SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    116
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question $http_server_vars["redirect_query_string"]

    Asking also here to you top guys,

    the topic says it all ...

    I would like to know what this $HTTP_SERVER_VARS["REDIRECT_QUERY_STRING"] Global Var is ... and above all what it the new corresponding one in $_SERVER Superglobal variable ....

    I looked and looked but couldn't find it ...

    Has it been taken away ??




    Thanks,

    powergen

  2. #2
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    141
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    $HTTP_SERVER_VARS / $_SERVER is information that Apache (or whatever webserver you use) gives to PHP, so $HTTP_SERVER_VARS["REDIRECT_QUERY_STRING"] is a variable being set by your webserver, not PHP.

    btw, I have never heard of that one, are you sure you dont mean $HTTP_SERVER_VARS["QUERY_STRING"] ? :-)
    Web Hound
    $x='010000010110001101101001011001000101001001100101011010010110011101101110';
    for($i=0;$i<strlen($x);$i+=8)print(chr(bindec(substr($x,$i,8))));

  3. #3
    FreeBSD The Power to Serve silver trophy pippo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    4,514
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    AcidReign,
    I did a search at apache web site and found this:

    http://httpd.apache.org/dev/apidoc/d...mmon_vars.html

    That variable is mentioned, but no description of it.

    It could be interesting to find a good reference of those variables that apache set.


    pippo
    Mr Andrea
    Former Hosting Team Advisor
    Former Advisor of '03

  4. #4
    Happy Holidays !! Paul S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    1,287
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It stores the original Query string sent to Apache after a redirection. Mostly used with ErrorDocument (for instance the infamous 404 pages)

    Paul

  5. #5
    Talk to the /dev/null Theiggsta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    376
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Paul S
    It stores the original Query string sent to Apache after a redirection. Mostly used with ErrorDocument (for instance the infamous 404 pages)
    That and Proxies (Sometimes, but not often) as well.
    Aaron "Theiggsta" Kalin
    Pixel Martini
    Ruby and Rails Developer

  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    116
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks to all of you for your help !


  7. #7
    SitePoint Zealot Selatos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    144
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I dont enjoy having the 404 pages come up on my pages, I always get this horrible feeling and I have to check my cable modem, erase my temp internet files folder, defragment, and run a system scan. Is there any cure for that? I call it '404 syndrome' and it can be annoying when I am surfing and I misspell a domain.....

  8. #8
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    141
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    um ... AutoComplete, and a spell checker?
    Web Hound
    $x='010000010110001101101001011001000101001001100101011010010110011101101110';
    for($i=0;$i<strlen($x);$i+=8)print(chr(bindec(substr($x,$i,8))));

  9. #9
    SitePoint Zealot Selatos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    144
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    lol, I'm pretty sure that I was just joking, unless my body gets possessed and I have no memory of the hour long process of all those scans.

    What's autocomplete?

  10. #10
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    184
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    AutoComplete is a feature of IE that automatically finished the URL for you.. so if you type ama it might have amazon.com in the drop down menu.. then you just click down to select it and press enter to go to that URL. Its quite good. Also usefull if you have called your admin area URL a strange name so that other can't find it as easily!

    Edit: I was suprised you can fit All the good things in life into a sig now! Guess their isn't many

  11. #11
    SitePoint Zealot Selatos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    144
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah, I am too, but those are the only ones they had smilies for, so I had to just use them.

    Thanks for explaining autocomplete, I've never used that term for it though


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •