SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 51 to 75 of 103
  1. #51
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43 44.4824', W079 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Philip, I'm using this player for both videos and images, I was wondering if it was possible that If I created my own window in photoshop saved the slices as PNG and replaced the default look of the player for images and video although I'm not exactly sure what the dimensions would have to be etc.

  2. #52
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    483
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sorry not understanding the question. Can you explain with a lot more detail what you are trying to achieve and where. In particular what you are having difficulty with.

  3. #53
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43 44.4824', W079 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you preview a movie on that link I supplied, the visual appearance of the player, from the background, close button and maybe even the player controls I'd like to change graphically and replace.

  4. #54
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    483
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    These are components which I am not familiar but looking through the documentation what you wish to do is catered for - it might not be easy but it is catered for.

    There are three pages which influence the interface.

    The first is in you html code where you have

    Code HTML4Strict:
    <li><a class="video_link" title="Image A" name="" href="./site_construction_a.php_files/tour_video.png" rel="gallery">
    <img height="75" width="123" alt="truck" src="./site_construction_a.php_files/tour_video.png"></a></li>

    The <img> tag gives the initial image that appears on the page. You can replace with a image file which more closely reflects the content of the video.

    Fancybox is the pop up dialog into which the Flowplayer is placed. The ways in which fancybox can be tailored are described at Fancybox - Fancy lightbox alternative| API & Options.

    Tailoring of Flowplayer is described (or more actually is beginning to be explained) at Flowplayer - Flash Video Player for the Web. There are simple things you can do and much more complicated things.

    Hope that helps.

  5. #55
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43 44.4824', W079 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Fancybox is the pop up dialog into which the Flowplayer is placed. The ways in which fancybox can be tailored are described at Fancybox - Fancy lightbox alternative| API & Options.
    Hi, I can't remember if I had read this in the documentation or not. I understand that this adjusts how Fancybox overall functionality works, as in how fast the player moves onto the screen, video resize etc.

    Tailoring of Flowplayer is described (or more actually is beginning to be explained) at Flowplayer - Flash Video Player for the Web. There are simple things you can do and much more complicated things.
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but to adjust the physical make up of the player I'd have to purchase flowplayer ? There is no way to change the physical graphical display without buying flow player, I think someone told me this in another thread but I must have forgot.

  6. #56
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    483
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'd have to purchase flowplayer
    I'm not getting that impression. You can do a lot without purchasing what you cannot do is get rid of the flowplayer branding. $95 will do that for you.

  7. #57
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43 44.4824', W079 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Branding as in the text that appears on the player. I'm probably not following on how you change it currently the player has a black with white border, you're saying that can be changed, using the options on this page to replace with my own graphic I create. When you download the player each PNG image is sliced up, I don't understand ?

  8. #58
    SitePoint Wizard rguy84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Durham, NC
    Posts
    1,659
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You don't need jQuery at all.
    PHP Code:
    <?php 
      
    if(!isset($_POST['yourSubmitButton'])){?>
      <form action="site_construction_a.php" method="post">
      // form code here
      </form>
    <?php } else {
    // set vars, error check, send msg
    }?>
    Ryan B | My Blog | Twitter

  9. #59
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43 44.4824', W079 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    rGuy, I'm lost where this came in ?

  10. #60
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    483
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    rGuy, I'm lost where this came in ?
    This stems back to one of my original posts

    There are three techniques I can envisage

    1. Instead of the action being thank-you.html make it thank-you.php and return the same page with the thank you message in place of the form.

    2. Put the form within an <iframe> the html for the form would have to be in a separate url, contact-form.html (for example), and would be displayed in the iframe.

    3. Use javascript probably in the guise of jquery.

    The order indicates my preference and probably the order of difficultly. In your post you seem to be indicating the third route as your preferred on. What has influenced you in that decision?
    We have developed the third option. rGuy is with me and advocating the first.

  11. #61
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    483
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Branding as in the text that appears on the player. I'm probably not following on how you change it currently the player has a black with white border, you're saying that can be changed, using the options on this page to replace with my own graphic I create. When you download the player each PNG image is sliced up, I don't understand ?
    I'm getting confused can be break this down a bit and make references to parts of your page.

    http://www.thecreativesheep.ca/const...truction_a.php

    On the "Main (portfolio)" menu option you have an "Illustration & 3D stills" suboption which shows a series of images. You can click on one of those images and a fancybox dialog pops up with a flowplayer control embedded.

    How what are you wanting to do/see?

  12. #62
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43 44.4824', W079 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can click on one of those images and a fancybox dialog pops up with a flowplayer control embedded.
    Is is that fancybox dialog that I want to graphically change, can it be done?

  13. #63
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    483
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    In what way do you want to change it?

    Since the flowplayer occupies the majority of the display area are you sure it is the fancybox you want to change?

  14. #64
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43 44.4824', W079 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Since the flowplayer occupies the majority of the display area are you sure it is the fancybox you want to change?
    I'm leaning toward the fact that I can't change the visual make up of fancybox, only flow player ? I want to replace that black and white graphical player, maybe no the controls it self, so much as the look of it.

  15. #65
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    483
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can do things with fancybox. It's web pages don't seem to be available at the moment but see the google cached version at Fancybox - Fancy lightbox alternative

    This explains some of the features available.

    Page seem to have come back to life Fancybox - Fancy lightbox alternative

    What effect were you after?

  16. #66
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43 44.4824', W079 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I want to change the look of the player, this is a screen capture of the one on my page;


    Similar to the one on the fancybox page, the visual look of the player is what I want to change. From the background, to the title to the close buttons etc.

  17. #67
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    483
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The close button is given by the background style for div#fancy_close

    so if you have your own image define it in your styles

    Code CSS:
    div#fancy_close {
       background: url('images/myown_closebox.png') top left no-repeat;
    }

    the title is formatted by the style div#fancy_title div it current settings are

    Code CSS:
    div#fancy_title div {
        color: #FFF;
        font: bold 12px Arial;
        padding-bottom: 1.2px;
    }

    The rounded box that encloses the title is down by a number of styles

    Code CSS:
    td#fancy_title_left {
        height: 32px;
        width: 15px;
        background: transparent url('../images/fancy_title_left.png') repeat-x;
    }
     
    td#fancy_title_main {
        height: 32px;
        background: transparent url('../images/fancy_title_main.png') repeat-x;
    }
     
    td#fancy_title_right {
        height: 32px;
        width: 15px;
        background: transparent url('../images/fancy_title_right.png') repeat-x;
    }

    In addition there is an area around the flowpayer control which is style by

    Code CSS:
    div#fancy_inner {
        position: relative;
        width:100%;
        height:100%;
        border: none;
        background: #000;
    }

  18. #68
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43 44.4824', W079 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanx, no reason I couldn't find it when I searched for it.

  19. #69
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43 44.4824', W079 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm presently trying to find where it's getting the 100% height and width from, I found this within within one of the JS script files for example fancy_inner:

    Code JavaScript:
    html += '<div id="fancy_inner">';

    There is no HTML file that I have on my server, where is the height and width originating from ?

  20. #70
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    483
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There is a stylesheet jquery.fancybox.css which has

    Code CSS:
    div#fancy_inner {
        position: relative;
        width:100%;
        height:100%;
        border: 12px;
        background: #FF83FA;
    }

    Presumably that is the height and width you were looking for.

    The html is undoubtedly being created by the javascript routines for fancybox.

  21. #71
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43 44.4824', W079 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Philip, I checked the entire script code and creating a graphic at 100% width and height, doesn't help. If the javascript is creating the the routines shouldn't there be some part that tells me the width and height ? If I create a background graphic at 400x380 it won't be proportioned correctly !

  22. #72
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    483
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I believe that there are a lot of things that influence the height and width. A lot of resizing goes on based on the size of that is to be shown.

    First you have a place holder image which the user clicks to get the fancybox/ flowplayer popup. That image will have a height and width. The <img> tag in the html has a height attribute and a width attribute and the image despite its actual size is squeezed into that.

    When the fancybox dialog is presented its size is based on the actual size of the image. I think the fancybox and flowplayer will resize based on what is to be shown.

  23. #73
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43 44.4824', W079 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I believe that there are a lot of things that influence the height and width. A lot of resizing goes on based on the size of that is to be shown.

    First you have a place holder image which the user clicks to get the fancybox/ flowplayer popup. That image will have a height and width. The <img> tag in the html has a height attribute and a width attribute and the image despite its actual size is squeezed into that.
    That part I understand, like a thumbnail for the video/image. Is there any way to find out what dimensions the graphic would have to be in for it to work for the place holder image and for when it loads the place holder image ? Or is it so deep into the code, it's next to impossible ?

  24. #74
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    483
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't know what your computer setup is. I will assume Windows but what browser do you use? What software do you use to create and manipulate images?

    To start with your computer screen will have fixed dimension. For example 1024px by 768px is a common size and 800px by 600px is probably universally support. So think about images in relation to those sizes.

    If you are using Internet Explorer then you can right-click on an image and choose the properties command from the context menu that appears. The properties dialog presented gives the "Dimension" of that image.

    The image manipulation software will undoubtedly report the image size somewhere so that is also a good place to look.

  25. #75
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N43 44.4824', W079 13.9408
    Posts
    2,220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What size does fancybox use, I want to change the border on the player if I make it a fixed dimensions it may not work perfectly, that is what I'm concerned about. What size must I make the graphic for the player, 800x600 will be too big, 320x270 may be too small. The style sheet is 100% for width and height, but it's getting it's dimensions from somewhere, but where in the script ? I've looked and can't find this information.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •