SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    SitePoint Guru phanie12.geo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    pompano beach, fl
    Posts
    665
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Cool Dreamweaver Flash Buttons

    I have made some Flash buttons and made them links. But now I want one to be an email link and another to be an anchor link to another spot on the page. How do I set up my Flash buttons to do this?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Drupaler bronze trophy greg.harvey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,258
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Same way as you would do any other links:

    Code:
    getURL ("mailto:you.email@yourdomain.com");
    getURL ("your_page.html#your_anchor");
    G

  3. #3
    SitePoint Guru phanie12.geo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    pompano beach, fl
    Posts
    665
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sorry, I must be dense. I am looking at the HTML and just don't see where the code you posted above would go.

  4. #4
    Drupaler bronze trophy greg.harvey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,258
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It goes in the Flash movie, not the HTML. You need to use the getURL function in Flash.

    G

  5. #5
    SitePoint Guru phanie12.geo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    pompano beach, fl
    Posts
    665
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    So this can't be easily done in DW?

    I do have Flash, but don't know it very well. If you don't mind, where would the "get URL" function be in Flash?

  6. #6
    Gone!
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Witty Location Parody
    Posts
    3,889
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by phanie12.geo
    So this can't be easily done in DW?

    I do have Flash, but don't know it very well. If you don't mind, where would the "get URL" function be in Flash?
    Ah so you didnt create the buttons in Flash but are using the Flash buttons DW provides?

    Well in that case its even easier, when you create the buttons, in the dialogue box you have a link box. In stead of typing a normal url or using the browse button, just insert the relevant link, either mailto or an anchor using similar methods that Greg showed:
    Code:
    mailto:you.email@yourdomain.com
    your_page.html#your_anchor
    That what you mean?

    Dan

  7. #7
    SitePoint Guru phanie12.geo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    pompano beach, fl
    Posts
    665
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, Dan. Thank you. I'll give it a go!

  8. #8
    SitePoint Guru phanie12.geo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    pompano beach, fl
    Posts
    665
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    OK, I go the email link to work fine, but I am about to go completely batty trying to get htis anchor link to work. I put "index.html#PRODUCTS" in for the link w/o the " marks for the Flash button and it still won't work.

  9. #9
    Drupaler bronze trophy greg.harvey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,258
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm sure this isn't it, but you have put your anchor into your HTML haven't you ..... ?

    G

  10. #10
    SitePoint Guru phanie12.geo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    pompano beach, fl
    Posts
    665
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, I did.

    I am going to go back and look at everything today with fresh eyes and make sure I haven't made a dumb mistake somewhere.

  11. #11
    SitePoint Guru phanie12.geo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    pompano beach, fl
    Posts
    665
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Why, oh, why can't I get this Flash button to work as an anchor link? Anybody have any idea what I could be doing wrong?

  12. #12
    SitePoint Addict Scud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    222
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    did you check the case? is it case sensitive on anchors?

  13. #13
    SitePoint Guru phanie12.geo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    pompano beach, fl
    Posts
    665
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    the case is the same.

  14. #14
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    13
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    On you index.html page did you put the following above the area that you want the link to be directed.

    <A NAME="Products">

  15. #15
    SitePoint Guru phanie12.geo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    pompano beach, fl
    Posts
    665
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    YEs, I did. I finally gave up and converted them into gifs. Oh well.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •