SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1,438
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question Paypal references ?

    For those of you that have people paying you via paypal, is there any way of there somehow being a unique reference on their paypal statements please? At the moment, they're seeing my personal name and not linking it to their work I'm doing for them and so they're cancelling it! Is there some way of there being on their paypal statement, something like 'website work on website.com' ?

    Any help much appreciated.

    Dez.

  2. #2
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    6,168
    Mentioned
    264 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    I'm guessing here, but are you using a PayPal personal account? If so, you might be able to solve your problem by setting up - or upgrading to - a business account. (PayPal allows you to have one of each.) I don't have a business account, so I'm not sure.

  3. #3
    Community Advisor silver trophy

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,551
    Mentioned
    40 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    I have a paypal business account, when I send paypal invoices I can set items, description, and an alphanumeric invoice number. Not sure how these appear when they land in a users paypal inbox though as I have only ever sent them rather than received.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1,438
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question

    Thanks eastcoast and technobear - it is a personal acct - are there any downsides to getting a business acct? More checks? More charges?

  5. #5
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    6,168
    Mentioned
    264 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    You can upgrade your personal account, or add a new account. PayPal web site says:
    You can have one Personal account and one Premier or Business account. However, each account must contain a unique email address and unique financial details.
    Eastcoast will be able to give you more information about the business account than I can. The only thing I can remember about it is that it requires you to register a telephone number which PayPal will display to your customers. <rant>If you happen to be disabled and can't use a phone - too bad. PayPal don't care two hoots about discrimination and will refuse you a business account. </rant> You can use a Premier account to receive business payments, but there are fewer options available.

  6. #6
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,173
    Mentioned
    454 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    I have a business account without a telephone number displayed. Anyhow, a business account is the way to go, and it's free. They just have to verify your bank account. PP takes a little % of each sale, but it's quite a handy service, anyhow. There are other services around for taking payments, though, so it's worth checking them out too. I use PayMate, which is nicer than PP, but I'm not sure how how widely available it is outside Australia.

  7. #7
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    6,168
    Mentioned
    264 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ralph.m View Post
    I have a business account without a telephone number displayed.
    That's interesting. When I tried to sign up, telephone number was a required field. I got in touch to explain that I don't have one, and their reply was that they had to display it so customers would be able to contact me. Apparently, my e-mail address and postal address were insufficient; they required a telephone as well and there was no way they would sign me up for a business account without one. After a couple of dozen e-mails, I eventually concluded I was banging my head against a brick wall and settled for a Premier account - which allows me to trade without a telephone number.

  8. #8
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,173
    Mentioned
    454 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Given that so many transactions are international, I've never even thought of using telephone numbers. I probably did give a phone number, but it never appears on anything so far as I'm aware. Anyway, I do get emails from customers, but have not had a phone call in the 5 years that I've had a PP bus. account.

  9. #9
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    6,168
    Mentioned
    264 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    Thank you. Armed with that information, I might have another go at the brick wall sometime...

  10. #10
    Community Advisor silver trophy

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,551
    Mentioned
    40 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    If you absolutely needed a phone number (don't recall either ever having needed mine for the pp business account) you can use something a service like voipfone to set up a uk geographic number that you can connect to a sip softphone for a couple bucks.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •