SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy cydewaze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Merry Land, USA
    Posts
    1,096
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Need to convert MS SQL to Access

    I have an MS SQL database that I need to convert to Access, or export to Excel (which I can later import into Access). There seem to be lots of options.

    Does anyone here recommend one over the others?

    Thanks!
    <cfset myblog = "http://cydewaze.org/">

  2. #2
    SQL Consultant gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    r937's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    39,338
    Mentioned
    63 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    i'm lazy, so the way i've done this in the past goes like this:

    create a linked table in access, which lets you read the sql server table, then do
    Code:
    SELECT * 
      INTO new_access_table 
      FROM sql_server_table
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL
    "giving out my real stuffs"

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy cydewaze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Merry Land, USA
    Posts
    1,096
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks, I'll give that a try.
    <cfset myblog = "http://cydewaze.org/">

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy cydewaze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Merry Land, USA
    Posts
    1,096
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok, I can't get this to work, and I suspect the MS SQL database was exported incorrectly.

    They gave me a zip file, that when unziped contained a .bak file. I know nothing about MS SQL, so I don't know what to look for to verify that this file is what I need.

    Any tips?
    <cfset myblog = "http://cydewaze.org/">

  5. #5
    SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy
    wwb_99's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    10,653
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You'll need to restore that to a running MSSQL server. Luckily for you, sql express should do the job. Procedure is something like:

    1) Install sql express with tools
    2) Open tools
    3) Create a database with the name you want to use.
    4) Right click, choose restore
    5) Follow prompts. Make sure the check the "force restore over existing database" box.

    Why does it need to be in access anyhow?

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy cydewaze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Merry Land, USA
    Posts
    1,096
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by wwb_99 View Post
    You'll need to restore that to a running MSSQL server.
    Unfortunately, I don't have access to sql express, nor am I allowed to install anything on this machine. But I suppose I could resurrect my XP machine at home and install sql express on that and try it. But at some point, the data needs to get into Access.


    Quote Originally Posted by wwb_99 View Post
    Why does it need to be in access anyhow?
    That's what we use for our website's database.
    <cfset myblog = "http://cydewaze.org/">

  7. #7
    SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy
    wwb_99's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    10,653
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Gotcha. I should note that its not uncommon for something to install sql express on your machine, such as microsoft office. That and if you are supposed to get something done -- how can your employer expect for you to do it without the tools to read the files?

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy cydewaze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Merry Land, USA
    Posts
    1,096
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by wwb_99 View Post
    That and if you are supposed to get something done -- how can your employer expect for you to do it without the tools to read the files?
    Well they're more than willing to purchase a converter, which is why I was originally asking for recommendations on one.
    <cfset myblog = "http://cydewaze.org/">

  9. #9
    SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy
    wwb_99's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    10,653
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The "converter" is to use Sql Server of some flavor . . .

  10. #10
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy cydewaze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Merry Land, USA
    Posts
    1,096
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by wwb_99 View Post
    The "converter" is to use Sql Server of some flavor . . .
    That's handy, and cheaper than the paid ones I was looking at
    <cfset myblog = "http://cydewaze.org/">


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •