SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    21
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Validating & Testing CSS

    If I validate my HTML and CSS and get no errors using doctype strict, can I assume my pages will work in the top 5 browsers? Or do I still need to test them?

  2. #2
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,111
    Mentioned
    448 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Personally, I would say never assume anything. Code validation doesn't = perfect rendering.
    Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | Web Design Tips | Free Contact Form

    Forum Usage: Tips on posting code samples, images and more

    Forrest Gump: "IE is like a box of chocolates: you never know what you're gonna get."

  3. #3
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    4727′35″N 2618′0″E
    Posts
    1,789
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That's wishful thinking.

    1. Validation doens't catch every aspect of how you can write bad mark up. You can have both validation and bad mark up in the same package.

    2. Since when did you get the idea that web dev was so simple? In fact, those top 5 browsers are the one messing up and force you to resort to CSS wizardry. And I'm not pointing the finger to IE alone. Each has its issues, and every new version resolve some and bring some with it.

    3. There is a 1-in-1 chance your CSS code will not be valid I know I live by that rule. There are errors, which you should fix, but there is "invalid" code you just need to get the job done.



    On a side note: define work.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    21
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Okay, any recommendations regarding browser testing software? I prefer to do it local as oppose to online. Anyone use SuperPreview? Any recommendations with comments would be greatly appreciated!

  5. #5
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    4727′35″N 2618′0″E
    Posts
    1,789
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well, installing those browsers is a good start.

    For IE, you could opt for a package like Utilu IE Collection or Multiple IE. Online browser shots services are valuable when you can't manage that.

  6. #6
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    4727′35″N 2618′0″E
    Posts
    1,789
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I was going to point you to another online service for browser shots, but at work I didn't have it bookmarked.

    So, here it is: http://ipinfo.info/netrenderer/index.php.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Addict AtSea webdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Newark, Delaware
    Posts
    283
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Adobe has BrowserLabs but js functionality doesn't work. Good for rendering purposes.

    For me I have multiple machines and platforms to cover all the bases. Personally I don't trust those 'emulators' Nothing beats the real thing.

    However if this isn't an option I've had decent results with BrowserLabs.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    21
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for everyone's feedback. I'm a one-man-band working on one computer so having the option of personally downloading all the browsers and various versions doesn't seem plausible to me. Besides, I really like the idea of easily flipping through different browsers and overlaying (onion skin?) different renderings.

    Browserlabs looks good since I work in Dreamweaver. I can't find where they list the price packages. How much is it?

    Another service I found that looks like it would be really good is Multi Browser Viewer. www.multibrowserviewer.com The cost is $140 a year.

    One concern I have is once I see that a certain browser/version is rendering my page badly is I have no idea how to fix it!! For example, I looked at a page using browsershots.org and the page looked good in all the browsers I selected except for MSIE 7. For some reason it was dropping the 1st column down about 800px. So now I know that there's a problem, but am unsure what to change in the code to fix it AND keep things the same in the other browsers that ARE working.

    How do you guys deal with these issues?

  9. #9
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    4727′35″N 2618′0″E
    Posts
    1,789
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hmmm... Let me think. Oh! Here's an idea:

    Quote Originally Posted by noonnope View Post
    Well, installing those browsers is a good start.

    For IE, you could opt for a package like Utilu IE Collection or Multiple IE. Online browser shots services are valuable when you can't manage that.


    I really don't see what possibly could prevent you from installing those browsers. Especially since you are a one man's band.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Addict AtSea webdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Newark, Delaware
    Posts
    283
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That's the issue with these emulators. They basically 'display' the layout, nothing more. And to answer your question browserlabs is free. Just need an Adobe ID.

    Another solution is buy a cheap laptop or old desktop and install the other browsers. That way you have a separate test machine ad it shouldn't cost you more than $200. You don't need anything fancy(big had drive, lots of RAM, etc.). Just a plain vanilla machine for testin.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •