SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Hybrid View

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question One unique field inside lookup table (both fields as primary key)

Hi,

First of all, i'm sorry if this is a stupid question, i'm kinda new at this

I'm working on a database, part of which looks like this:

USER
    id
    name
    email
    password
    moddate
    sectionid

useraddress = lookup table, primary key
    userid (=user.id)
    addressid

address
    id (=useraddress.addressid)
    street

I'm making a script that lets the user modify/add data in these 3 tables using one form, using mysqli_insert_id to insert the id generated for the user table in the useraddress.userid field. Once user.id has been inserted into userid, the table generates the same addressid for every entry because the combination of data in both fields is the primary key. Is there a way to somehow make the data in addressid unique as well? Is a lookup table the way to go in this case ?

Utopia, Inc. silver trophy
    Mentioned
    138 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    I'm not sure why you have the useraddress table. That table makes the relation between user and address N:M. That is to say a user can have multiple addresses (which is correct), but also that the same address can be held by multiple users.
    The last bit also looks correct but has severe drawbacks. Assume I have a roommate and we have the same address, so we have one address.id in the address table and suppose I move. In this database that would my mean my roommate moves with me (since we still have the same address.id), but that doesn't have to be the case.
    I would seriously consider dropping the useraddress table and make the relation between user and address 1:N
    Unless you have a good reason to want a N:M relation of course
    Rémon - Hosting Advisor

Minimal Bookmarks Tree
    My Google Chrome extension: browsing bookmarks made easy

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned