SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Mute Firefox Sound

    is there any way to mute firefox sound in windows xp.

  2. #2
    Robert Wellock silver trophybronze trophy xhtmlcoder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    A Maze of Twisty Little Passages
    Posts
    6,316
    Mentioned
    60 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Are you sure you mean Firefox and not Songbird? Or are you talking about websites that have sound or video/audio files playing in the background because Firefox doesn't make its own sounds.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, i am talking about mozilla firefox. Actually i want to mute all sounds that are coming from any web. I am using windows xp.
    Is that possible?

  4. #4
    Robert Wellock silver trophybronze trophy xhtmlcoder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    A Maze of Twisty Little Passages
    Posts
    6,316
    Mentioned
    60 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Press the mute button in the 'Sounds and Audio Devices' section of Windows XP.

    Now I understand you meant 'embedded audio' within web pages, which isn't really to do with the browser itself.

    However, there will be add-ons available that should help you.
    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/1765/ (Stop Autoplay embed music, etc.)
    http://flashblock.mozdev.org/ (mute Flash audio)
    http://adblockplus.org/en/ (block Flash objects, etc.)

    Other than extensions you'd probably have to edit the Fx profile files.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

  6. #6
    . shoooo... silver trophy logic_earth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    9,013
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Would be so simple to do in Windows Vista/7. Just sayin...

    Also, the above links, above my post. Do not do what you want. Its only changing the appearance of the Volume Mixer.
    Logic without the fatal effects.
    All code snippets are licensed under WTFPL.


  7. #7
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes you are right but i have to do it in windows xp. That's the client requirement.
    And thanks for informing me, i couldn't check it in windows xp. I had forwarded this links to my developers. Now they will search some other software like that.

  8. #8
    . shoooo... silver trophy logic_earth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    9,013
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You cannot do it in Windows XP. It doesn't not have that functionality.
    This feature was introduced in Windows Vista when the audio sub-system was rewritten.
    Logic without the fatal effects.
    All code snippets are licensed under WTFPL.


  9. #9
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok fine. Is there any other solution?


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •