <form>
          <input type="text" id="txt1" name="txt1" value="1">
          <input type="button" value="Add new item" onClick="addItem(this.form);">
        </form>
      </body>
    </html>
    Last edited by jofa; Sep 24, 2002 at 13:27.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Teena...please do not post the same question in multiple forums. That merely does you a disservice and confuses other users.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  5. #5
    Sultan of Ping jofa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    SvÝ■jˇ­
    Posts
    4,080
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    AndyXL: You missed the white areas inside "o" and "B"

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    60
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Transparent Logo Background

    Thanks Andy and Jofa for your help.

    I'm not sure how you created the transparent background for the logo since you really didn't explain. I know you saved as gif. It's probably done in layers but I have yet to figure it out. Would you mind giving me a quick run down on what you did? I'd like to be able repeat it.

    And why is gif a better format?

    Thanks

  7. #7
    SitePoint Evangelist S7even's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    481
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Gif is better in your case because you can't have transparency with jpeg.

    The easiest way is to start with a transparent background (optional), and when you are done with your image use the "Save for Web" with the "transparency" check box checked. Depending on each case you should try different settings at the "Save for Web" so you will not get any aliasing.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's called a transparent GIF or Gif89a. If you've got an image editor it should allow you to specify white aas transparent.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  9. #9
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    169
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    its you're gonna make it transparent and the image is gonna be over a clouds background i suggest removing the drop shadow so it doesnt look as if your logo has just been plonked on the page.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •