SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Can't load php4apache.dll

    I'm starting out using Kevin Yank's Book "Build your Own Datatbase" and having trouble with Apache server loading this dll. Getting a syntax error. Have checked the php.ini file and the httpd.conf for hours and all dots and commas seem in place.

    These lines are verbatim:
    LoadModule php4_module c:/php/sapi/php4apache.dll
    AddType application/x-httpd-php .php .php3 .phtml
    AddType application/x-httpd-php-source .phps

    Any ideas?
    Tom Leparskas

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,617
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Is PHP installed in c:\PHP? And what versions do you use?

  3. #3
    .NET inside archigamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Strongsville OH
    Posts
    1,534
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    also what version of apache are you using? if it is apche 2 it has to be set up a different way.
    Web Finesse Studios
    Professional, business oriented web hosting and development.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    it's all ablut version 2

    Dear archimager:

    you are correct it's version 2 that screwed me up.

    I changed the reference to "php4apache2.dll" and was on my way.

    Also, the book doesn't mention Windows "DNS" must be enabled - got that worked out.

    Set "Listen" to port 80 in httpd.cof.

    It's loaded and running now - thanks very much.

    charlieo

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just to say a big thanks. I also had this problem and reading through your replies has helped me get it sorted.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Angry i can't load that dll, and i'm using apache 1.3.27

    i too am following Kevin's book, and have been thru this process before and don't recall having this problem.

    (forced to reload everything due to clean install...*sigh*)

    i too have followed the instructions, editted the httpd.conf file and the php.ini file, but still apache will not open once i've editted the conf file. it has successfully run and i've seen the correct localhost page prior to editting the conf file.

    any ideas?

    Any help would be much appreciated...
    -Paul

  7. #7
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Thumbs up well, i think i got it to work...

    after carefully reading thru the php install.txt file, i followed a ton of their suggestions, and the last thing that did the trick was:

    Download the latest version of the Microsoft Data Access Components (MDAC)for your platform, especially Microsoft Windows 9x/NT4 users. MDAC is available at http://www.microsoft.com/data/ .http://www.microsoft.com/data/

    I'm using win98, in case that's what anyone else is using who runs across this problem.

    Hope this helps someone else. Like I said, I tried everything listed in the install file up to and including this last bit, so it may have been a combination of things.
    And although when installing the MDAC it doesn't say to close other apps, you might want to. I had plenty open when first attempting to install, and got plenty of errors. So I restarted and it reinstalled without a hiccup.

    For another thing, Kevin's book says to put files into the Windows/System32 directory - but if I'm right it doesn't distinguish between NT and 9x. According to the PHP install file, those using NT (and i assume those OS's built on the NT kernel) put files into the Windows/System32 directory, and those running 9x put files into the Windows/System directory. I basically put the required editted files in both directories just in case.

    If I've misstated anything here please correct me.
    -Paul


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •