SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 30
  1. #1
    Grumpy Mole Man Skunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Lawrence, Kansas
    Posts
    2,066
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Do your sites validate?

    Do your sites validate when you run them though http://validator.w3.org/ ?

    And if they don't... what's your excuse?

  2. #2
    (****** or Deleted)
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    299
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My personal site I am working on currently validate to both XHTML 1 Strict and CSS 2

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard ChrisRoss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    2,535
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Do your sites validate?

    Originally posted by Skunk
    Do your sites validate when you run them though http://validator.w3.org/ ?
    Nope!

    [i]And if they don't... what's your excuse? [/B]
    Its PHP
    Golf Outings? OutingCaddy.com
    Organize - Invite - Create Free website for your golf outing!

  4. #4
    Ribbit... Eric.Coleman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    In your basement
    Posts
    1,268
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Mine normally don't,

    And I don't care!

    If it looks fine in all the major browsers ( screw ns4 ) im happy with it..
    Eric Coleman
    We're consentratin' on fallin' apart
    We were contenders, now throwin' the fight
    I just wanna believe, I just wanna believe in us

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast Chul1ss1mo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    52
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Mine don't validate.

    My excuse is that my clients are the ones paying me, not the W3C. As such, I am much more worried about what my clients and users think instead of Tim Berners-Lee.

    If i ever decide to build a website just for me, maybe I'll try to make it W3C compliant.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Washington State
    Posts
    19
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My design site does, my hosting site doesn't but I use a lot of PHP. :-D

    Now my design site is not without problems, currently have the copyright (in mozilla, NS6) floating in the wrong place, but I'm working on it now that I know about it. If anyone has any idea, my thread is in the CSS forum. :-p

    Diana

  7. #7
    ********* Genius zweistein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Croatia
    Posts
    290
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Mine doesn't, but I'm working on one now which should validate, but the only problem is - PHP. Aaargh .
    zweistein.web - tips&tricks for webmasters, music, programming, computers, Python, etc. new!!! English version, too!
    email | ICQ: 161202879 | AIM: zweistein2169

  8. #8
    Super Ninja Monkey Travis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Sioux City, Iowa
    Posts
    691
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    PHP doesn't do anything to your site's code. Its most likely a session setting (PHPSESSID=14132542xxxxxxxxxx) or bad coding.
    Travis Watkins - Hyperactive Coder
    My Blog: Realist Anew
    Projects: Alacarte - Gnome Menu Editor

  9. #9
    ********* Genius zweistein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Croatia
    Posts
    290
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Trav
    PHP doesn't do anything to your site's code. Its most likely a session setting (PHPSESSID=14132542xxxxxxxxxx) or bad coding.
    Well, I have something like this:

    PHP Code:
    <input type="text" value="<?php echo("$variable"); ?>" />
    And that doesn't validate.
    zweistein.web - tips&tricks for webmasters, music, programming, computers, Python, etc. new!!! English version, too!
    email | ICQ: 161202879 | AIM: zweistein2169

  10. #10
    ********* Genius Mike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5,458
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    nope, i have topmargin="0"
    Mike
    It's not who I am underneath, but what I do that defines me.

  11. #11
    ********* Genius zweistein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Croatia
    Posts
    290
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by naramation
    nope, i have topmargin="0"
    you can do the same with CSS:
    Code:
    body { margin-top: 0px; }
    that way it will be validated right.
    zweistein.web - tips&tricks for webmasters, music, programming, computers, Python, etc. new!!! English version, too!
    email | ICQ: 161202879 | AIM: zweistein2169

  12. #12
    SitePoint Zealot 19nine78's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Ayr, scotland
    Posts
    135
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    whereever possible, yes, to xhtml transitional. Usually WAI level 1 as well.

    cheers

    alastair

  13. #13
    ********* Genius Mike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5,458
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by zweistein


    you can do the same with CSS:
    Code:
    body { margin-top: 0px; }
    that way it will be validated right.
    and that works in NS 4+ ???


    sweet!

    i would have tried that, but i dont want ns on my system.. What was that site that allowed you to test your site on any browser? anyone remember?
    Mike
    It's not who I am underneath, but what I do that defines me.

  14. #14
    SitePoint Wizard Bill Posters's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,523
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My folio site navigation is purely DHTML-driven.

    The HTML itself validates as XHTML Strict and the CSS as CSS2.

    However, one script which doesn't use the W3C DOM fails to work if I include the DTD on the page.

    Ergo, I leave it out.

    Once I find the time to W3C DOM(-esticate) that last script then I'm hoping that I can reinstate the DTD and everything will still work as intended.


    Being an art & design folio site, there's a limit to the appropriateness of some of the more extensive accessibility measures.

    Evenso, coding for XHTML/CSS2 ensures that the code that *is* there is clean, clear and consistant (for all browsers that are serious about the future of the web).

    p.s.
    Originally posted by naramation
    and that works in NS 4+ ???
    No, it won't.

    But then, neither will topmargin="0" as that it meant for pre CSS version of Internet Explorer.

    If you are supporting NS4 then you'll still have to use the marginheight and marginwidth attributes in the body tag.
    New Plastic Arts: Visual Communication | DesignateOnline

    Mate went to NY and all he got me was this lousy signature

  15. #15
    ********* Genius zweistein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Croatia
    Posts
    290
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Bill Posters
    If you are supporting NS4 then you'll still have to use the marginheight and marginwidth attributes in the body tag.
    Yeah, but I don't design for NS4 anymore at all... Too much hassle and almost all of my visitors have NS6+.

    cya
    zweistein.web - tips&tricks for webmasters, music, programming, computers, Python, etc. new!!! English version, too!
    email | ICQ: 161202879 | AIM: zweistein2169

  16. #16
    Grumpy Mole Man Skunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Lawrence, Kansas
    Posts
    2,066
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Some interesting responses so far I'm quite surprised by the number of people blaming PHP for their lack of validation - I use PHP on all of my sites and it has never stopped me from validating them, you just have to get it to generate valid HTML.

  17. #17
    SitePoint Wizard Bill Posters's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,523
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by zweistein


    Yeah, but I don't design for NS4 anymore at all...
    Neither do I.

    I was simply answering naramation's question, not passing judgement on your practices.
    New Plastic Arts: Visual Communication | DesignateOnline

    Mate went to NY and all he got me was this lousy signature

  18. #18
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy TheOriginalH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    4,810
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Skunk
    I use PHP on all of my sites and it has never stopped me from validating them, you just have to get it to generate valid HTML.
    I was just about to post the same (even though not all of my sites are validating at the mo) - php simply has nothing to do with it.
    ~The Artist Latterly Known as Crazy Hamster~
    922ee590a26bd62eb9b33cf2877a00df
    Currently delving into Django, GIT & CentOS

  19. #19
    + platinum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    6,441
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My design site almost validates apart from one thing
    I use the marginwidth = 0 attributes so it displays in NS4... it seems to ignore the CSS method of doing it

  20. #20
    eCommerce specialist hotnuts21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Aberystwyth, UK
    Posts
    1,355
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    NOPE,

    Neither of my sites Validate

    Probably because when i started to build them I didnt know what validation was!! In fact i still dont really know or understand why its so important, my sites work in both IE and Netscape!! I think......
    Search & Rescue Aberystwyth Lifeboat
    CSS Tutorials/Guides

    Sitepoint signatures are not visible to Search Engines More info

  21. #21
    ********* Genius zweistein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Croatia
    Posts
    290
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by TheOriginalH


    I was just about to post the same (even though not all of my sites are validating at the mo) - php simply has nothing to do with it.
    Yes, I agree I could correct that, and I will probably, because everything you need to do to validate correctly is to write this:
    PHP Code:
    <?php
    echo("<input type=\"text\" value=\"$variable\" />");
    ?>
    Instead of this:
    PHP Code:
    <input type="text" value="<?php echo("$variable"); ?>" />
    It results in a bit messy code, but at least it's with the standards .
    zweistein.web - tips&tricks for webmasters, music, programming, computers, Python, etc. new!!! English version, too!
    email | ICQ: 161202879 | AIM: zweistein2169

  22. #22
    SitePoint Wizard iTec's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,243
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Mine validates XHTML strict and CSS 2

  23. #23
    Non-Member Siltrince's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    304
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I dunno if my sites validate but I don't care.

    If the site looks good in IE5 +, Mozilla,netscape6 and Opera then it's good for me.

  24. #24
    SitePoint Addict goma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    smelly armpit of Asia
    Posts
    305
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Not all my sites validate. One or two do (at least they did when I was building them) and same goes for my personal site.

    Problem is that I've made quite a number of changes to these sites and I haven't really validated them again. I've tested them on my target browsers and I admit to being a bit lazy to revalidate.
    http://www.soapbox101.com

  25. #25
    SitePoint Zealot Megs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario
    Posts
    179
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Some do, some don't. ONe of my sites, for example, is being updated by non-HTML savvy content experts. I'm sure it wouldn't validate and I don't really expect it to. The stuff I am working on for clients does except for a few minor exceptions (marginheight/marginwidth being one of them). Ummm... the stuff I'm doing at work does validate (but it's rather simple code). This is all under xhtml transitional. One of these days I'll get around to re-doing mu personal site as strict.
    Megan Jack
    Proud to be Canadian
    http://www.meganjack.com
    Moderator at The Webmaster Forums and EDevCafe Forums


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •