SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Making SQL Server Tables Distributable

I'm fairly new to SQL Server 2000 and I'm currently working on a project that requries a Microsoft SQL Server datasource, but I need to figure out a way to make certain tables portible. I need to create a CD-ROM with all of my scripts and data on it so I can take it to a client site and install everything from the CD, but I'm having problems getting my database tables into this kind of redistributable file. I have about 7 tables which I need in 3 different packages (so I can install one independantly of another), so this eliminates a straight backup/restore of the entire database. There are no relationships, but I do have (and need to keep) primary key and identity information. I've tried doing an export/import to an Access database, but this doesn't seem to keep my primary key and identity information. Is there any way to accomplish this task effectively? Since I will be restoring to an SQL Server, I don't care what kind of form the data is in on the CD-ROM, as long as I can easily import it into SQL Server.

Thanks for any help you can give me,
    Goof
    Nathan Rutman
    A slightly offbeat creative.

Just Blow It bronze trophy
    Mentioned
    122 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    In Enterprise manager, right click on the database you need to recreate, then select "all tasks" then "generate SQL script." Choose the options you need to have scripted, then click on the preview button. That should get you the script you would add to your CD-ROM (after editing where appropriate...)

That script then can be run in query analyzer to get the tables into the database.

Hope that helps...
    Dave Maxwell - Manage Your Site Team Leader
    My favorite YouTube Video! | Star Wars, Dr Suess Style
    Learn how to be ready for The Forums' Move to Discourse

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Dave,