SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    523
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    problem with a quotation mark

    Hey guys

    i got a page that is displaying texts from a database inside an inner HTML div, however, when a text contains " in it, then the text gets displayed in the outer html and not in the inner one, how can i fix it? i tried replaces but i encounter difficulties with replacing this kind of quotation mark

    thanks

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard donboe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,139
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm not really familiar with ASP but isn't there something like an escape double quote function ?
    “Good artists copy, great artists steal” (Pablo Picasso - 1934)

  3. #3
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    523
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    probably there is but if i would know of any i would've already got the problem solved

    Anyways, i changed a few things and now it seems to work but the text only appears after the clicking on the first link in the table

    Press the second link
    ull see an empty window comes up, close it
    open the first link, then close it
    open again the second link, vwalla, there's text

    Have a look here:
    http://sospets.brinkster.net/stories.asp

    The problem seems to be only with the 2nd link in that table, the 1st link opens up fine even on the first click

    what can cause this?

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    28
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Can you past the codes, that causing issue

  5. #5
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    523
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    nvm, solved it !

    found out that i had the same ID multiple times on the same page that caused the problem.

    sometimes putting a page for validation does help =)

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard donboe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,139
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    found out that i had the same ID multiple times on the same page that caused the problem.
    You make me kind of curious here? What did you do wrong to have the same ID multiple times?
    “Good artists copy, great artists steal” (Pablo Picasso - 1934)

  7. #7
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    523
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    a do while loop function that repeats the <div> tag that contains the info of the selected story, that div had the same ID all the time instead of having its ID +1 after each loop


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •