SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 33
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1,436
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question How do you do a 301 redirect within a cms please ?

    Anyone know how you can implement a 301 redirect within a cms please?

  2. #2
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,171
    Mentioned
    454 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    It may depend on the CMS, although you could just do it via something like .htaccess. What CMS are you using, and why do you need to do this?

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1,436
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question

    just trying to do a redirect to satisfy Google. How do I find out what cms it is?? The clients already had it all setup when I came into it.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,

    Firstly, i need to know that which Cms you are using?.

  5. #5
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,171
    Mentioned
    454 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    A common way is to add a line like this for each redirect to a .htaccess file:

    Redirect 301 /folder/old-page.html /newfolder/new-page.html

    Are you familiar with .htaccess files? Normally there will already be one in the root folder of the site. If you view the source files online and choose to view hidden files, you'll see the .htaccess file. Open it, and add in such a line for each page redirect.

    You can also do them with PHP, but that might be a little less obvious, depending on how the CMS works.

    I wounder how you can really manage the site successfully without knowing what is powering it. Do you have a control panel login? Presumably there would be a logo etc. in there.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1,436
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question

    Repeated :
    Quote Originally Posted by Dez View Post
    just trying to do a redirect to satisfy Google. How do I find out what cms it is?? The clients already had it all setup when I came into it.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1,436
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ralph.m View Post
    A common way is to add a line like this for each redirect to a .htaccess file:

    Redirect 301 /folder/old-page.html /newfolder/new-page.html

    Are you familiar with .htaccess files? Normally there will already be one in the root folder of the site. If you view the source files online and choose to view hidden files, you'll see the .htaccess file. Open it, and add in such a line for each page redirect.

    You can also do them with PHP, but that might be a little less obvious, depending on how the CMS works.

    I wounder how you can really manage the site successfully without knowing what is powering it. Do you have a control panel login? Presumably there would be a logo etc. in there.
    I'm very familiar with using .HTaccess files, and can edit files on this new cms system, but can't seem to be able to find how to find the .HTaccess file there???

  8. #8
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,171
    Mentioned
    454 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Dez View Post
    can't seem to be able to find how to find the .HTaccess file there???
    You don't normally do this via the CMS anyway. Do you have some kind of web hosting control panel, like CPanel? There should be a way to log in to the server, set up email addresses etc, and there you will have some kind of file manager. Open that (choosing the option to show hidden files) and you should find it there. Or if it really doesn't exist, you can just create one.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1,436
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No control panel.

  10. #10
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,171
    Mentioned
    454 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Dez View Post
    The clients already had it all setup when I came into it.
    Whether or not you can do your redirects with what you've got, I personally would not touch the job without access to the files on the server. It's a basic requirement I'd insist on before agreeing to be involved with a site. You really need that kind of access. Surely you need to FTP things sometimes, for example, which means having the server log in details.

    And as I said, regarding what CMS it is, there must also be a CMS control panel, and that surely would indicate what CMS it was, unless perhaps it's something made up by the developer for the client and so doesn't have a name.

  11. #11
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1,436
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question

    Jobs already been taken on (I'll know what to ask for next time! and there's no control panel.

  12. #12
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,171
    Mentioned
    454 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    If there's no control panel, there's no CMS! A CMS is a system for managing content, so there must be a way to access that content. At the moment, it seems like you're saying: 1) there's no access to the server and 2) no access to the files or site content. You must have some kind of access … unless you are from the Harry Potter school of design, able to make changes with a magic wand.

  13. #13
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1,436
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question

    Then you obviously need a sight test, I never said I couldn't access the files, just the .HTaccess file!

    Quote Originally Posted by ralph.m View Post
    At the moment, it seems like you're saying: 1) there's no access to the server and 2) no access to the files or site content. You must have some kind of access

  14. #14
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,171
    Mentioned
    454 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Dez View Post
    Then you obviously need a sight test
    Indeed. So how do you access the files? Through some kind of code editor / ftp program? If you can view the files on the server through one of those, usually the .htaccess file will show up (if there is one). (Mind you, if you are doing this, then presumably you have server log in details, in which case you could use these to log in to the server, if you knew where the site was hosted, which should have a control panel of some kind. I find that's more reliable that editing online files through a desktop code editor.)

    I would say just upload a fresh .htaccess file, but the danger is that it could overwrite an important one that's already there, so probably safer not to do that. The original developer might have had a reason to use a .htaccess file.

    When I log into a site's control panel, I normally have to tick a box to "show hidden files" to view the .htaccess file.

  15. #15
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1,436
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question

    I just login to their website with my un and pw, then see the list of html files there, for me to amend where needed - there is nothing else visible.

  16. #16
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Vancouver BC Canada
    Posts
    2,030
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Dez View Post
    I just login to their website with my un and pw, then see the list of html files there, for me to amend where needed - there is nothing else visible.
    And that would be the control panel Ralph was talking about
    Andrew Wasson | www.lunadesign.org
    Principal / Internet Development

  17. #17
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1,436
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by awasson View Post
    And that would be the control panel Ralph was talking about
    There's no control panel there Try to read the posts

  18. #18
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Vancouver BC Canada
    Posts
    2,030
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Dez View Post
    There's no control panel there Try to read the posts
    Dez, I read the entire post... Whatever you logged into would be your control panel. It doesn't have to be CPanel, Plesk, or some other typical hosting panel but I think that's what ralph.m was asking. If I understand his questions, he was trying to find out how you are accessing the system; Control Panel Login, FTP, etc... so that he could assist you in accessing the .htaccess file.

    Also, lighten up when people are here to help you out

    On several occasions ralph.m tried to help you and suggested you login to a control panel or file manager to edit the .htaccess file to make the changes needed. Not once did you say thanks. Your responses were just short blasts about how you know about editing .HTaccess, that there was no control panel and then you suggestted that he have his vision tested. If you know about editing .htaccess files you would know that they aren't .HTaccess files and you would also know that you can always find the .htaccess file if you use an FTP browser on an OS that does not hide system files (even FireFTP with show hidden files turned on).
    Andrew Wasson | www.lunadesign.org
    Principal / Internet Development

  19. #19
    Community Advisor ULTiMATE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    2,160
    Mentioned
    46 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    As already mentioned, there's no need to be offensive when you're looking for help.

    As you've stated that your "non-control-panel" only shows a list of HTML files I'm going to assume that your control panel is bespoke and doesn't have any in-built settings for handling .htaccess files. I'm also going to assume after looking at your previous posts that you're running PHP; feel free to say otherwise.

    This site states the basics of what you need to do on my assumed knowledge. You'll need a way to access your files to see if you have a .htaccess file first (not using your control panel). HOWEVER, before you do any of this I would check with your host to see that what you wish to do is the right thing. More often than not your host will be more than happy to point you in the right direction if you fill in a support ticket.

  20. #20
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Vancouver BC Canada
    Posts
    2,030
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ULTiMATE View Post
    HOWEVER, before you do any of this I would check with your host to see that what you wish to do is the right thing. More often than not your host will be more than happy to point you in the right direction if you fill in a support ticket.
    Yup.... That is probably the best bit of advice anyone can pass on. I'm often in the hosts FAQ, Forum or Knowledgebase because pretty much anything I want to do has been requested in the past. Good call
    Andrew Wasson | www.lunadesign.org
    Principal / Internet Development

  21. #21
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1,436
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by awasson View Post
    And that would be the control panel Ralph was talking about
    Listen up guys, it's all really easy to understand - it was the roll eyes above that did it!! If anyones trying to genuinely help without the patronising stuff, then that's great

    Oh yeah, one other thing, if there's no control panel visible, that can usually only mean one thing, there's no control panel visible!!

  22. #22
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,171
    Mentioned
    454 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    OK, this is just getting into definitions now. We are trying to help, however it may appear.

    We are really trying to establish what avenues of access you have to the site. You've confirmed that you do have a username and password that you can use to log in. Once you've logged in, what you see can be called a control panel, but if you don't call it that, then that's fine. I would call it that, but it doesn't matter. A control panel (such as CPanel) is usually just that—a list of files and folders.

    I guess the main question now is what kind of access this gives you. I'm still not clear on what you are able to see by logging in like that. It almost sounds like you are looking at the raw files on the server, but it could be just a set of files that's isolated to the CMS. I'm still wondering how the clients and/or you update content on the site. Is there a place to type in raw text, or do you open files (such as .html) and enter content with HTML tags etc (that is, a pretty much static page)? I'm still not entirely convinced this is a CMS at all.

  23. #23
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1,436
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by ralph.m View Post
    OK, this is just getting into definitions now. We are trying to help, however it may appear.

    We are really trying to establish what avenues of access you have to the site. You've confirmed that you do have a username and password that you can use to log in. Once you've logged in, what you see can be called a control panel, but if you don't call it that, then that's fine. I would call it that, but it doesn't matter. A control panel (such as CPanel) is usually just that—a list of files and folders.

    I guess the main question now is what kind of access this gives you. I'm still not clear on what you are able to see by logging in like that. It almost sounds like you are looking at the raw files on the server, but it could be just a set of files that's isolated to the CMS. I'm still wondering how the clients and/or you update content on the site. Is there a place to type in raw text, or do you open files (such as .html) and enter content with HTML tags etc (that is, a pretty much static page)? I'm still not entirely convinced this is a CMS at all.
    Thanks and yep, definitions do differ, but Harry Potter and magic are never involved with it Good to get back to sensible chat

    When I log in, all I see is the actual html files (where I can edit and save them, so that the amendments are then live) - nothing else.

  24. #24
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,171
    Mentioned
    454 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Dez View Post
    When I log in, all I see is the actual html files (where I can edit and save them, so that the amendments are then live) - nothing else.
    OK, to be honest it doesn't sound like a CMS at all to me, but a static website. And it sounds like you are thus logging in directly to the web server (or whatever it is to be called). It's probably that you could use the username and password you have to connect with the hosting account via FTP, and thus do something like work on the site through a text editor like Dreamweaver and then upload to the web.

    When you log in, do you see any option to 'view hidden files'?

    I'm wondering if you were to connect to the site via FTP that you could then download the site's files and then see if there's a .htaccess file already there. I'm starting to expect that there isn't, so it might just be a case of creating one yourself.

    Alternatively, when you are logged in online, is there any facility to create new files? Perhaps you could just create a .htaccess file there.

  25. #25
    Community Advisor ULTiMATE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    2,160
    Mentioned
    46 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Dez View Post
    Listen up guys, it's all really easy to understand - it was the roll eyes above that did it!! If anyones trying to genuinely help without the patronising stuff, then that's great
    http://webmasters.stackexchange.com/

    If the help provided here isn't adequate for your needs then I suggest you look elsewhere. This is a great Q&A site for beginners and to save us all some time I highly recommend you ask there.

    What ralph.m states is likely correct, and should you post on the Webmaster StackExchange site I recommend you include the relevant information from here.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •