SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    The land of nod
    Posts
    153
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Cannot get a Flash object to resize for IE & Safari....

    Hi all,

    Since my last thread on querying an issue with flash, Ive since changed the design, so the flash object is now 960px by 100px.

    The header/parent container where the flash object is placed in is 960px by 155px, now here`s the problem:

    Firefox and Opera render the flash object in its normal size that being 960px by 100px, but jump into safari or IE(9) and the flash object is still 960px in width BUT the height is 155px so its filling the whole height of the header or put it another way its parent container.... ??
    Ive double checked the <object> tag making sure the width and height have been set which they have to width="960" and height="100" , Ive tried changing these values, and they take affect in firefox and opera but again NOT in safari and IE(9).
    I also thought Id try setting the height from the CSS point of view, just on the off chance it might have an affect but it does not, so Im at aloose end with no other (in my eyes) possible get outs.....

    Any help greatly appreciated (the site is being worked offline @ the mo, so if the swf and html files are needed for better clarification then I can try uploading them)

  2. #2
    SitePoint Guru JoePrice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    673
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Are you sure you've changed all the dimensions? I'm pretty sure they're listed twice in the object code. I've hade the problem of my Flash movies not updating with regards to dimensions before, because i've accidentally overlooked the second set of width and height settings.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    The land of nod
    Posts
    153
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hey Joe,

    This is the exact code inserted into my HTML:

    <div id="flashContent">
    <object classid="clsid:d27cdb6e-ae6d-11cf-96b8-444553540000" width="960" height="100" id="header" align="middle">
    <param name="movie" value="header.swf" />
    <param name="quality" value="high" />
    <param name="bgcolor" value="#2d2d2a" />
    <param name="play" value="true" />
    <param name="loop" value="true" />
    <param name="wmode" value="window" />
    <param name="scale" value="showall" />
    <param name="menu" value="true" />
    <param name="devicefont" value="false" />
    <param name="salign" value="" />
    <param name="allowScriptAccess" value="sameDomain" />
    <!--[if !IE]>-->
    <object type="application/x-shockwave-flash" data="header.swf" width="960" height="100">
    <param name="movie" value="header" />
    <param name="quality" value="high" />
    <param name="bgcolor" value="#2d2d2a" />
    <param name="play" value="true" />
    <param name="loop" value="true" />
    <param name="wmode" value="window" />
    <param name="scale" value="showall" />
    <param name="menu" value="true" />
    <param name="devicefont" value="false" />
    <param name="salign" value="" />
    <param name="allowScriptAccess" value="sameDomain" />
    <!--<![endif]-->
    <a href="http://www.adobe.com/go/getflash">
    <img src="http://www.adobe.com/images/shared/download_buttons/get_flash_player.gif" alt="Get Adobe Flash player" />
    </a>
    <!--[if !IE]>-->
    </object>
    <!--<![endif]-->
    </object>
    </div>

  4. #4
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    The land of nod
    Posts
    153
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Second one is missing the .swf after the "header" wording....! lol I ll go try it now...

    Just tried that and it still doesnt work!

  5. #5
    SitePoint Guru JoePrice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    673
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    IE might be referring to the old version of your Flash movie.
    Try
    a) clearing the cache on IE, clearing all temp files - esp the flash files
    b) Try the code outside of the div

  6. #6
    SitePoint Guru JoePrice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    673
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    oh yeah, that'd probably do it :-)
    IE is more strict with the object code

  7. #7
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    The land of nod
    Posts
    153
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just removed all old files/cache etc closed the browser down and re-opened and its still knackered in IE and safari lol

    What I thought Id try is increasing the size of the parent container that being the actual header to 200px so it would look absolutley stupid, and guess what again in IE and safari ONLY, the flash object increased its own height to match that of the parent to 200px. Doesnt do it in Firefox or opera though.

    Hey joe (I nearly started singing the hendrix song then ), if you pm me, I can mail over the complete the folder so you can see the whole site with the flash object in action..... ?

  8. #8
    SitePoint Guru JoePrice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    673
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Try changing all elements of header to header.swf as you mentioned previously...
    so
    <object classid="clsid:d27cdb6e-ae6d-11cf-96b8-444553540000" width="960" height="100" id="header" align="middle">
    change the id to header.swf
    <param name="movie" value="header" />
    chang the value to header.swf as well

  9. #9
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    The land of nod
    Posts
    153
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Good work, its all ok across all browsers, just have the issue asI brought up in a previous post to do with the flash object "floating" then moving when scrolling up/down in Safari only - Ill go back to that post and try and get that issue fixed in there.

    Thanks once again for your help Joe

  10. #10
    SitePoint Guru JoePrice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    673
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Cool, glad it worked!


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •