SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Thumbs down A Href 404 Error help. Noobie question. tx

    ampp ver 1.7.4 Newest version.
    Running vista in a localhost environment.
    404 error means file not found.

    I am working on an application. Everything is running fine. In that application, I am trying to create Term of Service web page.
    Going nuts and on how to write a href code to not have a 404 error
    Code:
    <li <?php echo $status; ?>> <a href="tos.html/">Term Service</a></li>
    ----
    Try various dir path but still error. Thus I decided to use above code. Ran it and I got the 404 error in Mozilla. But in the fox browser I notice the address bar content http://localhost/Fcms/tos.html/

    Code:
    <li <?php echo $status; ?>> <a href="http://localhost/fcms/tos.html/">Term Service</a></li>
    I try this base on seeing the firefox address bar content. Again, 404 error. Thus in c:/xampp/htdoc/fcms/ folder, I have tos file place there (window shows name: tos type: firefox document).
    ----

    Code:
    <li <?php echo $status; ?>> <a href="http://www.google.com/">Term Service</a></li>
    get sent to google to confirm code works.

    I know it is a rookie mistake of what to type for the a href=??? and appreciate your help. Tx in advance.

    PS: When to use tos.html and tos.htm in the a href coding? In unrelated project, I try html and htm and accepted the one that works. Wondering when to use htm for I always believe to be html. Insight appreciated.
    Can u please verify or provide the correct a href coding. I am going nuts for have to refresh applicate, refresh xampp, and
    uncertain if my code is right. Again, tx and appreciate your help.

    Edit: Tx ralph for your reply. Normally, I solve with trial and error. But this one requires login, code changing, clear application cache, clear browser cache, refresh xampp and enter the correct information.

    Curios, when do u use html and htm. In another html only coding, surprise it only accept .htm for file name and just wondering. tx

  2. #2
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,331
    Mentioned
    463 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Remove the final slash (shown in red below) and it should work:

    <li <?php echo $status; ?>> <a href="http://localhost/fcms/tos.html/">Term Service</a></li>

    If you use a final slash, the server thinks you are looking for a folder, not a file.

    Just stick to using .html.

  3. #3
    Robert Wellock silver trophybronze trophy xhtmlcoder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    A Maze of Twisty Little Passages
    Posts
    6,316
    Mentioned
    60 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Also it looks like the echo should be moved outside of the 'starting LI tag' because it will print something weird.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Tx Ralph and xhtmlcoder for lyour reply. Normally, I solve with trial and error. But this one requires login, code changing, clear application cache, clear browser cache, refresh xampp and enter the correct information permutation for me to go crazy.

    Still getting a wiping with the slash at end remove.

    Code:
    <li <?php echo $status; ?>> <a href="http://localhost/fcms/aboutus.html">About Us</a></li>
       
    $lang["antispam"] = "<a href='http://localhost/fcms/tos.html'>I agree to the Terms of Service..</a>"; // wrap Term & Condition with HTML link to  TOS
    In folder C:\xampp\htdocs\Fcms,
    I have files
    tos
    aboutus
    Type Firefox document



    Firefox address bar
    http://localhost/fcms/tos.html
    http://localhost/fcms/aboutus.html

    Firefox display with the above address bar
    Object not found!

    The requested URL was not found on this server. The link on the referring page seems to be wrong or outdated. Please inform the author of that page about the error.

    If you think this is a server error, please contact the webmaster.
    Error 404
    localhost
    07/03/2011 1:27:10 AM
    Apache/2.2.17 (Win32) mod_ssl/2.2.17 OpenSSL/0.9.8o PHP/5.3.4 mod_perl/2.0.4 Perl/v5.10.1
    b

    Please note. if I use "<a href='http://google.com/'>I agree to Terms of Service</a>", I am sent to google.com
    tx

    Will do clear application cache, clear fox browser cache, reinstall the plugin antispam with the tos, refresh xampp, then do a shutdown with vista to be on the safe side. Total clean to confirm no doublts. tx

  5. #5
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,331
    Mentioned
    463 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by scrtmtl View Post
    But this one requires login, code changing, clear application cache, clear browser cache, refresh xampp and enter the correct information permutation for me to go crazy.
    Once you're logged in you shouldn't have to keep doing that.

    Anyway, one thing I notice: you say your folder is at

    C:\xampp\htdocs\Fcms,

    yet you are pointing the browser to

    localhost/fcms/tos.html

    There may be a problem with that capital F. Not sure, but worth checking, anyway.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Tx ralph for your good eyesight and hopes it works. When all else fails and do not know what to do, I eliminate any possible old code. The application has plugin that can be install. Thus when I do code change and install in the application. I need to make sure all old code disappear. Vista was an overkill but my sos helpers will know there is no contamination. tx

    Will do the change now. Changing Fcms folder to fcms. Will put that one for experience. tx

    30 min rule does not allow prior thread edit and thus place here to reflect Fcms is now fcms. tx
    In folder C:\xampp\htdocs\fcms,
    I have files
    tos
    aboutus
    Type Firefox document

    Edit: Bummer, it did not work. tx

  7. #7
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Tx Ralph, problem resolved. Has something to do with the application wanting in there syntax. Still new to that ap to deduce. tx


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •