SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 76 to 100 of 125
  1. #76
    Unobtrusively zen silver trophybronze trophy
    paul_wilkins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    14,702
    Mentioned
    101 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ravi951 View Post
    k here is the html link for phone no accepting 10 digits.....

    http://jsfiddle.net/ravi951/5rpYJ/1/

    from yhat code only i have taken this code.......
    It works when I enter in ten digits, such as 0391827367

    What are you entering that results in a bad result?
    Programming Group Advisor
    Reference: JavaScript, Quirksmode Validate: HTML Validation, JSLint
    Car is to Carpet as Java is to JavaScript

  2. #77
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Hyderabad,India.
    Posts
    327
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    since it is also the same code why it is not accepting for this one...i.e.
    login.html

  3. #78
    Unobtrusively zen silver trophybronze trophy
    paul_wilkins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    14,702
    Mentioned
    101 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ravi951 View Post
    since it is also the same code why it is not accepting for this one...i.e.
    login.html
    If it is the same code then it should work the same.
    Programming Group Advisor
    Reference: JavaScript, Quirksmode Validate: HTML Validation, JSLint
    Car is to Carpet as Java is to JavaScript

  4. #79
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Hyderabad,India.
    Posts
    327
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    k when i am giving a password to a field it should not display right but my code is displaying what i am giving in password field...
    what to do that......

  5. #80
    Unobtrusively zen silver trophybronze trophy
    paul_wilkins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    14,702
    Mentioned
    101 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ravi951 View Post
    k when i am giving a password to a field it should not display right but my code is displaying what i am giving in password field...
    what to do that......
    As stated earlier, the field needs to be specified as a password type of field, instead of a text field.
    Programming Group Advisor
    Reference: JavaScript, Quirksmode Validate: HTML Validation, JSLint
    Car is to Carpet as Java is to JavaScript

  6. #81
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Hyderabad,India.
    Posts
    327
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i given input type=password and it is working but the size of the text box
    has decreased even though i have not given size of the text box for any of the fields...
    why only password and retype password fields textbox size is decreased.....

  7. #82
    Unobtrusively zen silver trophybronze trophy
    paul_wilkins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    14,702
    Mentioned
    101 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ravi951 View Post
    i given input type=password and it is working but the size of the text box
    has decreased even though i have not given size of the text box for any of the fields...
    why only password and retype password fields textbox size is decreased.....
    Link?
    Programming Group Advisor
    Reference: JavaScript, Quirksmode Validate: HTML Validation, JSLint
    Car is to Carpet as Java is to JavaScript

  8. #83
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Hyderabad,India.
    Posts
    327
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    in the jsfiddle it is displaying correct length.below is the link
    http://jsfiddle.net/ravi951/jvKNa/4/

    but in internet explorer 8 i am getting that one i.e.. displaying password and retype passwords fields textbox size decreased.....

  9. #84
    Unobtrusively zen silver trophybronze trophy
    paul_wilkins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    14,702
    Mentioned
    101 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ravi951 View Post
    in the jsfiddle it is displaying correct length.below is the link
    http://jsfiddle.net/ravi951/jvKNa/4/

    but in internet explorer 8 i am getting that one i.e.. displaying password and retype passwords fields textbox size decreased.....
    That immediately sounds like it is a CSS compatibility problem with Internet Explorer. The people in the CSS forum have great experience with dealing with issues like that. Over here in the JavaScript forum when it comes to presentation problems on Internet Explorer, not so much.

    Have you tried using CSS to set a specific width for the form inputs?
    Programming Group Advisor
    Reference: JavaScript, Quirksmode Validate: HTML Validation, JSLint
    Car is to Carpet as Java is to JavaScript

  10. #85
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Hyderabad,India.
    Posts
    327
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thank you it helped me......

  11. #86
    Unobtrusively zen silver trophybronze trophy
    paul_wilkins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    14,702
    Mentioned
    101 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ravi951 View Post
    thank you it helped me......
    A report came in where you said:

    i have a doubt in a code using javascript which i have posted....
    What doubt are you having?
    Programming Group Advisor
    Reference: JavaScript, Quirksmode Validate: HTML Validation, JSLint
    Car is to Carpet as Java is to JavaScript

  12. #87
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Hyderabad,India.
    Posts
    327
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    whether is it possible to use jquery instead of javascript in the thread i have posted.it is working nice with javascript.
    but i want to reduce the no of lines so i want tu use jquery....
    how can i do it....

  13. #88
    Unobtrusively zen silver trophybronze trophy
    paul_wilkins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    14,702
    Mentioned
    101 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ravi951 View Post
    whether is it possible to use jquery instead of javascript in the thread i have posted.it is working nice with javascript.
    but i want to reduce the no of lines so i want tu use jquery....
    how can i do it....
    What you can do is to look through the jQuery documentation, and use its methods to replace as much of the JavaScript code as you can.

    Give it a try, and see what you come up with.
    Programming Group Advisor
    Reference: JavaScript, Quirksmode Validate: HTML Validation, JSLint
    Car is to Carpet as Java is to JavaScript

  14. #89
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Hyderabad,India.
    Posts
    327
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    can u tell me in brief how the structure should look like.
    whether instead of just using functions i need to replace with jquery or even the php code also should be replaced.......
    give me brief idea.i am new to jquery....

  15. #90
    Unobtrusively zen silver trophybronze trophy
    paul_wilkins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    14,702
    Mentioned
    101 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ravi951 View Post
    can u tell me in brief how the structure should look like.
    Structure can be worked on once you have some jQuery code to work with. You may find that jQuery doesn't provide enough of a benefit in your particular situation, or that plugins such as the jQuery validator can be put to use to reduce most of your code.

    The problem is, that jQuery is just a bunch of JavaScript functions, so it adds a large overhead on top of things, if you're worried about the amount of code being used.
    Programming Group Advisor
    Reference: JavaScript, Quirksmode Validate: HTML Validation, JSLint
    Car is to Carpet as Java is to JavaScript

  16. #91
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Hyderabad,India.
    Posts
    327
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    means in my "shoppingcart.php" i have function as

    function del(pid)
    {
    if(confirm('Do you really mean to delete this item'))
    {
    document.form1.pid.value=pid;
    document.form1.command.value='delete';
    document.form1.submit();
    }
    }
    which can be written in jquery as
    $('.pid').remove();

    is that so.
    what do u mean by plugins in jquery

  17. #92
    Unobtrusively zen silver trophybronze trophy
    paul_wilkins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    14,702
    Mentioned
    101 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ravi951 View Post
    means in my "shoppingcart.php" i have function as

    function del(pid)
    {
    if(confirm('Do you really mean to delete this item'))
    {
    document.form1.pid.value=pid;
    document.form1.command.value='delete';
    document.form1.submit();
    }
    }
    which can be written in jquery as
    $('.pid').remove();

    is that so.
    No, that's not so. The remove() method just removes the HTML element (and all its children) from the page.

    Quote Originally Posted by ravi951 View Post
    what do u mean by plugins in jquery
    jQuery's primary purpose is to make it easier to manipulate the DOM.

    Other people also create plugins that make it easier for you to manipulate other things too.
    Programming Group Advisor
    Reference: JavaScript, Quirksmode Validate: HTML Validation, JSLint
    Car is to Carpet as Java is to JavaScript

  18. #93
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Hyderabad,India.
    Posts
    327
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    but surely i am no where to use jquery plugins since i am an beginner.tell me whether which one is easy to use either php with javascript or php with jquery.
    because i was given a task of shopping cart example like adding items and deleting items....
    as i have posted the thread...

    tell me where can i find a simle shopping cart examples......

  19. #94
    Unobtrusively zen silver trophybronze trophy
    paul_wilkins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    14,702
    Mentioned
    101 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ravi951 View Post
    tell me where can i find a simle shopping cart examples......
    There's a plugin tag for that: Shopping Cart | jQuery Plugins
    Programming Group Advisor
    Reference: JavaScript, Quirksmode Validate: HTML Validation, JSLint
    Car is to Carpet as Java is to JavaScript

  20. #95
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Hyderabad,India.
    Posts
    327
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    since i am an beginner i cant understand the code they have written.
    i am using mysql database and i am storing the serial no of the item,name of the item,price of an item,description,and image of the item..
    have u checked the code i have posted it is in php and javascript...
    that is the simple one.
    i too need like that one using jquery......

  21. #96
    Unobtrusively zen silver trophybronze trophy
    paul_wilkins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    14,702
    Mentioned
    101 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ravi951 View Post
    i am using mysql database and i am storing the serial no of the item,name of the item,price of an item,description,and image of the item..
    have u checked the code i have posted it is in php and javascript...
    that is the simple one.
    i too need like that one using jquery......
    If you are going to use one of the shopping cart plugins, you will find it best to redesign according to the typically best-practice techniques that they use there.
    Programming Group Advisor
    Reference: JavaScript, Quirksmode Validate: HTML Validation, JSLint
    Car is to Carpet as Java is to JavaScript

  22. #97
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Hyderabad,India.
    Posts
    327
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    that is right.what u are telling is an advance stage.i need to first under stand the jquery first.
    can it be done using ajax also...
    have u seen the thread i have posted the shoping cart example in php..

  23. #98
    Unobtrusively zen silver trophybronze trophy
    paul_wilkins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    14,702
    Mentioned
    101 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ravi951 View Post
    that is right.what u are telling is an advance stage.i need to first under stand the jquery first.
    The whole point of jquery and their plugins is so that the code does not need to be understood by people, only the interface.
    Programming Group Advisor
    Reference: JavaScript, Quirksmode Validate: HTML Validation, JSLint
    Car is to Carpet as Java is to JavaScript

  24. #99
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Hyderabad,India.
    Posts
    327
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    but atleast the basics of jquery.the script i have posted using php can also be done using AJAX and CSS right......

  25. #100
    Unobtrusively zen silver trophybronze trophy
    paul_wilkins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    14,702
    Mentioned
    101 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ravi951 View Post
    but atleast the basics of jquery.the script i have posted using php can also be done using AJAX and CSS right......
    I'm not sure. I don't have the time to investigate such things right now.
    Programming Group Advisor
    Reference: JavaScript, Quirksmode Validate: HTML Validation, JSLint
    Car is to Carpet as Java is to JavaScript


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •