SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Possible mailform hijack - or just fake 'from' address?

  1. #1
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    577
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Possible mailform hijack - or just fake 'from' address?

    Having just received more than a dozen 'delivery delayed' and 'undeliverable' emails, I'm wondering whether my on-site mailform has been abused or whether someone is sending mail with a faked 'from' address which corresponds to a domain of mine.

    I've had sporadic instances of this previously - about which I've done nothing as I wasn't sure what to do/was too busy/couldn't be bothered. But this quantity makes me take it more seriously.

    Obviously the potential for getting my domain mail-blacklisted bothers me - and as there's little I can do about others sending stuff with a faked 'from' address, the issue here is the possible mailform hijack.

    The subjects are jibberish (example: "Hjcevpj Pumjr Uuxszpr"), but I'm wondering if this might be because they're being sent in a non-English charset, and the recipients are varied.

    Here's an edited example header of the 'bounce' messages, which shows my glvr.com domain as the sender:

    Received: from vourpvqu (183.39.61.226) by mail.clstechnology.com
    (19.10.22.50) with Microsoft SMTP Server id 14.1.270.1; Mon, 10 Jan 2011
    13:31:07 -0600
    From: Zhgagoo <scnrgy@glvr.com>
    Subject: Omwcfnnsb Svnztqyg
    To: <master@hzshucai.com>
    Content-Type: multipart/mixed; charset="GB2312";
    boundary="JiE=_fNWTodgtyvTPFqp5UznQksMIzddmt"
    MIME-Version: 1.0
    Date: Tue, 11 Jan 2011 03:29:42 +0800
    Message-ID: <a7f1dcdf-d1df-482e-a4d8-ecb5e11892b7@CLSSERV1.cls.local>
    Return-Path: scnrgy@glvr.com
    X-MS-Exchange-Organization-OriginalArrivalTime: 10 Jan 2011 19:31:07.4458
    (UTC)
    X-MS-Exchange-Forest-ArrivalHubServer: CLSSERV1.cls.local
    X-MS-Exchange-Organization-OriginalClientIPAddress: 183.39.61.226
    X-MS-Exchange-Organization-OriginalServerIPAddress: 19.10.22.50
    X-MS-Exchange-Organization-AuthSource: CLSSERV1.cls.local

    All have the same mail.clstechnology.com component, despite being sent to different domains.

  2. #2
    Community Advisor silver trophy
    SitePoint Award Recipient
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,341
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by gulliver View Post
    ..there's little I can do about others sending stuff with a faked 'from' address
    You can make sure domainkeys and spf are set up for your domain to improve rejection of faked senders

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Not sure something can be done about this, as "From" field can be custom.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •