SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    230
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    IE Method - Spellcheck - Wysiwyg??

    I have a wysiwyg editor i've created using specific IE methods..

    I want to add a spellchecker button to this to. Any ideas? Is there an existing IE method to handle this?

  2. #2
    Web-coding NINJA! silver trophy beetle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    2,900
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Is your WYSIWYG editor javascript-based? Or something like PHP? If you are thinking you can do a spell-check with javascript, think again

    Cheers
    beetle a.k.a. Peter Bailey
    blogs: php | prophp | security | design | zen | software
    refs: dhtml | gecko | prototype | phpdocs | unicode | charsets
    tools: ide | ftp | regex | ffdev




  3. #3
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    230
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My WYS is js based, but I didn't plan to do my spellcheck w/ js.

    I'm looking for solutions along the line of ActiveXObjects, IE Methods, something of that nature, not a specific javascript solution for the spellcheck.

  4. #4
    Web-coding NINJA! silver trophy beetle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    2,900
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sorry, don't know of any
    beetle a.k.a. Peter Bailey
    blogs: php | prophp | security | design | zen | software
    refs: dhtml | gecko | prototype | phpdocs | unicode | charsets
    tools: ide | ftp | regex | ffdev




  5. #5
    Your Lord and Master, Foamy gold trophy Hierophant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Lancaster, Ca. USA
    Posts
    12,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you have IESPELL installed, you may be able to invoke it with Javascript. You would have to check their website and see if they make it available via scripting.
    Wayne Luke
    ------------


  6. #6
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    230
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks, but it looks like Ispell wouldn't do the trick because that require users to download it to their local machines.
    My wysiwyg is a richtext editor in a cms, and I don't want the users to have to download anything, just to be able to click on the nifty spellcheck button and off it goes...

  7. #7
    Web-coding NINJA! silver trophy beetle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    2,900
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Here's something

    JSpell
    beetle a.k.a. Peter Bailey
    blogs: php | prophp | security | design | zen | software
    refs: dhtml | gecko | prototype | phpdocs | unicode | charsets
    tools: ide | ftp | regex | ffdev





Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •