SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    77
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Angry Went from .html to .php, will doing redirect get me booted from SE's

    I've pretty much reformatted my site (right after I finally got great position on GOOGLE and other SE's AWWWWWWWWWWW). I wanted to know if I redirected my old links to the new ones, when the SE's spider, will they consider that spam???

    I hate myself for waiting so late, I should have done this earlier, but I was lazy and then they decided to spider and give me great position BEFORE I was done with my layout

  2. #2
    Serial Publisher silver trophy aspen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    East Lansing, MI USA
    Posts
    12,937
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    you shouldn't have a problem.

    You might want to consider search engine friendly URLs (see my sig) This removes the extension completely so that if you need to change backend technologies in the future the change is invisible to the end user.

    Additionally you could perhaps setup your php pages with .html extensions. If the change was simply one of

    http://www.yoursite.com/page2.html

    to

    http://www.yoursite.com/page2.php

    Finally one thing that will hurt is lost link popularity because people will be linking to the old URLs. try to get as many links updated as possible.

    You can also turn your HTML pages into php (meaning setup your server using .htaccess to parse .html pages as php) and add this line of code:

    <?
    header("Status: 302 Found");
    header("Location: http://new url of file");
    ?>
    Chris Beasley - I publish content and ecommerce sites.
    Featured Article: Free Comprehensive SEO Guide
    My Guide to Building a Successful Website
    My Blog|My Webmaster Forums

  3. #3
    Non-Member Jinx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    180
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Do you mean just changing the links? If you just change the links to the new correct ones then the SE's should just spider the new ones with no penalties to your site.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    77
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Not Exactly

    Originally posted by Jinx
    Do you mean just changing the links? If you just change the links to the new correct ones then the SE's should just spider the new ones with no penalties to your site.
    Until the next spider, most SE results are going to show my old links. At first, I went through CPanel and did redirects, and after some trouble with the speed of the redirections I just created a standard sitemap page on all the old .html pages to the news extensions.

    So with the sitemap, I will ensure myself from not having any penalties.

  5. #5
    Non-Member Jinx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    180
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ahh, I get what you're talking about. I can't really think of anything right off the top of my head to resolve that issue, but it's late. I'll get some sleep and might come up with something by tomarrow.

  6. #6
    Level 8 Chinese guy Archbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Somewhere in this vast universe
    Posts
    3,741
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You tried just editing .htacess ?

  7. #7
    SitePoint Zealot LunaC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    176
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you can use .htaccess to parse .html as .php, that's probably the best way to do it.

    On one of my sites the server didn't allow this and I needed to chang my pages from .html to .shtml.

    First I made sure all the links within my site were rewritten, then added:

    RedirectMatch (.*)\.html$ $1.shtml

    to my .htaccess file. I also tried to get as many sites that were linking to my inner pages to update the url as well.

    I don't know if it made any difference to the se's (I doubt it) but I did leave up the .html pages for a bit telling that they'd moved and their new address linked. (This may not be able to be done on a large site as I had to hand write each link )

    It took most SE's a while to catch up, but I haven't noticed any drop in ranking at all from this.

  8. #8
    Level 8 Chinese guy Archbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Somewhere in this vast universe
    Posts
    3,741
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You don't have to parse anything, just go to the .htaccess file and type in

    DirectoryIndex "index.php"

    And whoa, your default will be index.php instead of index.html .

    Yet again, Archbob is a genuis.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    77
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by LunaC
    I don't know if it made any difference to the se's (I doubt it) but I did leave up the .html pages for a bit telling that they'd moved and their new address linked. (This may not be able to be done on a large site as I had to hand write each link )

    It took most SE's a while to catch up, but I haven't noticed any drop in ranking at all from this.
    Awwww, thanks. I decided to leave my most visited .html pages up or ones that at least ranked well and then put the redirection reminder link on those pages.

    I should probably expect not to really see my results show my new addressed until about November. That is fine though.

    THANKS EVERYBODY...


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •