SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 31

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Posts
    60
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hey folks,

    Trying to decide if I'm getting enough through put on my new cable modem.

    What is everyone seeing for average speed? Give it to me straight, no exagerating, please.

    Thanks.


  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard TWTCommish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA, USA
    Posts
    3,910
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    With a cable modem and a decent computer, you can download and view all those video clips you see on the Survivor website, ESPN, etc...not possible on a 56K modem.

    Pages don't seem to load too much faster, save for the long threads here on SitePoint.



    ------------------
    Chris Bowyer chris@mycoding.com
    MyCoding.com: Visit for Launch Notification!
    DomainMailings.com: Who Says All The Good Ones Are Taken?
    MovieForums.com: Talk About Your Favorite Flicks!

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Posts
    60
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ya, but what's that translate to in computrons?

    I'm seeing 300kbps -ish.....is that about average, or is that on the slow side?

    [This message has been edited by joseph jaminet (edited August 24, 2000).]

  4. #4
    Fluffy Kitten Programmer~ Elledan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,356
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Cable can go pretty fast: I'm downloading large files with about 56-70 kb/s with sometimes a fast one with 100-150 kb/s.

    The average speed for me is about 10-25 kb/s

    I'm with Sonera BTW and they're not the fastest here.

    Freesources claims that he can make 650 kb/s easily

    ------------------
    Elledan Dunedain
    http://emudreams.come.to
    TriAxis (Almost Beta stage!)
    Everyone has a destiny in life. Some just never reach it

  5. #5
    Matt Mickiewicz
    SitePoint Community Guest
    40-100 kbps is normal for us in the office.

    ------------------
    Matt Mickiewicz - Co-Founder/Administrator
    http://www.SitePoint.com - Resources to Build and Grow Your Site!
    matt@sitepoint.com

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Posts
    60
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok, can you guys do me a favor and run the bandwidth test at:
    http://webservices.cnet.com/bandwidth/

    and let me know what you get? According to this, 300kbps is only high ISDN / low DSL range. Thanks!

    [This message has been edited by joseph jaminet (edited August 24, 2000).]

  7. #7
    Irritability Defined
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    80,000 feet below the surface
    Posts
    1,442
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm on cable (probably same as Matt/Mark/the other guys at the office - Bigpond Cable guys? ), and I get around 221 Kbps on that test, which is standard for over here.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Guru CJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Mechelen, Belgium, Europe
    Posts
    684
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    MMM... I knew my Cable provider is one of the fastest in the world.... I get 560kbs (and more, this is just an average) out of my cable modem.

    I always got high speeds... On my regular 56kb I got 6kbs average which is pretty good. I changed some things in the register. Maybe that was what caused it...

    I pay 37$/month for unlimited cable access. The limit is 8 gigs/week. Uploading speed is restricted to 20kbs to prevent ppl from making webservers with their basic service.

    Their website is: http://www.pandora.be and http://www.telenet.be but both sites are in DUTCH...

    Christophe

  9. #9
    Fluffy Kitten Programmer~ Elledan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,356
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Talking

    I've got 316.3 kbps... Not bad...
    www.nyanko.ws - My web-, software- and game development company.
    www.mayaposch.com - My personal site and blog.

  10. #10
    Fluffy Kitten Programmer~ Elledan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,356
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    LOL... I tested a second time and now I've got 877.4 kbps
    www.nyanko.ws - My web-, software- and game development company.
    www.mayaposch.com - My personal site and blog.

  11. #11
    SitePoint Guru CJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Mechelen, Belgium, Europe
    Posts
    684
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The only way you can test your connection is downlaod a quite big file (10 megs) and measure how long it takes to download. None online can *really* test your connection because this is also influenced by their own servers and connections etc etc.

    Christophe

    ps: where'd you tested the bandwidth elledan?

  12. #12
    SitePoint Wizard TWTCommish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA, USA
    Posts
    3,910
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well, CNET tells me I have 709.6 - not too bad...but not "cable modem" level...I suppose too many people are using this line right now.


  13. #13
    Sports Publisher mjames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    5,891
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Arrow Unlucky Me

    Anyone have to actually DOWNGRADE from high speed access? I had a sweet cable modem in Ohio, but then I had to move out her to Jersey and cable, DSL, you name it, isn't available yet. Here I am on a crappy dial-up.

    Anyway, though, I like Excite@Home and Road Runner for cable providors.

  14. #14
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Lightbulb

    Woo! Ohio! It rocks here. :-)

    I can get as high as 1.2MB, or as low as 220.4k/sec. The 220.4 was -before- I started downloading, though..

  15. #15
    SitePoint Guru prequel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    682
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    well here in Australia i am getting cable installed on Monday afternoon ... waited 2 months for the installation should get 512kbit/s download stream and 128kbit/s upstream

  16. #16
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    1,390
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Woohoo. I have a 13.6kbps connection.

    I took it again, and got 11.2kbps.

    According to the windows blinking modem thingy, I am connected at 26.4.

  17. #17
    Nice Mug jer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    328
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Holy crap! I better stop complaining about my connection.. I'm totally shocked at this (I ran the bandwidth test that joseph provided)

    The results? A whopping 1632 kbps

    I don't know how accurate that is, and I'll run another test later tonight to see if it changes.

    btw - I use Rogers @home and I'm in Ontario Canada. Just so you know..

    -Chuck
    Jeremy Watts :: Co-Founder
    Modevia Web Services :: Experience the Difference.

  18. #18
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Lightbulb

    Cable Fluctuates. It'll probably be lower--could be higher, though.

    Which is why cable = not good for running servers.

    DSL = Server. Oh yeah.

  19. #19
    Serial Publisher silver trophy aspen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    East Lansing, MI USA
    Posts
    12,937
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Cool

    I've downloaded at over 1.3 mbps w/ cable.

    Of course alot of times its really bogged down, I have ATT and I think that they need better servers and whatnot. BUt the connection is great.... of course upload speeds are governed at 128mbps

    Chris

  20. #20
    Cat Herder
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    241
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    AT&T just took over our cable company - and the cable service itself has gone from bad to worse. We did get a piece of snail mail spam from them, though, offering cable modem service.

    But DSL, now - that rules. If we ever move out of this house, one of the primary things we'll look for in a new neighborhood is DSL availability.
    Annette
    Hosting Matters, Inc.
    Superior service. Sensible price.

  21. #21
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    1,483
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Before anyone tests for a second time with any of the bandwith testing sites, remember to clear your cache, otherwise it will come up with some amazingly high result.
    When I tested a second time on my 56k modem I got 406 kbps.

  22. #22
    Sports Publisher mjames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    5,891
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Red face

    CNet says I have a 53.3 kbps connection, although the little two computers connected icon in the system tray says just 26,400.

  23. #23
    Cat Herder
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    241
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by James
    Before anyone tests for a second time with any of the bandwith testing sites, remember to clear your cache, otherwise it will come up with some amazingly high result.
    When I tested a second time on my 56k modem I got 406 kbps.
    Oh, sure, it's the cache. We know about that worldwide problem with modem steroid abuse. Come on, James - you can level with us. Don't hold out on us, now - your modem probably benches 300. hehe
    Annette
    Hosting Matters, Inc.
    Superior service. Sensible price.

  24. #24
    Fluffy Kitten Programmer~ Elledan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,356
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    In my case, the cache couldn't have caused unreliable results since I simply don't have a cache

    I've just set 'cache-size' in Netsheep (Netscape for outsiders ) to zero (0).
    www.nyanko.ws - My web-, software- and game development company.
    www.mayaposch.com - My personal site and blog.

  25. #25
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    1,390
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Do you always have it like that?

    If so, why?


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •