SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    if ($zee == "Guru") { $zee--;}
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Karachi - Pakistan
    Posts
    1,134
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Need guidance for ROR Installaion (WAMP)

    Hello !

    I have a domestic server that has Windows 7 and AMP. (Apache, MySQL, PHP) already installed and working. Now, I want to learn and do some work in ROR. But I also want to keep the existing WAMP thing working.

    I googled and tried some tutorials to install ROR on WAMP, but it shows me some errors. Like:

    Ruby interpreter (CUI) 1.8.7.249 [i386-mswin32] has stopped working

    It seems that this is an issue with mySQL.

    My Question: is there any way to install ROR with some different database ? Because I do not want to downgrade my version of MySQL.

    Please guide.
    ZH

  2. #2
    if ($zee == "Guru") { $zee--;}
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Karachi - Pakistan
    Posts
    1,134
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Any one ?

  3. #3
    Avid Logophile silver trophy
    ParkinT's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    2,329
    Mentioned
    191 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    Rails can run with SQLite3.

    Check out the RubyOnRails.org site.

    When I was first introduced to Ruby on Rails I was using Windows and had it working. That was a few years ago and I no longer recall the details.

    You could always add a Linux Virtual Machine (VMWare) to your Windows client machine just for experimentation and learning.
    Don't be yourself. Be someone a little nicer. -Mignon McLaughlin, journalist and author (1913-1983)


    Git is for EVERYONE
    Literally, the best app for readers.
    Make Your P@ssw0rd Secure
    Leveraging SubDomains

  4. #4
    if ($zee == "Guru") { $zee--;}
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Karachi - Pakistan
    Posts
    1,134
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks !

    So apart from VMWear, there is no way I can have both installed and working ?

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    70
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by zeeshanhashmi View Post
    Thanks !

    So apart from VMWear, there is no way I can have both installed and working ?
    You can. You should probably look into running Ruby on Rails via IIS 7+ via FastCGI. That is the proper, supported way of doing it in windows. Just run your WAMP ( OR IIS ) on a different port.

  6. #6
    Made with a Mac! philm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Portsmouth, UK
    Posts
    735
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rails Installer will do it all for you, there's no need to even touch your WAMP install, it comes with SQLite3 as ParkinT mentioned...

    I used these only a few days ago, worked like a dream

  7. #7
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by philm View Post
    Rails Installer will do it all for you, there's no need to even touch your WAMP install, it comes with SQLite3 as ParkinT mentioned...

    I used these only a few days ago, worked like a dream
    YMMV but I found that set up painfully slow. Every bundle exec command would take up to 60 seconds making simple testing a chore. I just got turnkey rails going on windows on a VM and, although harder to initially set up, it already appears to run much faster.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •