SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: IE for Mac OS X

  1. #1
    SitePoint Guru team1504's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Okemos, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    732
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question IE for Mac OS X

    Hi, I hope this is in the right forum, bit I believ it is as it deals with the accesibility of my web content.

    Does anyone know how to dynamically, not just on page load screenshot, test a webpage in Internet explored on Mac os x?

    I mean without accessing my windows partitionó so on the msc os x Operating System.

    I heard once of some software called ieforOsx or ieformac and I searched for it on Google and found that the project evolved into a wine like collection that allows many more windows apps to run in osx, but I can not get that to work at all

    can anyone please help me learn how to properly use the wine for Mac OS X if they have been successful with it or figure out how to use IE on my mac?

    Thanks in Advance & Regards,
    Team 1504

  2. #2
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,207
    Mentioned
    456 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    You can install VirtualBox on your Mac for free and then run Windows programs without leaving OSX. It's excellent.

    A similar program (not free) is VMWare Fusion, which I find is excellent too. A similar commercial option is Parallels.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Guru team1504's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Okemos, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    732
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have parallels, but it has been giving me problemsó too many problems.

    I'll try virtual box. Can I install windows 7 in virtual box?

  4. #4
    Barefoot on the Moon! silver trophy Force Flow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Northeastern USA
    Posts
    4,606
    Mentioned
    56 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by team1504 View Post
    I'll try virtual box. Can I install windows 7 in virtual box?
    Yep. It'll take any version of windows, as far as I'm aware.
    Visit The Blog | Follow On Twitter
    301tool 1.1.5 - URL redirector & shortener (PHP/MySQL)
    Can be hosted on and utilize your own domain

  5. #5
    SitePoint Addict bronze trophy AllanP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    298
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Here are the screenshots of Virtual Box running Windows Vista on a Mac.

    http://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Screenshots

  6. #6
    SitePoint Guru team1504's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Okemos, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    732
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by AllanP View Post
    Here are the screenshots of Virtual Box running Windows Vista on a Mac.

    http://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Screenshots
    Thank you all very much. & thank you Allan for the screenshots.

    I'll take a look into these and post on Sunday when I am back at my mac

  7. #7
    SitePoint Guru team1504's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Okemos, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    732
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The virtualBox solution worked and I really appreciate all of your help

    I posted or started a new thread because I was having some extended issues regarding the installation files for previous versions of IE & having/ running multiple versions simotaneously.


Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •