SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    281
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Newbie question: WAMP setup error

    Hi. I hope that this is the right place for this question. I've just installed WAMP so that I can try out a CMS for the first time, but it isn't working. If I click on phpmyadmin, I get an error message about MySQL that states:

    #2002 - The server is not responding (or the local MySQL server's socket is not correctly configured)

    I don't understand this. Nor do I have a clue about how to fix it or where to go for an explanation that would be at my level. I only know that whatever is wrong here is also stopping any CMS from being installed.

    The WAMP icon in the system tray appears to show that the services that it starts have indeed started. Is there some diagnostic page that I should look at (and give the results here)?

  2. #2
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    281
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Can no-one help with this?

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy chris.upjohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    2,189
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    From memory I believe this has to do with the windows hosts file located in C:/Windows/System 32/drivers/etc/

    You will need to make you open the file with a text editor running as an administrator, when you have it open add the following on a new line after the current contents of the file.

    127.0.0.1 localhost

    That should fix it.

    - Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    281
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for responding. I have just checked the file that you mentioned and it already has that entry at the end.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    357
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Is your MySQL server running? In xampp anyway it's a windows service that you can set to start when the computer boots, or start manually later on.
    Doug G
    =====
    "If you ain't the lead dog, the view is always the same - Anon

  6. #6
    From space with love silver trophy
    SpacePhoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Poole, UK
    Posts
    5,000
    Mentioned
    101 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    At the bottom right of the task bar, where some running apps have their icons, if you have got WAMP running there should be an icon there. Assuming it's running, left click on its icon and click "Start all services"
    Community Team Advisor
    Forum Guidelines: Posting FAQ Signatures FAQ Self Promotion FAQ
    Help the Mods: What's Fluff? Report Fluff/Spam to a Moderator

  7. #7
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    281
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    As I mentioned, the icon appears to indicate that all services were started (it's green). I tried stopping and restarting them as well, but no luck.

  8. #8
    From space with love silver trophy
    SpacePhoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Poole, UK
    Posts
    5,000
    Mentioned
    101 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Which version of WAMP are you using and what version of windows?
    Community Team Advisor
    Forum Guidelines: Posting FAQ Signatures FAQ Self Promotion FAQ
    Help the Mods: What's Fluff? Report Fluff/Spam to a Moderator

  9. #9
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    281
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Windows XP. I can't answer the first part of your question, though: there seemed only to be one version, I think. In the Start menu, it's just called WampServer.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy chris.upjohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    2,189
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    If you right click on the WAMP icon you will an about menu option, click that and it will tell you the version number. Try the the following just to ensure your MySQL server is running correctly.

    Left click the WAMP icon and from the MySQL menu click MySQL console and for the password just hit enter. If it passes to another screen then the server is running normally, next type \s which will return the status of the server. Check to ensure the port number it returns is the default 3306 port.

    To exit the command prompt simply type \q

  11. #11
    From space with love silver trophy
    SpacePhoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Poole, UK
    Posts
    5,000
    Mentioned
    101 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by adh32 View Post
    Windows XP. I can't answer the first part of your question, though: there seemed only to be one version, I think. In the Start menu, it's just called WampServer.
    There is at least 2 versions of WAMP that have been released, I'm using version 2. Is the version that your using called "WAMP5"? WAMP5 I believe can be thought of as version 1.
    Community Team Advisor
    Forum Guidelines: Posting FAQ Signatures FAQ Self Promotion FAQ
    Help the Mods: What's Fluff? Report Fluff/Spam to a Moderator

  12. #12
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    281
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There's a graphic on WAMP's menu that shows describes it as version 2.1. (It was only downloaded a few days ago, so it should be up to date in any case.)

    Sgt Legend: I just went through the menu option that you outlined, got a small black window up, pressed Enter... and the computer beeped (from the tower itself, I mean) and the black window immediately closed.

  13. #13
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy chris.upjohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    2,189
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    wow, never of the command prompt ever beeping before upon pressing enter. What i would recommend you try is uninstall WAMP completely including deleting the WAMP folder then restart your PC to ensure the services stop and re-install. If that doesn't work the next thing we can do is check what applications your running so we can ensure there are no conflicts.

    PS: Make sure to backup any data you need from your WAMP folder as it will be deleted when you uninstall it.

  14. #14
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    281
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    OK. I've gone through a thorough re-installation... Still not working, though.

    Thanks for your help so far, chaps.

  15. #15
    From space with love silver trophy
    SpacePhoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Poole, UK
    Posts
    5,000
    Mentioned
    101 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Before you installed WAMP had you previously installed an older version of WAMP or had separate installs of Apache, MySQL or PHP.
    Community Team Advisor
    Forum Guidelines: Posting FAQ Signatures FAQ Self Promotion FAQ
    Help the Mods: What's Fluff? Report Fluff/Spam to a Moderator

  16. #16
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    281
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    None at all.

  17. #17
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    357
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You may want to get familiar with the mysql command line programs. If you can connect from the cli mysql program but not from phpmyadmin, perhaps your problem is really in the phpmyadmin configuration somewhere and not with the mysql server itself.

    I am assuming wamp installs the cli mysql programs.
    Doug G
    =====
    "If you ain't the lead dog, the view is always the same - Anon

  18. #18
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    281
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Belatedly fixed after much head-scratching and total guesswork. I have to turn off the firewall whenever I want to run WAMP.

    Far from ideal, but at least it runs. Just need to work out how to use it now.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •