User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

creating an ecommerce site

I'm a novice freelance web designer and my first client has asked me to create and ecommerce site for her. I can create websites but I'm unsure about the process behind an ecommerce site. I've been reading on this forum that you need ecommerce software but is there any other way. What I mean is am I able to create the whole site myself if I'm able to teach myself php and mysql which I've started doing or will I need some kind of software for the site?

Thanks, any help would be appreciated

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by markleedsfc View Post
    I'm a novice freelance web designer and my first client has asked me to create and ecommerce site for her. I can create websites but I'm unsure about the process behind an ecommerce site. I've been reading on this forum that you need ecommerce software but is there any other way. What I mean is am I able to create the whole site myself if I'm able to teach myself php and mysql which I've started doing or will I need some kind of software for the site?

Hi Mark,

I'm sure there are others on this site with more technical info for you than I can offer, but ....

I am also a novice with minimal html/php/sql/etc skills & recently set up my own e-commerce site using Prestashop. After setting up one shop I feel pretty confident I could now set one up for others fairly easily.

Word of note: I was unaware when I began about the whole thing with PCI Compliance which was quite unexpected & I ultimately decided to stick with just Paypal for now, even though my brick&mortar partner has his own credit card processor for offline purchases.