SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Message board newbie questions

I'm doing a site for an organization and it will require a messageboard. I haven't installed one yet and I don't know where to begin.

So I have a bunch of questions that hopefully you guys can help me with:

a) Are there any really good and secure remotely hosted free message board?

b) what are the disadvantages of such a message board?

c) If I need to install and run my own, what do I need to have and learn? (I'm a PHP newbie and totally ignorant in mysql)

d)Are there any scripts I can use for this?
    http://www.soapbox101.com

Forum Mathematics Geek Agent Dwarf's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Re: Message board newbie questions

EzBoard is all I can think of on top of my head. Try a search.

It doesn't look professional, and unless you pay a fee, you have ugly, disturbing ads. Usually they aren't as flexible, too.

c) If I need to install and run my own, what do I need to have and learn? (I'm a PHP newbie and totally ignorant in mysql)
    All you need to know is your MySQL details (get this from your webmaster).

Yes, many. For free ones, Check this thread out, it's on another forum.

I heard phpBB and Invision Board are excellent.

If you're willing to pay, vBulletin is the only way to go. http://vbulletin.com. $85 for a year and $160 to own, I believe. Powerful, secure, and easy to set up.

Hope that helped

SitePoint Zealot
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Re: Re: Message board newbie questions

Originally posted by Agent Dwarf

EzBoard is all I can think of on top of my head. Try a search.

It doesn't look professional, and unless you pay a fee, you have ugly, disturbing ads. Usually they aren't as flexible, too.

All you need to know is your MySQL details (get this from your webmaster).

Yes, many. For free ones, Check this thread out, it's on another forum.