SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Hosting Team Leader silver trophybronze trophy
    cpradio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    5,214
    Mentioned
    153 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Provider error '80004005' Unspecified error /asp/index.asp, line 94

    I receive the above error in my asp file for some unknown reason of which you may download in the link below. This page is meant for IE only and for the past 3 hours this unhelpful error keeps pestering me. Jumping from line 47 to 94 and back.

    Also, are there any good techniques for decrypting MS's crappy way of displaying their error messages?

    http://cpradio.net/asp.zip

    Thanks a bundle.
    -Matt

  2. #2
    Just Blow It bronze trophy
    DaveMaxwell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Mechanicsburg, PA
    Posts
    7,276
    Mentioned
    119 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    An unspecified error is usually a problem server side, and may require rebooting, etc. Contact your host and tell them you are getting the unspecified error.
    Dave Maxwell - Manage Your Site Team Leader
    My favorite YouTube Video! | Star Wars, Dr Suess Style
    Learn how to be ready for The Forums' Move to Discourse

  3. #3
    \m/ R.I.P. Dimebag! \m/ JimBolla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    erie, pa
    Posts
    1,130
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    it could be a myriad of things: incorrect security settings, corrupted/outdated install of MDAC, corrupted MDB file... just to name a few off the top of my head.

    check out this link from MSDN for somewhat related information
    -- JIM BOLLA
    Wanna play Halo 2? My XBOX Live gamertag: crowdozer

  4. #4
    Hosting Team Leader silver trophybronze trophy
    cpradio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    5,214
    Mentioned
    153 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I run ASP locally and when I rebooted everything was working fine again Why is that??

    Is there anyway I can stop this from happening in the future, as I do not want to have to reboot 5 times a day!

  5. #5
    Just Blow It bronze trophy
    DaveMaxwell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Mechanicsburg, PA
    Posts
    7,276
    Mentioned
    119 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Follow the instructions in crowdozers post. It's probably a permission problem or a problem with MDAC like he said. The link should give you stuff to look for...
    Dave Maxwell - Manage Your Site Team Leader
    My favorite YouTube Video! | Star Wars, Dr Suess Style
    Learn how to be ready for The Forums' Move to Discourse

  6. #6
    Sultan of Ping jofa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    SvÝ■jˇ­
    Posts
    4,080
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Is database.mdb located in the same directory as the asp files?
    Isn't it a better idea to put the databases in a separate folder? Then you can set the special permissions needed (write etc) for this folder only

  7. #7
    Hosting Team Leader silver trophybronze trophy
    cpradio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    5,214
    Mentioned
    153 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I placed it there b/c it is only for local testing. I am not placing it online.

  8. #8
    The doctor is in... silver trophy MarcusJT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    London
    Posts
    3,509
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Does this problem only occur after you've been testing your scripts repeatedly over a period of time? If so, are you sure that you're closing all your Connection (and other) objects correctly?
    MarcusJT
    - former ASP web developer / former SPF "ASP Guru"
    - *very* old blog with some useful ASP code

    - Please think, Google, and search these forums before posting!

  9. #9
    Hosting Team Leader silver trophybronze trophy
    cpradio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    5,214
    Mentioned
    153 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It happens if I accidently have the database I am running via the script open when I hit refresh. I can see how that might pose a problem but shouldn't ASP handle it like VB does and just quit trying to access it and reset the status?

  10. #10
    The doctor is in... silver trophy MarcusJT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    London
    Posts
    3,509
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You mean open in Access? That's why!

    However, it's only a problem if you have are viewing the raw data table or are in design mode. (i.e. the DB can be open, just not in a data/structure-modifying state)
    MarcusJT
    - former ASP web developer / former SPF "ASP Guru"
    - *very* old blog with some useful ASP code

    - Please think, Google, and search these forums before posting!

  11. #11
    Hosting Team Leader silver trophybronze trophy
    cpradio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    5,214
    Mentioned
    153 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah, but why does that require a reboot to fix? In VB its just a matter of closing the Design View/Data View and then your all set to go.

  12. #12
    The doctor is in... silver trophy MarcusJT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    London
    Posts
    3,509
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    True, it shouldn't need a reboot, just close the open view.

    Have you checked all your ADO objects as I suggested?
    MarcusJT
    - former ASP web developer / former SPF "ASP Guru"
    - *very* old blog with some useful ASP code

    - Please think, Google, and search these forums before posting!

  13. #13
    Hosting Team Leader silver trophybronze trophy
    cpradio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    5,214
    Mentioned
    153 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yeah, I close them as soon as I am done with receiving the information, so I do not have any left open. Was there something more detailed I should check?

    All my Recordsets and Connections are closed so I have no idea why it requires a reboot.

  14. #14
    Sultan of Ping jofa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    SvÝ■jˇ­
    Posts
    4,080
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Why reboot? Isn't restarting IIS enough?

    net stop iisadmin
    net start w3svc

  15. #15
    Hosting Team Leader silver trophybronze trophy
    cpradio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    5,214
    Mentioned
    153 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have tried that too. It didn't have any effect

  16. #16
    Sultan of Ping jofa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    SvÝ■jˇ­
    Posts
    4,080
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Have you tried this one? http://www.aspfaqs.com/aspfaqs/ShowFAQ.asp?FAQID=115

    You can also try setting Connection.Mode = adModeReadWrite (before Connection.Open)

  17. #17
    SitePoint Enthusiast Utopia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    42
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    what code are you using for your provider.

    if its "blah blah...Microsoft Access Driver..blah blah"

    .....then change it, cos it only works when it feels like it in my experience. I have received that error after hours of successful operation in an ASP 3.0 app and neither rebooting nor restarting IIS fixed the problem, so in the end I changed the provider and it has never ever happened since.

    change it to "Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0".

    If you're already using that provider however, pass!



Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •