SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Need VPS help

  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast zelthost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    37
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Thumbs up Need VPS help

    Hello,

    I used a managed server. It was very expensive, so I went to a virtual server to make more profit. i bought a VPS and try to learn but I can't get it.

    Is there anyone who can help me learn how to use a dedicated server? If you have any tutorials please refer me.


    Thanks for your suggestions.
    Last edited by Shyflower; Jul 24, 2011 at 09:06. Reason: edited for clarity

  2. #2
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    27
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    try a2hosting.com, they have very user friendly VPS plans, and their interface is very easy to use, i am also using it and quite satisfied!

  3. #3
    Twitter: @TimIgoe silver trophy TimIgoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Blackpool, UK
    Posts
    1,056
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    howtoforge.com is full of guides on managing your own servers - how to set them up etc.

    Best way to learn, is to try and do somethign you want to

  4. #4
    Community Advisor silver trophy

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,514
    Mentioned
    37 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    One thing I'd recommend if you are struggling with command line operation, is to practice on a local virtual machine (e.g a vmware or virtualbox appliance) or a temporary practice vps (e.g amazon ec2 switched on for a couple hours) rather than your production server with live sites. That way no harm is done if you do something drastic and need to reimage.

  5. #5
    Twitter: @TimIgoe silver trophy TimIgoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Blackpool, UK
    Posts
    1,056
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Indeed, Installing Ubuntu / Centos in a Virtual PC is a good place to practice things

  6. #6
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    298
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Of course a bare-bones server will be harder to manipulate for the unexperienced. To remedy this, I'd recommend have a GUI over the server to literally make things easier to manage. Any OS (choose your poison) based off of Linux will work.

  7. #7
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    244
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by zelthost View Post
    Hello,

    I used a managed server. It was very expensive, so I went to a virtual server to make more profit. i bought a VPS and try to learn but I can't get it.
    Is there anyone who can help me learn how to use a dedicated server? If you have any tutorials please refer me.
    Thanks for your suggestions.
    Well, most webhost provides you with managed hosting as a part of their services at no extra cost. You can avoid playing with tech issues and wasting time if you go with managed hosting.
    You will learn server management as you work on your server with the help of your webhost. No shortcuts

  8. #8
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    150
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I agree with James-A. At this point of time, hand your VPS to the up-skilled technical people. You can learn after your VPS is setup.

    Spend your precious time to content your site and optimize your domain is more practical.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Addict dnordstrom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    337
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I would also—like the people before me—recommend you set up a virtual machine and experiment a bit if you're lacking a control panel to do your stuff. Well, really, I'd recommend doing it anyway since it will give you great experience and teach you a lot. You can start over from scratch whenever you want, download ready-to-go images with window managers or without, and so on.

    That's really all I can recommend for you right now. Read up, experiment on some throw-away VM and remember, always have fun.

    EDIT: Of course, it all depends on how much time you've got on your hands and how much interest you have. But it'll teach you a lot, that's for sure.
    Daniel Nordstrom. of. Nintera(ctive)
    -- Featured post: Part 2. Writing NI.JS JavaScript
    ----- Follow me on Twitter. Got project? Contact me.
    -------- SitePoint: Community Guidelines Be A Great Member

  10. #10
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    150
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    erm... no tutorial for VPS unless you go back to school or learn yourselves from the web.

    You can try to learn some simple and basic skills from your hosting providers. I think they are more than happy if you are willing to learn (it ease their manage burden ). If they are not, hm... change the provider
    Exabytes Network - The Hosting Provider since 2001
    Business Hosting Plan - Check out the lowest offer ever
    Dedicated Server - Free 25GB CDN for any sign-up

  11. #11
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    26
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I hope this will solve your issue. http://vpsbible.com/hosting/vps-virt...-vs-dedicated/
    Softaculous - Auto Installer for cPanel, Direct Admin
    Softaculous Virtualizor - The Next Generation VPS Panel
    Softaculous AMPPS - WAMP Stack with Perl and Python

  12. #12
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hey i just bought a burst.net vps and i need to know how to connect i tried remote desktop connection and it say this "remote desktop can't connect to the remote computer for one of these reason:
    1: remote access to server is not enabled
    2: The remote computer is turned off
    3: the remote computer is not available on the network

    Make sure the remote computer is turned on and connected to the network and the remote access is enabled"

    and i tried pushing vnc button on burst.net and it say it has a vncviewer.class error.
    i updated and re install java and tryed to contact them for 2 days now and no response someone please help

  13. #13
    SitePoint Wizard gate2vn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    1,053
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I guess no one can help you in this case. Burst manages their servers, not any other one. So, you will need to wait for their help.
    I assumed you chose Burst with their cheap offer. At that price, you can't expect premium support. Have to wait or move to a better vendor.

    Quote Originally Posted by invictusx View Post
    hey i just bought a burst.net vps and i need to know how to connect i tried remote desktop connection and it say this "remote desktop can't connect to the remote computer for one of these reason:
    1: remote access to server is not enabled
    2: The remote computer is turned off
    3: the remote computer is not available on the network

    Make sure the remote computer is turned on and connected to the network and the remote access is enabled"

    and i tried pushing vnc button on burst.net and it say it has a vncviewer.class error.
    i updated and re install java and tryed to contact them for 2 days now and no response someone please help
    Clustered CloudLinux Hosting | WordPress Hosting |
    Advanced Antispam | Managed Xen VPS
    in US West coast and Asia-Pacific datacenters
    Contact us now on Twitter @vietnap


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •