SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Guru phanie12.geo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    pompano beach, fl
    Posts
    665
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question Trouble Viewing Menu in IE5 Using a Mac

    I hope someone can help me out with this puzzle.

    www.rivayamaha.com is the site I am working on. Another webmaster created a new menu for the site in Dreamweaver using layers.

    This new menu nav. system that I am talking about is the menu on the left hand side. It seems to show up fine in Mozilla and IE on a PC (haven't checked it on Netscape yet),but when we viewed it on a Mac using IE5,we could not see the text on the menu.

    Can anyone figure out why???

    Also,if you are viewing it in Netscape, can you tell me how it looks to you and let me know what OS and 'puter you're using?

    Thanks so much, guys!

  2. #2
    I am obstructing justice. bronze trophy fatnewt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    1,766
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Here is a screen of it on Netscape 4.7.

    Take a look.

    http://www.sweetbuys.net/nsscreen.gif

    (I'm using Windows 2000 Professional)
    Last edited by fatnewt; Aug 13, 2002 at 09:24.
    Colin Temple [twitter: @cailean]
    Web Analyst at Napkyn


  3. #3
    SitePoint Guru phanie12.geo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    pompano beach, fl
    Posts
    665
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks fatnewt.

    Anybody on a Mac w/ IE5?

  4. #4
    SitePoint Guru phanie12.geo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    pompano beach, fl
    Posts
    665
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    no ideas, huh?

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast trevor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Outer Banks, NC
    Posts
    71
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Mac - IE 5.1.5

    I don't really have any answers for you, but I run a Mac with IE 5 and I couldn't see any of that text on the left nav. I try to stay away from those navigation scripts... that stuff is too important to be wondering if it will work on certain browsers. trevor
    Trevor Glimpse
    trevor@gcp.com

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard Bill Posters's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,523
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Change the nesting order of the tags in the left navigation menu so that the <a> tags are the outermost tags in the sequence.

    Change...
    Code:
    <u><b><font size="1" color="#FFFFFF"><font face="Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif"><a href="http://...">PWC Performance Catalog</a></font></font></b></u>
    into...
    Code:
    <a href="http://..."><font size="1" color="#FFFFFF" face="Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif"><u><b>PWC Performance Catalog</b></u></font></a>

    So, basically, the nesting order here will be:
    Code:
    <a><font><u><b>...</b></u></font></a>
    Frontpage is notorious for littering the code with excessive <font> tags and unneccessary nesting of font tags.
    Your code here suffers from alot of that.
    Frontpage has an awful reputation for creating 'bad' code.

    You would do well to familiarise yourself with CSS to a greater extent as so much of your code (esp. the font tags*) can be replaced (or at least reduced) by using css classes instead.
    (* The <font> tag was deprecated in HTML 4, so is already set to be removed from the HTML specification.
    It is better to start using CSS instead now. That way you will be 'up to speed' and making good code by time the next specification is released.)

    IE Mac is very 'unforgiving' about code that is at all messy and plays alot better when the code is well-formed.
    Frontpage creates very bloated code.
    The two of them don't always get along well together.

    If you wish to stick with a WYSIWYG software, there are plenty of better, more forward-thinking options than Frontpage.

    Incidentally, there are many redundant pieces of code in your page too (empty font tags, etc...)
    Even if you don't swap over to css yet, it really could do with a proper clean up to get rid of all that excess and redundant code.

    Also, you don't need to add <u>…</u> to text links unless you have specified elsewhere (on the page or using css) that they shouldn't have them by default.
    Adding <u>…</u> makes the underlining very thick and visually too heavy.
    If you want to keep the underlining, then the default underlining should be enough on its own.


    Anyway, hope that helps
    New Plastic Arts: Visual Communication | DesignateOnline

    Mate went to NY and all he got me was this lousy signature

  7. #7
    SitePoint Guru phanie12.geo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    pompano beach, fl
    Posts
    665
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thank you Bill Posters for your very thorough answer. I will forward this thread to the person working on the site now. I hadn't noticed that the menu was built in FP.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •